We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Drifters Reef Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seagull Motel(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
Dolphin Lane Motel(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Savannah Inn(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mermaid Manor(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfside Lodge(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SeaWitch Motel(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russo's Motel(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
36
26
20
12
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
26
20
12
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy piraterestaurant next doorcorn holefront desk clerkmemorial day weekendchain hotelplace to stayextra towelswalking distance to everythinghousekeeping staffnice poollove this placepetvolleyballbedspreadrates
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I have been going to this Motel as long as I have driven myself to Carolina Beach. The location is perfect, you can walk to anywhere you would like to go. The rooms have always been clean and well cared for. I was there a couple weeks ago and was delighted to have a bar and grill right beside me, the service at both establishments were outstanding and I felt as if I were at home. Everyone is so cordial and helpful. I will continue to stay here and suggest it to everyone when they ask where a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftersreef, Owner at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Thank you for the great review! Our guests are our top priority. We train our staff to treat customers like family. We appreciate you staying with us when you visit Carolina Beach. Thank you for taking time to review us and thank you for the reference to other travelers! LeAnn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I don't understand some of the reviews on here. I've stayed at Drifters Reef almost every summer for the past ten years! I've never had a bad experience and always have a great time. The staff is very kind and helpful, the pool is great and the rooms are clean and pretty standard as far as amenities go. They are close to the beach (about a .5-.75 mile walk) and that's WAY better than trying to find parking closer to the beach during the peak months.

I never understand when people complain about other rooms being noisy at a hotel. If you ask, the front office staff will ask them to pipe down, but they can't MAKE someone shut up or stop "doing the deed". Its part of staying at a hotel, ANY HOTEL. I do remember a few years ago a couple had had a few too many and were being a bit obnoxious in the room above us. We called the front desk at some ungodly hour, and the guy working was very nice and went to talk to them and we never had another problem!

I've also never had a problem with a dirty mattress and I'm one of those weird people who check them when I stay at hotels as well. They've always been spotless when I go. Maybe the other reviewer just manage to get the one bad one in the place?

Room Tip: The rooms closer the office do tend to be a little larger for whatever reason. If you're still worried, just ask for one of of those! Also, they do have multiple floors and no elevator, so if you have someone in your party who will have trouble with stairs make sure to ask for a first floor room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftersreef, Owner at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Thank you for your review! You were very fair. I am happy that you have enjoyed staying with us for so long! We have many quests who return every summer like yourself. We are continually remodeling and updating our property. We are currently building volleyball courts for our guests! Again, thank you for your business and for taking time to review the property. LeAnn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Lets see?... Well red flag should have been the bar, second red flag was the drunks on our third floor hollaring at 1:30pm. Outside looked very nice, inside was fairly cleaned as it seemed. I should have checked the mattress before staying in that room. Looks as if the it has been through hell, and was rough to sleep on. Staff was not pleasant by no means!! At 12:30am we were awaken by a couple doing thier deeds...heard every bit of it. At 2:50am we where awaken again by the drunks hollaring, So we attepted to call office on our broken phone so we used our cell. The man came up to tell them to be quite. Which was appreciated. About 30 mins later drunks was at it again and then the couple started their deed again. Understand that is a pet friendly place but a dog constantly barked!! This is not a friendly place for a family. The bar and grill was a great experience. I will not come back again. I email and left a comment on facebook, no response..no apologizies!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wright67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftersreef, Owner at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

I am truly sorry for the stay that you just described. The people creating the disturbance on the property were removed that very night. We do not always know how guests will act but we have a no tolerance policy for this kind of behavior. After the front desk clerk asked them to quite down and they did not, he had them removed. I did received your email and responded with a personal cell number for you to call as we did not have your number. We have raised our children while living on the property for many years so families are top priority to us. Again, I sincerely apologize for your stay and would be happy to speak with you personally. LeAnn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I had a wonderful experience with Drifters Reef Motel, the service was great and the price reasonable. Also very excessible to everything. I met the owner this morning and she was very cordial and pleasant. I would rate this motel 5 star and highly recommend for anybody.

Room Tip: any room is good and very clean
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftersreef, Owner at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Thank you for your review! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure speaking with you as well. We hope to see you again in the future! LeAnn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I wasn't happy at all.1.) the man checking me in was rude, maybe if I brought him a pizza he would have been nicer to me. The pizza dilvery person was treated nicer than me. 2.) Never seen a hotel room so small. 3.) I had a bottom floor room, I heard all the creeks of the person(s) above me. I heard everytime they walked. It sounded as if they might come thru the floor! 4.) I was so cold, I ran the heater wide open and still was cold. Well because the unit is barely in the wall. It's not secured at all! I could see the outside, no wondering the heater wasn't warming me. Also the air blowing out wasn't that warm, giving it was a cold night in the 20's I just wanted heat. 5.) No FREE WIFI!!!!! 6.) You'll see a billboard of rooms for 39.00 and outside the hotel 49.00 but you'll be charge a whole lot more. When I ask to see a price listing the man told me it was listed online.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftersreef, Owner at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

I apologize for the stay that you experienced. I hope that you had an opportunity to address these issues with management. I will personally be speaking with the staff member who checked you in that night. I am not sure what happened with the Wi-Fi as we do have it available. The billboard that you referenced is our weekday discount rate during the off season. On the weekends, the off season base rate is slightly higher as you stated the $49. Our local county and state taxes are an additional 13%. I would be more than happy to speak with you personally. Again, I apologize and thank you for taking time to review us. LeAnn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews