We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Engadine Inn & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 2 Candler B&B and Inns
WV
1 review
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We spent two days at Honey Hill Inn and loved every minute. The inn is beautiful and spotless, the grounds are lovely and peaceful and the breakfasts are amazing. In the afternoon, homemade snacks are available...macaroons, brownie bites, cookies...and they are wonderful. The owners are welcoming, friendly and certainly accommodating. We are looking forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRLinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    21
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
178
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We loved our weekend at Honey Hill. The inn is beautifully decorated and immaculate, the grounds are beautiful and the food is outstanding. The owners are great; it is clear they love what they do (and they do it well)!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope MacMillan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Secluded, but with easy access to all of the regional attractions, Honey Hill is a great spot for a getaway weekend. I cannot comment on the cabins except to say that they appear to be well sited with excellent views of the surrounding hillside. The main house has all the charm you would expect from a building erected in 1885 by a Civil War veteran and successful local entrepreneur. The rooms are large and comfortably furnished and each of them has a character of its own. Cheryl and Gretchen are exceptionally fine hosts, and the breakfast Gretchen turns out are masterpieces. I strongly recommend this B&B, either as a base for mountain tourism or as a place to take it easy for a few days.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vineyard View Room, which was fine, but all of the others seemed great, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had nine days at Honey Hill which was absolutely fantastic but not long enough.
Cheryl and Gretchen were wonderful hosts making us feel so welcome in their beautiful home. The room we had was perfection and likewise Gretchen's breakfasts were out of this world. The very best of B&B's we have ever stayed at. We have only been home a week and really miss it already, hopefully we can visit again.
Thank you Cheryl and Gretchen for making our holiday so special.
Kind regards,
Barbara & Roy
Surrey, UK

Room Tip: We saw all rooms which are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corolla, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We now have extended family to visit again in Asheville. Gretchen was the perfect host, more like a sister than an Inn keeper. We arrived very late on Friday but Gretchen insisted on waiting up for us. She took us to our cabin and made sure we were comfortably tucked in for the night.
She helped us the next day deciding what was the best place to go since we would be leaving on Sunday. The NC Arboretum was the perfect choice. Pure relaxation.
Sunday we had breakfast at the Inn and met 2 other wonderful couples.
How can a breakfast be elegant? You have to experience it to understand. The best I have ever had.
The cabins were clean and cozy and the view of the mountains was breathtaking.
This was my first experience at ever being at an Inn and I am glad we choice Honey Hill. We will be back again soon.
Thank you most for sharing the success of your sister.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyHillInn, Owner at Engadine Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you so much! We are glad that you found us and hope you will visit again the next time you visit your family in the Asheville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My daughter and her partner's wedding was held at Honey Hill, Sept. 2011. The wedding party stayed at the inn and in the cabins for two nights. The owners, Cheryll and Gretchen could not have been more helpful. They went well beyond their daily duties to make sure the wedding was perfect. And it was fabulous!

The inn is beautifully appointed and the beds are so-oooo comfortable. The location is about 15 minutes from downtown Asheville. The morning breakfast expertly prepared by Gretchen is a feast to behold! There are four courses that will keep you filled until late afternoon!

The cabins are spectacular, with bedrooms, kitchens and baths. This is an ideal place for a family reunion or a romantic get away. I can't recommend it more. You will love the beauty, peace and quiet.

Room Tip: The rooms are large, and comfortable. We had the Vineyard View room. A large room with king bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooksie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyHillInn, Owner at Engadine Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you so much for the glowing review! We are so glad that we were able to make Honey Hill a beautiful venue for the wedding.

Regarding the airconditioning vent in your room, since we had never received a complaint about the air conditioning system in that room, we were unaware that it might be too cold for some guests. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and allowing us to make the necessary adjustments during your stay.

We plan to put a vent "deflector" in place before next season's warm weather months arrive. That should allow the room to remain cool and dry without causing any discomfort. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review!

Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I look all over the mountains of North Carolina and stumble upon this great jewel. The cabins were great, Cheryl and Gretchen made our stay the most memorable and we will definitely be visiting them again real soon. The location to downtown Asheville was more than we expected. Thanks Cheryl and Gretchen for a great time, God Bless.

Larry & Patricia

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
7.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn West of Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#26 of 66 in Asheville
305 reviews
6.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
#56 of 66 in Asheville
46 reviews
8.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#29 of 66 in Asheville
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engadine Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engadine Inn & Cabins

Property: Engadine Inn & Cabins
Address: 2630 Smoky Park Hwy, Candler, NC 28715-9365 (Formerly Honey Hill Asheville Inn and Cabins)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Candler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Engadine Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Engadine Inn and Cabins is nestled in the mountains just outside of Asheville, North Carolina. It is conveniently located just 15 minutes from downtown Asheville and the Biltmore Estate and a short drive to some of the area's most popular outdoor adventures, including whitewater rafting, tubing, horseback riding, hot air ballooning and skiing. Situated on more than 12 acres of rolling hills with stunning mountain views, Engadine offers two unique options for your getaway. Stay in the Inn and enjoy old world elegance and a delicious breakfast in our dining room. Or escape to one of our six fully-equipped cabins where you can be closer to nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Engadine Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Hill Asheville Inn And Cabins Hotel Candler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing