We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the cabins!”
Review of Asheville West KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Candler
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Asheville West KOA
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“love the cabins!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we stayed for one night in a cabin, just passing through on our way to gatlinburg. we were skeptical at first, the place was deserted when we pulled in (on a wed night). we loved our cabin, so cute and cozy with bunk beds and 1 full bed. ac worked well and there was plenty of room for our family of 4. there is a nice fire pit with swings around it. it is near I40, so you can hear the traffic, but it didn't bother us much at all. very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasburns02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    33
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sykesville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Having stayed at several different KOA's.....Asheville West is by far the cleanest, friendliest and most convenient one we have stayed at! Heather is the nicest and most helpful, going far beyond what anyone could possibly expect from any staff member.

We had the pleasure of staying in one of their cozy cabins, most KOA's have thin mattresses, Asheville West's are nice, thick and not made out of concrete! The showers are so clean you actually feel comfortable NOT wearing swim shoes when you use them!!!

Saturday morning, Heather's mother made the most delicious benyas......freshly fried for you upon order! Had to hold myself back to only 2!

After leaving very early Monday morning to avoid traffic, we discovered we had forgotten our fishing gear in our cabin....Heather not only is having it shipped back to us, she handled it before we had even made the drive home!

I am trying to plan a 'entire' family trip to Asheville next summer and will only set the date for when we can all stay at this KOA!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Heather was just superior in all that she did for us. From check in to "check on" she was true southern hospitality friendly.

I had an issue with my eye and needed medical attention. Heather made certain we knew exactly where to go and also even stopped by our site to check on me during the evening. The campground itself had SHADE and small trees.

The pool looked very clean and was in a sunny spot; kids seemed to be having a great time. The mountain air added another aspoect of "Ahhhh" - no humidity and a cool evening.

The reason there are not 5 stars is that the I40 traffic noise is a little annoying, though not enough to prevent us from coming here again.

Highly recommend - we stayed here in a motorhome (towing) and our site was easy to level and plenty long for the tow vehicle.

You will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Areas close to the highway are a bit noisy; otherwise, excellent place to stay. We will definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayson, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Kamping Cabins on this trip to Asheville. I admit that we weren't looking for a true camping experience. Our focus for this trip was to spend as much time doing things in and around Asheville. These cabins are perfect for the purpose of sleeping and having an inexpensive place to land. The outdoor kitchen is well appointed (sink, electric stove, prep area, picnic tables, fire pit).

All the staff are friendly and helpful. The sites are very clean and well maintained. The website is very user friendly and represents their facilities accurately. Restrooms are located in the office store building right next to the Kamping Cabins. Very convenient.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GBWeible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

After being kicked out of Mount Pisgah National Forest Campground (Due to the government shut down), my wife and I needed to find a place to stay and quick. Not knowing how state campgrounds were affected by the shut down and what was available we found this place and booked it for 3 nights. Even though it is right next to the highway we checked in and the person on staff was friendly and helpful- that is the only reason that this place even got one out of five. Despite being in a tent and not needing all the amenities such as cable, we were charged about 30 dollars a night for a basic tent site. Once we got to the site we realized this was a huge mistake, There are minimal trees and it was right next to a cell tower which had a bright street light next to it and the RV dump station. Out of 4 water pumps down the road, only 1 kind of worked and there are no fire rings/cooking grates for tent campers to cook on. (We had to buy a folding one) The sites are mostly gravel and some dirt with little tree cover. Groups of motorcyclists frequent this place and during our stay were revving their engines at all hours of the night. (way to go KOA west for enforcing your night curfew) My wife and I even left a day early to go home in PA. Overall this place was beyond terrible and is not a campground, more of a place to park your RV for a night and go stay at the nearby hotel and that is it. WORST PLACE EVER!!!

Room Tip: Nearby there are a lot of very beautiful, inexpensive and wonderful National Forest campgrounds. Mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whitey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Candler hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A group of 6 of us came for a 30th birthday weekend in October. Overall, this KOA location is in close proximity to Asheville attractions, such as the Biltmore and downtown Asheville. However, it is close to a highway, so when there's a lot of traffic, it is noisy at all hours of the night. If you're checking in at night, be aware that the signage is not well lit so after dark it's a little harder to find. It is very nice to have communal showers, as the water pressure in the deluxe cabin was very low. Cabins are kept in good condition; appliances included aren't the best, so if you plan on cooking, you may want to bring your own.

Room Tip: The Kamping Cabins and the Deluxe Cabin are both good for those that want the camping experience but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EIO264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had 10 of our Motorcycle group with us, pulling our motorcycle campers. Three had their toy haulers.
We camped about 4 spots down from the bath house (down hill) The spot was level, but didn't have much grass. lots of clay. I am assuming it was from the summer rain and I was very happy that it didn't rain or it would have been a mess. A couple of our members had a built up lot that in the dark you would stumble off the raised areas. Even though they were built up, they had a hard time leveling the motorcycle campers. (un-level) Four of us had very nice shady lots and were fairly level. Again, this was the back lot near the tower. We all enjoyed this campground for the area that it was in, convenient to the areas we wanted to travel. We will definitely be back every year around this time.
There was another bike group staying at this campground, they were around the corner from us. They had a flag stating they were a Christian riding group, but they were very loud, revving their bikes all night and that finally ended around 4:30 am. Many people complained the next day and during the night according to the owners. That group retaliated against our area by driving thru at 1:30 am revving their motors as they drove by every campsite.... As a biker myself, they had no respect.
Hopefully the owners will not allow this group back to this place... This is a bike friendly campground and hopefully people like that group don't ruin it for others.

The bath house was kept very clean and the staff were excellent!

Looking forward to staying here again!

Room Tip: * You will hear a lot of highway noise at night, but it wasn't that noticeable during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
7.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
#38 of 66 in Asheville
544 reviews
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
#49 of 66 in Asheville
52 reviews
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#26 of 66 in Asheville
300 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn West of Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheville West KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville West KOA

Property: Asheville West KOA
Address: 309 Wiggins Rd, Candler, NC 28715-8804
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Candler
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing