We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Extraordinary”
Review of The Corner Sandwich Shop - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Corner Sandwich Shop
Restaurant details
Canton, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing Extraordinary”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Convenient location in the middle of Downtown Canton. First of all, Canton isn't a destination for most tourists. Canton is a paper mill town and caters primarily to residents of the community. The Corner Sandwich Shop is privately owned and operated (not a chain) and while the menu touts meals like a Gyro Platter the salad and the Gyro aren't really Greek as in iceberg lettuce not quite shredded. While I was there the staff was mopping the floor and playing a radio. The booths and tables are the typical fast food variety consisting of hard plastic. On the other hand service was quick and the staff pleasant. The food, while not Greek, was tasty and the portions generous. Guess I'd say that if you're in a hurry and not feeling particularly particular that day then the Corner Sandwich Shop will fill the bill. If you want something a little more upscale and soothing then I recommend you go somewhere else.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WNC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The people who work here are extraordinary. Food is cooked to order. Great prices. The burgers are out of this world! This is a must eat at place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachBumWnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You'll be pleasantly surprised.”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Just looks like a little blue collar restaurant, but the Greek influence makes for great sandwiches and salads. The "small" subs are not small. I eat there fairly frequently. (I almost never go to fast food places, this is mostly healthy and very good.)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“sandwiches”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I was not really impressed but seems to be a popular place for the sandwich crowd

Helpful?
Thank Raanel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My wife and I regularly eat here. The food is well prepared and the portions are generous. Our favorites include the chicken gyro platter and the steak and cheese sandwich.

Helpful?
Thank DBearNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Corner Sandwich Shop also viewed

Canton, North Carolina Mountains
Canton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Canton, North Carolina Mountains
Canton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Canton, North Carolina Mountains
Canton, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing