We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Engadine Inn & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 2 Candler B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I celebrated our first anniversary in the WNC area and lucked out at finding Honey Hill Inn in Candler. The property is absolutely gorgeous inside and out and there are so many special personal touches that made the stay absolutely lovely. Gretchen is an excellent chef and prepared beautiful breakfasts each day we were there. Cheryl was a great front of house host and made us feel welcome at every moment. We loved the chocolates and cookies upstairs that we enjoyed each night. My husband appreciated the keurig and I was grateful for diet cokes in the mini fridge. The bed was super comfy and we slept great both nights. We both highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Honey Hill is a wonderful bed and breakfast and is very convenient to Asheville, Blue Ridge Parkway, and even Waynesville. We stayed in the top floor suite -- it is terrific - very spacious, quiet, and comfortable. The whole place is spotless with a lot of attention to detail. Cheryl and Gretchen are terrific hosts -- we felt right at home. Gretchen could have her own show on Food Network - she is that good of a chef! Homemade and fresh ingredients - the maple pecan encrusted bacon and stuffed French toast were incredible!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We loved our stay in the cozy Balsam cabin with it's gorgeous views of the mountains. The location to Asheville was an easy 18 minutes so getting groceries at the co-op or going out for dinner was a breeze. The location also made it really easy to get to the Biltmore (which exceeded our expectations) and to the Blue Ridge Parkway...but we also enjoyed ample sit-around-the-cabin-being-lazy time! Most of all, we adored Cheryl and Gretchen! Their generous spirits and amazing breakfasts fed our hearts as well as our bellies! A true pleasure all around!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKZabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in one of their cabins for a week. The setting is beautiful, and the location is very good. The innkeepers are very nice and want you to enjoy their property. The cabin was immaculate and well suited for our vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Blue Ridge" cabin and thought it was probably the quietest. Beautiful view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have bee to quite a few B&B's but Honey Hill is our favorite. Wonderful breakfast, room, location, and other guests. Best part: Cheryl and Gretchen, they are the most gracious, caring and dedicated women ever, hands down. I can not say enough about how truly fabulous they are. Oh yeah, more about the b&b :) stay here! It's only 15 min from downtown Asheville and well worth it.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lenzylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were a little nervous about staying outside of Asheville but were very relieved when we got there. Honey Hill is more than we had hoped for. We were in the Howell Room and it was VERY spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were so silky soft. We enjoyed the cleaning and turn down service on the 2nd day. We may opt for a different room next time because the bathroom only has a stand up shower but we knew that. After walking around the city my feet could have used a good hot bath! The grounds were beautiful and so were the views. The exterior paint needs a little sprucing up but once you walk inside, you forget about that fact. It's every bit as grand as any B&B that we have ever visited and the breakfast meals were delish! We enjoyed chatting with the other guests before we went out exploring. We hope to be back in the winter. Thanks again for your hospitality. Dwaine and Lisa Thompson

Room Tip: The Howell room is on the road side of the house. It's a little louder until the traffic slows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaTH3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Love Honey Hill, we were there last year for a wedding weekend and this year we went back to celebrate me getting through all my breast cancer treatments! Love the porch to sit out and read our kindles and the breakfast is amazing always! Cheryl and Gretchen are the best host ever, they make you feel like family! We will being going again soon! Joy and Larry Garland

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool or fitness center but I'm sure if there was it would be excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyhappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
7.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#29 of 66 in Asheville
320 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn West of Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engadine Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engadine Inn & Cabins

Address: 2630 Smoky Park Hwy, Candler, NC 28715-9365 (Formerly Honey Hill Asheville Inn and Cabins)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Candler
Price Range: £175 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Engadine Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Engadine Inn and Cabins is nestled in the mountains just outside of Asheville, North Carolina. It is conveniently located just 15 minutes from downtown Asheville and the Biltmore Estate and a short drive to some of the area's most popular outdoor adventures, including whitewater rafting, tubing, horseback riding, hot air ballooning and skiing. Situated on more than 12 acres of rolling hills with stunning mountain views, Engadine offers two unique options for your getaway. Stay in the Inn and enjoy old world elegance and a delicious breakfast in our dining room. Or escape to one of our six fully-equipped cabins where you can be closer to nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Engadine Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Hill Asheville Inn And Cabins Hotel Candler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing