We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - excellent hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Engadine Inn & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 2 Candler B&B and Inns
N Carolina USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good location - excellent hosts”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Recently stayed a weekend during a visit to Asheville.

Property - historic home, beautifully restored interior with intricate woodwork. Clean, orderly and welcoming. Complementary, tasteful decor that allowed the beauty of the house to shine through. The upstairs had a small sitting area in which there were daily treats (brownies, cookies), Keurig, and refrigerator with soft drinks. Two porches with comfortable seating and lovely well-maintained grounds. Home is in near of exterior painting, but understand that is planned for the near future. The only downside is that, although hidden from the highway, the traffic noise is quite heavy when outside. The noise detracts from the ability to enjoy the porch of the Inn, but the interior is very quiet and no road noise. Lovely grounds with Adirondack chairs facing a lovely view of the surrounding mountains.

Innkeepers - Cheryl and Gretchen are down-to-earth, approachable and really care about what they do. It's obviously a labor of love for them. IMHO and experience, two of the best.

Breakfast - creative, filling, fresh - presented with flair and ingredients/garnish from the garden. Wonderful -

Location - close to I-40 and Asheville; near the Blue Ridge parkway; close to what you need. We were hesitant staying outside of the city, but in retrospect, we were glad we did as we enjoyed the quiet, less-busy location.

Go!

Room Tip: 3rd floor room is less rustic, but with a large sitting room and king-sized bed. Very quiet and pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    21
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
175
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Looking Glass cabin for our anniversary. It was perfect! The owners are so hospitable and it was great to meet them. The cabin was very clean and charming, and we spent most of our time on the porch enjoying the fantastic view. The breakfast was so delicious! Overall, it was a perfect weekend getaway, I highly recommend it! We're already excited to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherm587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I just went to Honey Hill for our first wedding anniversary, and it was absolutely perfect! The house is beautiful, elegant, and well-kept. The breakfasts are absolutely amazing...I don't think I will have a better breakfast for a long time! Cheryl and Gretchen are wonderful hosts and truly invite you into their home with open arms. Cheryl was so helpful with suggesting places for us to eat, and we were not disappointed with her suggestions! This was our first time staying at a B&B and I think Honey Hill was the perfect one to start with!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I recently planned a 50th Wedding Anniversay Party for my parents at this beautiful Historical Mansion. I invited family to join us for the celebration. Cheryl and Gretchen are beyond amazing. After many e-mails planning the event, they felt like family when we arrived. My parents and relatives are still talking about the gourmet breakfast, hospitality, and local trip advice that they offered. When we return to Asheville, Honey Hill is the only place that we will be spending the night!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

If you are considering staying anywhere else in the Asheville area, reconsider! Sheryl and Gretchen are outstanding hosts. Sheryl is an absolute pleasure to deal with, Gretchen's breakfast is rivaled only by 5 star Restaurants. They are both extremely accommodating for any and all of your needs. All you have to do is ask! The Inn itself is a wonderfully nostalgic home full of warmth and charm. We stayed in the Engadine Suite which was gorgeous. We were lucky enough to see more of the other rooms in the Inn and the pictures are all accurate. The Inn is spotless and every detail is clearly well thought out. We felt right at home and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Asheville. We were lucky enough to get a Groupon for our 3 night stay but even at full price it would have been money well spent for our 9 year anniversary. Thanks to Sheryl and Gretchen and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Inn are typical B&B style. They also have cabins on the property that are just as b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

A childhood friend and her teenage daughter came to visit recently. We spent four days touring Asheville and WNC so they could get a feel for the place.

They chose to stay at Honey Hill Inn & Cabins in Candler. That’s just West of downtown Asheville. After listening to raves about breakfast at the Inn, especially the brown sugar pecan encrusted bacon, I was lucky enough to join them one morning.


Image: http://honeyhillasheville.com/

Innkeepers, Sheryl and Gretchen, graciously gave me a tour of their historic house. The bedrooms are beautiful, but what stood out for me were the small details like all original door hinges:



and custom iron work above a couple tub/showers made by a local artisan:



See more photos of rooms and the inn here. And be sure to check out the cabins on this 12 acre property, too. It’s a great spot for groups, wedding guests/parties, etc.

About the food – they do a superior job! My friend was thoughtful enough to bring me samples from their first two meals: stuffed french toast, bacon, sausage – all delicious.

This morning they served a fruit cup with yogurt and house-made granola. Excellent!



Waffles with fresh blueberries were also on the menu. Nice, crisp outside. Soft and fluffy inside.



And of course, there was bacon. Oh, that bacon! Apologies for eating half a piece before taking a shot. Couldn’t help myself.



Breakfast at Honey Hill is served in a beautifully appointed dining room around a communal table, making conversation with other guests easy. I was a little distracted by all the gorgeous paneling, beadboard, china cabinet, etc.

If it makes a difference to you, as it does me, service pieces were lovely and fitting for a historic building.

Coffee was refilled regularly. No need to pester anyone.

Wonder how I can weasel my way into another breakfast at Honey Hill now that my friend has left.

Honey Hill – Inn & Cabins at Engadine
2630 Smokey Park Highway
Candler, NC 28715
p: (828) 633-1110
sweetdreams@honeyhillasheville.com

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, NC
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Honey Hill was my first stay at a B&B and it was an unforgettable one! Sheryl and Gretchen were amazing hosts. We had to arrive late for check-in (around 10 pm) and they were very accommodating. We were greeted with a lovely tour of the house and of our room, complete with a bit of history and helpful tips to make our stay more comfortable. We stayed in the Mary Hoyt room. Everything was perfect from the beautiful, spacious room to the comfy robes, honey-based bath products, and the claw foot tub. The TV was small but a nice reminder that we weren't there to watch TV. The breakfast in the morning was divine, a fruit course followed by a main course. We were there for two nights and our breakfasts were very different, one sweet and one savory, but both some of the best that I have had. There is a communal breakfast table which facilitates conversation. Also, make sure you snag a few of the cookies that Sheryl puts out in the common area by the tea and coffee, they are wonderful. Both women are very helpful for helping you plan your day or give suggestions for hiking or eating; make sure you have a good chat with both of them (and ask to meet their dogs if that suits your fancy).

Room Tip: The Mary Hoyt room is very lovely. It is more "girly" than some of the other rooms but cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
7.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn West of Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
#48 of 65 in Asheville
51 reviews
8.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#29 of 65 in Asheville
607 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#26 of 65 in Asheville
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engadine Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engadine Inn & Cabins

Property: Engadine Inn & Cabins
Address: 2630 Smoky Park Hwy, Candler, NC 28715-9365 (Formerly Honey Hill Asheville Inn and Cabins)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Candler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Engadine Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Engadine Inn and Cabins is nestled in the mountains just outside of Asheville, North Carolina. It is conveniently located just 15 minutes from downtown Asheville and the Biltmore Estate and a short drive to some of the area's most popular outdoor adventures, including whitewater rafting, tubing, horseback riding, hot air ballooning and skiing. Situated on more than 12 acres of rolling hills with stunning mountain views, Engadine offers two unique options for your getaway. Stay in the Inn and enjoy old world elegance and a delicious breakfast in our dining room. Or escape to one of our six fully-equipped cabins where you can be closer to nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Engadine Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Hill Asheville Inn And Cabins Hotel Candler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing