We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great country setting outside Asheville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Candler B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I wanted a country setting, and I got much more than that. The hosts were warm and made you feel like family, if you were so inclined. The first night I was so tired we went straight to our room. The next night we joined them for beverages in their livingroom for a fun and lively conversation. Breakfasts featured fresh buttermilk biscuits and hot applesauce (yum!). We had lovely fruit bowls, eggs however you wanted them, sausage, bacon, ham, and as we expressed interest, grits with sausage gravy. We never had lunch the days we were there and probably shouldn't have had dinner. The breakfast room was beautiful and our rooms were quite large. We'd definitely recommend this place and would come back if we ever visited this area again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

From Candler you drive six miles of lovely scenery and then you find Rock Laurel B&B, drive over a small bridge with a beautiful brook running under it and you feel like your home. It may not be home but Joe and Judy will make you feel at home. They serve a great breakfast and our room was clean and comfortable. The setting around the house with the brook, Blue Ridge mountains, and flowers is outstanding. Rock Laurel is a short drive to the Biltmore which is the biggest attraction in the area. Joe is good at telling you about the attractions in the area and the best way to get there. Unfortunately we only had one night but this would be a good place to stay for three or four days. The price is right and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We’ve stayed in hotels, motels and bed and breakfasts all around the world, but never did we enjoy a visit more than the one we had at the Rock Laurel B & B. Joe and Judy Holloway have to be the friendliest people we have ever met. Immediately, we felt like family.

The house is set next to a creek on acres of beautiful gardens. Our room was gorgeous and way bigger than our bedroom at home. The Jacuzzi tub was just what we needed after two days in a car. We came to Candler to visit friends and they were invited to join us for breakfast as well. There we all sat, talking and laughing as if we’ve known each other forever.

Judy masterfully creates sumptuous breakfasts every morning. No request is too big for J & J. We came to North Carolina to visit friends and made two new ones. The Rock Laurel
B & B surpassed any of our expectations. We were sorry we had to leave.

Michele & Richie Manno

Room Tip: The location of the B & B is beautiful and quiet. The Biltmore Room was spectacular and so comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michele_baldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I would echo what has been said by the other reviewers - this is a lovely property convenient to Asheville, comfortable rooms and great breakfast. The rooms are not air conditioned, but I imagine there are few days out of the year where one would even miss the AC (we were there late June & it was cool & comfortable).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAGirl2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Pleasant stay with friendly hosts.Comfortable beds and they will feed you until you drop. Great Belgian fluffy waffles for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximusgattimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

If you are visiting the Asheville area, the Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast is an excellent and affordable place to stay. Only a short drive from the Biltmore and downtown Asheville, it was quick and easy to get to our destinations. Our hosts were extremely accomodating, and the breakfasts were large, excellent, and varied. Our room was beautiful with a full jacuzzi and 3-head shower. Our 7-year old daughter also felt invited as our hosts catered to her interests as well. We will definitely make a point coming here again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobandLynn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I spent four days at Rock Laurel to visit the Asheville area. Joe and Judy really did the little extra that made my stay more special. Entertaining conversations and great food and wine. Leaving felt like saying Good bye to family. I have never enjoyed a stay at a BnB as much.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rle1755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
10.7 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
10.3 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
8.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
1.6 mi away
Pisgah View Ranch
Pisgah View Ranch
#1 of 4 in Candler
115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cabins of Asheville
Cabins of Asheville
#1 of 5 in Candler
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 Rock Laurel Ln, Candler, NC 28715-7137
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Candler
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing