We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service was very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drifters Reef Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Reviewed 14 February 2013

me and my coworkers stayed for a week .no room service .when we asked everyday about cleaning and clean bath towels and washclothes .they keep coming up with excuses why they did not do it everyday it was supposed to be our fault .a person can not lock a chain on door when outside.told us if we wanted clean towels we needed to bring dirty to front desk .very lazy staff bar in parking lot .to many drunks .not a good place for anyone with kids .will never stay again would not recomend it to anyone

Room Tip: dont go rooms are ok but staff sucks
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftersreef, Owner at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you for your response. It is our policy that if the guest has their door chained or has a "Do Not Disturb" sign on their door, we honor the guests privacy. Linens and toiletries are always available at the front desk. Sorry for the confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Drifters Reef Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Matress stained and old,tables were not cleaned off and shower head had so much mold growing on it, did get a good nights sleep and pool was nicebut would not stay there again because for the money we spent $158/ night i expect a clean room and newer mattresses.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank burrlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Was told a rate of $59 per night, 3 months in advance of arrivial. When we checked in the rate changed to $98 per night. Was told there was nothing they could do, we were promised one rate but had to pay the new rate or go elsewhere. Very rude people in office, nasty rooms. The resturant great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Reasonable room, reasonable rates. Bed was comfy, mattress firm, no smoke smell in room...no bugs. Folks were nice, pool was clean, room, toilet, bathroom clean.... Air worked FANTASTIC. No noisy neighbors.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hpyrdnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

There are to many pickly people in this world. We did not have any problems with anything. We stayed in the middle of July 2012 and our room was clean and service from staff was great they were very helpful. We also had our minpin with us and she was greeted very nicley. The Drifters Reef is also in the middle of upgrading. Don't be so cruel they are getting there!
Come on People if you want the Hyatt then spend the money for it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Fowlers from Hillsborough NC

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

If you want piece and quiet this may not be place but u r also at beach so people like to party. You can walk to beach but probably a mile a way. Good place though where you can walk to restaurants, surf shops and other fun shopping, especially discount surf clothing. Generally comfortable room and beds. Could hear people above walking around and next door is a sports bar that may have some music outside Our room was right across so we heard it a little. For lunch the standard under 10 dollar lunch that is really great is at the Surf House. Their sandwiches and fish tacos are wonderful. Always eat there. Do not eat at sports bar next door.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WindyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We had such an awful experience here, the Room stated no smoking- as soon as I walked in could smell it. I checked for bedbug and did not see any but the floor behind the bed was covered with dead bugs and pet hair. I did not sleep the entire night because I was sneezing and coughing all night - what a waste of $135-never stay here you have been warned!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EileenHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
0.3 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#3 of 19 in Carolina Beach
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#13 of 19 in Carolina Beach
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Reef Hotel

Address: 701 Lake Park Blvd N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-4826
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range: £70 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Drifters Reef Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drifter's Reef Hotel is located in the heart of Carolina Beach, North Carolina and offers you great accommodations at a reasonable price. We offer microwaves, mini frigs, air conditioning, cable, free Wi-Fi, large outdoor pool, charcoal grills, volleyball courts, laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar. The Lazy Pirate is our famous award winning restaurant boasting legendary wings and crab shack! All quests will receive a 10% discount on food purchases! Carolina Beach's charter fishing fleet, top of the line cruise boats, excellent shopping at the Carolina Beach Boardwalk, fine restaurants and our beautiful beaches are all within a few short blocks and easy walking distance. Drifter's Reef Hotel has 57 rooms consisting of King rooms, Double rooms, Double Deluxe, Double Suites and a 2 Bedroom Full Apartment. We hope you will choose Drifter's Reef Hotel for your next vacation!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drifters Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Reef Hotel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing