We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Kate's Pancake House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very good, pleasant servers and management!!! We will be back for our next convention!!! Very busy but very good!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    194
    62
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Get There Early and Share the Plate!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is open from March to October, I think. It gets crowded early, but there's lots of room. The food really is good, and I love the different pancake offerings. It's a quaint little, home-cooking breakfast place that you've got to try at least once. Beats the pants off of IHOP, if you ask me! Right in downtown Carolina Beach on the main drag!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravlinFool336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We always eat at Kate's on our last day of vacation. The kids truly enjoy the variety of pancakes and there is a gluten free option for our Son. Tried the Crab Benedict this time. It was a hit!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank teapots_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yuck!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Went in for breakfast. They wanted to seat us directly in front of the air conditioner. There was only a whole restaurant to seat us - the place was almost empty. We ordered the cinnamon roll. It was nice. I ordered eggs and bacon. There was a hair in it. Enough said. I just dealt and went home. The service was bad and just wasn't for me.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottienga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Crab Benedict!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We ate at Kate's every morning of our trip. Everything we tried was absolutely delicious. The Crab Benedict was absolutely mind blowing. The grits are also fantastic. The portions are so large that even hungry teens couldn't finish it all. The service on a busy Sunday morning was slow, but this did not bother us too much because 1) it was understandable due to the amount of people in the restaurant and 2) the food was well worth the wait! The service on 'normal' days was just fine. Don't miss this gem!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyandtheOldLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kate's Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Kate's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing