We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nasty/nasty/joke/never/never/again awful”
Review of Mermaid Manor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carolina Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mermaid Manor
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
tazewell.va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nasty/nasty/joke/never/never/again awful”
Reviewed 23 August 2010

i dont know who they got to write all this nice wonderful nonsense about this place but i will tell you what i saw with my owne eyes who ever you are you are not telling the truth this place needs to be closed and a pad lock put on the doorhow i wish we could get our money back we were lead to belive just as others fr.the pictures what a great place this was lady if you have any morles you will reinburse me and all the others how can you dothis to your fellow man and sleep at night GOD in the end will prevail one day you will fase up to the great JUDGE do you even know what is going on in that place now to those who say this is such a great place you are nuts and to whom ever put the pics.on how true because my daughter took pics.to under the beds the fan blades the windows and i could go on and onand by the way what happned as you so say on the web page small kitchens joke hot plate not even a chair in room to sit on a lundry tub for a sink joke no mirrow in bath or bed room joke ipots and pans look like you had fride screws and nailes in them when some one rents a room they should non have to clean it before they use it first we get the clorox2 out mnd clean what then we use paper and plastic .help some one please read this and heed do not go there she will take your credit card and will not refund oooo so well sucker got you this is how i see it we who know what ew went thrue need an attorney she needs to learn you dont do people like this well i hope it is stoped soon

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tazewell_vaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    20
    9
    5
    28
See reviews for
32
32
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The owner and staff were very nice and extremely helpful. Parking is right across the street, not miles away as previous reviewers have tried to indicate. It is directly on the beach and only a couple of blocks (3 minute walk) from the Boardwalk/Carnival. Amazing time! Great to sit out on the back porch and listen to the waves. Don't have to worry about "closing hours" for pool but also small enough that everyone is respectful. Felt almost like staying in a beach house. Won't ever stay anywhere else in Carolina Beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvD0gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, NC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

First, I've read the other reviews and each had a kernel of truth (except for the one that gave it 5 out of 5 --- what planet are you living on?). There was both good and bad. Here are some of the good points I've captured from my stay:

1. Right on the beach -- Very good location!
2. Neighbors were fairly quiet
3. Dog friendly
4. The on-sight managers were very friendly
5. Not only located on the beach, but had a pool and a balcony overlooking both the pool and the beach
6. Close to the local boardwalk and carnival


But, there were also bad points about the manor. Here are the not-so-pleasant parts of our stay:

1. Room was dirty, smelly, moldy and all of the other ee's that you can think of.
2. Landlord stated that it had a small two burner stove (turned out to be a hot-plate).
3. One sink did not work and the shower was short with hot/cold tendencies
4. On the website, it said it had free WIFI. Well, it was one DSL wireless router in the manager's office. The connection was spotty at best and I think the internet pipe was very small (say around 768kps).
5. Parking was off-site.
6. Air-conditioners were old window units (very noisy)
7. Had cockroaches and wasps in our unit (dead ones now)!
8. Battery was missing from the smoke detector
9. EVERYONE staying there chained smoked! -- I hate smoke!
10. The lodging was pet friendly but, the beach was not.
11. The furniture was very old and had obvious ware.

I'm sorry, I place a high value on cleanliness and value. I will accept a lower cleanliness for a great value, but as it stands, I paid quite a bit to stay at this place. I expected more. I guess that is what you get when you travel with pets. Next time I will board our dog.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PelicanJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carolina Beach hotels

Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2010

The owners were so nice, everyone was nice the people who were doing work there and even down to the guy who cleaned the pool every morning! It was so relaxing,loved that porch! Everything was walking distance,great restaurant across the street! I can't wait to go back again! My dog even loved it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicas70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2010

The location is great,, ,,only steps to the beach and maybe a block to the boardwalk, the owners were very nice people and seemed to really be concerned that we have a nice stay......
This is a pet friendly hotel which is why we booked here and that turned out nice as well,,,
We just had a single room , but it was very clean and the bathroom was clean as well,,,the room was not very big,,but we expected that,,, so no problem there,,we did look at some of the larger rooms while we were there and they too were very nice and clean.
so if your looking for a nice get away at a excellent location you cant go wrong with this place,,,we will defintely be back!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astros_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Lane, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Our kids loved the oceanfront beach and pool. We loved having 2 rooms in our suite.Having the kitchen and grills was not only convienant ,but saved us money as well.Being so close to the boardwalk was a real plus without the noise . Very quiet and clean. Inn keepers couldn't have been any more helpful or nicer.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3catlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Today is Wednesday, suppose to stay until Sunday. I am looking for another place to stay NOW. I took pics of the "Molded" windows, NASTY refrigerator, floors, shower, sink, Entire place. Went to CVS, printed pictures, & went straight to the Chamber of Commerce. I also contacted the Environmental Health Dept. I suggest anyone with the same issues, please write to the Chamber of Commerce @ Carolina Beach. It needs to be closed down, & Bulldozed or burned down completely.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank pookat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#14 of 19 in Carolina Beach
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drifters Reef Hotel
Drifters Reef Hotel
#11 of 19 in Carolina Beach
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Manor

Property: Mermaid Manor
Address: 308 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-6113
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean front, pet-friendly motel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mermaid Manor Hotel Carolina Beach
Mermaid Manor Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing