We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Engadine Inn & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 2 Candler B&B and Inns
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A jewel in the mountains”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We decided to stay at a cabin at Honey Hills after returning to the U.S. from a three-year tour overseas. It was a wonderful way to decompress after a trans-altantic move. The ladies make a FABULOUS breakfast. It is totally amazing, and it is fun to talk with the other guests. The walking paths were perfect for our dog. And, though it was winter at the time, I really loved the benches and chairs in a peaceful setting and rocking view. I highly recommend the Honey Hill Inn and Cabins.

Room Tip: The cabins have great privacy, are very cosy, and perfect for a relaxing get-a-away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    21
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
178
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Honey Hill was the perfect place to relax. Cheryl is a great hostess, and Gretchen is an amazing chef! The brunches were a great way to start the day after a restful night in their super-comfortable beds. In the afternoon, they always have a fresh-baked treat for guests, and the B&B is located an easy 15-minute drive to downtown Asheville. Cheryl has some great hiking recommendations within an easy drive of the B&B. I loved my stay here, and I would highly recommend Honey Hill if you want a relaxing, comfortable, friendly stay in the Asheville area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerGrrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Honey Hill is a charming Inn in a great location. The owners, Gretchen and Cheryl, are committed to providing guests with an excellent experience. My husband and I stayed a few days at the Inn between Christmas and New Years so we could visit the beautiful Biltmore at Christmas. It was very hard to leave the comfort of the Inn. We stayed in the Vineyard view room and the King Size bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get up and especially with the fireplace going. The early morning aroma of a gourmet breakfast did not disappoint. We left feeling relaxed and spoiled.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Smoky Mountain Cabin at Honey Hill for a few days and enjoyed it very much. The property is beautiful and is well maintained and offers privacy. The cabin was comfortable and cozy. We really appreciated the delicious breakfast that was served. The owners are professional and friendly. A very unique place!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 479Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Honey Hill is a lovely B & B nestled in the NC mountains just outside of Asheville. The owners, Cheryl and Gretchen, are friendly, welcoming and wonderful hosts. We stayed in the Mary Hoyt Room in the main house. The room had a comfortable queen bed, gas fire place, sitting nook and private bath There are also private cabins available around the property as well. The upstairs has a sitting area with a Keurig for making coffee or hot tea, fresh fruit, and delicious homemade baked goods. Breakfast was amazing both mornings! Gretchen is a fabulous cook and Cheryl made sure all the guests needs were met. We spent time in downtown Asheville, Hendersonville and Biltmore, Honey Hill is perfectly situated and easy to find. We hope to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyHillInn, Owner at Engadine Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Hi Jenny!

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed Asheville and your stay with us. Gretchen and I look forward to seeing you again, perhaps in the spring or summer when the grounds and surrounding mountains are green and lush. Thanks again, and Happy New Year!

Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The lovely home was set up the hill just a couple of miles from the highway. The grounds were amazing and the house rustic yet well kept. The foiliage and sprawling grounds were a joy even in early winter to peruse. What was even more surprizing was entering the home and seeing the exceptional wood paneling and architecture throughout. Even though the exterior is nice it does a poor job of preparing one for the interior. The rooms are spacious and dare I say luxurious. I would dare to say none of the rooms could be found wanting. Cheryl and Gretchen were also quite a pleasure to meet and spend time with. Both were helpful with local sites and dining recommendations. We couldn't have asked for more graqcious hosts or a finer culinary experiance. The only detriment to their recommendations were their own offerings for breakfast and sweets. Gretchen is truly a world class chef and both are the finest of personalities and character it would be a joy to visit them again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have always wanted to make a trip in the fall to the Asheville area. This year, we were able to get away from work and see what we had heard so much about for ourselves. We did not decide until a couple days before that we would go. We chose Honey Hill because they had an opening. Purely taking a chance-and it was wonderful. We stayed in a delightful small cabin, private, quiet and fully equipped. We did the Biltmore thing and ate in some great restaurants, all recommended by Gretchen. She also recommended a visit to Hendersonville and a back road to the Blue Ridge Parkway, driving towards Waynesville. Be sure to visit Hendersonville's shops! We had to pry ourselves away from Honey Hill to return to Houston. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
7.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn West of Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#26 of 66 in Asheville
305 reviews
6.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
#56 of 66 in Asheville
46 reviews
8.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#29 of 66 in Asheville
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engadine Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engadine Inn & Cabins

Property: Engadine Inn & Cabins
Address: 2630 Smoky Park Hwy, Candler, NC 28715-9365 (Formerly Honey Hill Asheville Inn and Cabins)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Candler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Engadine Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Engadine Inn and Cabins is nestled in the mountains just outside of Asheville, North Carolina. It is conveniently located just 15 minutes from downtown Asheville and the Biltmore Estate and a short drive to some of the area's most popular outdoor adventures, including whitewater rafting, tubing, horseback riding, hot air ballooning and skiing. Situated on more than 12 acres of rolling hills with stunning mountain views, Engadine offers two unique options for your getaway. Stay in the Inn and enjoy old world elegance and a delicious breakfast in our dining room. Or escape to one of our six fully-equipped cabins where you can be closer to nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Engadine Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Hill Asheville Inn And Cabins Hotel Candler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing