We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was ashamed for my little dogs to stay in this God forbidden place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drifters Reef Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I was ashamed for my little dogs to stay in this God forbidden place.”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This so called Motel is a joke. the homeless shelter or your local pound has better conditions than this. These people with the exception of Danny are a sad group of people. The rooms are deplorable. Filth just pure T filth. Leigh Ann the owner is nothing but a slum lord making her money sitting back getting wealthy off of people that have pets. She knows that Drifter's Reef is the only place on Carolina Beach you can take you pets and she plays that to the max.. She spends no money for renovations. Jail has to be cleaner and smell better than this place. I can't imagine the health department lets her stay in business. The pool is so cloudy you can't see the main drain. That is conditions to close the pool. God bless the people that work here. I respect them to at least work. People please think about it before you spend your money to stay at such a place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank misgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    25
    18
    11
    40
See reviews for
38
38
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

A girlfriend and I decided to get away for the weekend and ended up at the Drifter's Reef. Prices were the best we found at the beach, although it is not beach front (there are many public beach access areas with parking nearby).

Room was not as clean as I like, BUT I am a bit of a germaphobe, so that may be a factor. We did really enjoy our stay, though. Great location within walking distance of the boardwalk which we really enjoyed! The exterior and lobby of this hotel are absolutely adorable and the staff was great! The pool needed cleaning the second day, but they had great music playing out there all day!

For us, two ladies (me mid-20's my friend early 20's) we felt safe and really had a great time. There is a bar/grill/high speed go kart track next door that you get 10% off your bill for staying at the hotel, but unfortunately they opened on the day we left. I will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hottblooded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwell, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Took Mom and my family to the Drifters Reef Motel for Mothers Day Weekend and Mom was so happy to be at the beach and be with all of the family, but most of all she was treated like a Queen at the Motel. They are pet friendly so she got to bring her little poodle with her, that made her so happy. The motel was centrally located so we were able to walk to the beach , shops and The Boardwalk. Everybody there was so nice and made us feel like family.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happysable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Reserved motel for 3 nights, after paying went to room and the bed was broke and the room was dirty and smelly. We asked for our money back, but was refused they said they would move us to another room instead. We looked at the new room and the bed was not broke but it smelled like cigarettes and urine, the floor was not swept, sheets was dirty and looked like they were never changed. Owner refused to give us our money back!!

Room Tip: ask to inspect room before paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ddrbeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carolina Beach hotels

Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We planned a family trip with some friends and paid almost $900 for 4 night in their 2 bedroom apt! Well it was cooler outside! it stayed 90 degrees in the room all the time! we had to stay gone just to stay cool! The layout and size of the apt was great but the air sucked, beds were nasty, dishwasher didnt work, lamps didnt work, sheets looked nasty, maid service does nothing, they dont sweep or mop, they dont make beds, or clean bathrooms, the only thing they did was take out trash and leave some tiny rough towels in the bathroom!!!!! We will not stay here again! We complained about the air conditioning to management and they did nothing! Only excuse after excuse! Our first time at Carolina beach and we couldnt even relax in our room!!!! If you wonder why there is limited pics on their website this is why!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thannah2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

we checked in on april 11 2011 after an exhausting search for a pet friendly hotel. we didnt ask to see room.what a mistake! Room was deplorable! Reeked of stale cigarettes and other odors when we entered room. This hotel is not even human friendly. They charge 20 dollars a night for pets but the room is not fit for a dog to stay in let alone humans. My spouse who is 72 years old said it was the worst he had ever seen in all his travels. Towels were thread bare and filthy, no lamp, no chair, mattresses were filty. do not consider this place to stay. We left at daylight the next day. Be sure to ask to see room before you pay, or better yet just drive on by!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trishnsmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angier, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Traveled with a dog and felt like we were treated like one. Room was so gross, we left and went to sleep in our car on the beach. Sheets had unidentified spots on them, towels and rags looked like they had never been washed, room smelled like cigaretes, with burn marks everywhere, no shower head, and so called mini fridge leaked all over the place. I strongly suggest you not ever stepping foot into office. Trust me, you will be leaving before you know it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tarheel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
0.3 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Reef Hotel

Property: Drifters Reef Hotel
Address: 701 Lake Park Blvd N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-4826
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Drifters Reef Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drifter's Reef Hotel is located in the heart of Carolina Beach, North Carolina and offers you great accommodations at a reasonable price. We offer microwaves, mini frigs, air conditioning, cable, free Wi-Fi, large outdoor pool, charcoal grills, volleyball courts, laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar. The Lazy Pirate is our famous award winning restaurant boasting legendary wings and crab shack! All quests will receive a 10% discount on food purchases! Carolina Beach's charter fishing fleet, top of the line cruise boats, excellent shopping at the Carolina Beach Boardwalk, fine restaurants and our beautiful beaches are all within a few short blocks and easy walking distance. Drifter's Reef Hotel has 57 rooms consisting of King rooms, Double rooms, Double Deluxe, Double Suites and a 2 Bedroom Full Apartment. We hope you will choose Drifter's Reef Hotel for your next vacation!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Drifters Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Reef Hotel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing