We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smallest room I've ever been and no coffee maker for $150/night”
Review of SeaWitch Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SeaWitch Motel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Smallest room I've ever been and no coffee maker for $150/night”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This may be a "beach access" motel, but other than that the accommodations are less than desirable. Sure, you could make the argument "who stays in the room anyways?" Well, I do, and enjoy working from my room but this military barracks-style room is anything but inviting. My wife and I barely had enough room to turn around and the twin size bed had my back screaming in the morning. The last time I spent $150 for a room, it came with a coffee maker (10 bucks). But there is literally no room in here to put one :) LMAO. Never again!!!

Room Tip: Get a double bed if you must stay here. The single bed room is what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MooseDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    19
    9
    8
    12
See reviews for
16
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haw River, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We came down for St. Patricks day weekend getaway with friends. They have stayed here previously and suggested we give it a try. The room we had, #11 was very quaint and perfect 2 people. Nice size dorm type fridge and good size microwave. Flat screen TV as well. Free internet too. The front desk staff ladies ( they are twins) were very pleasant and friendly. Overall it was a pleasant experience. The tiki bar cafe and restaurant is across the street as well. Good food and great beach atmosphere. Lots of things within walking distance, boardwalk area, fast food restaurants as well as the Gulf Stream restaurant for a great breakfast. If your looking for a clean no frills hotel then this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EtohExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumberton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Mixed feelings about this one. enjoyed the location of the Motel but it is over priced and very small. the room looked clean but had a mildew smell, bathroom is extremely small, sink is in the room with single bed and a small fridge, the shower and toilet are in the same space. shower is about the size of a phone both. for the money there are better options.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendallbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We checked in on a Sunday night for 5 nights. The first thing I noticed was that the towels in the bathroom smelled of mold. At 5 pm the "cafe" aka bar across the street started playing LOUD music. When we complained about the sound they moved us to a room as far away from the bar as they could but we could hear the thumping of the music. We decided then and there to check out the next morning. There are nicer, less expensive, more relaxing places to stay at Carolina Beach. The Sea Witch is an apt title for the motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clover A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carolina Beach hotels

Angier, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Best bartender her name is eva the food is great service was fast I guess other reviews made them step up restaurant is great bar food they really need to separate the cafe from the motel, motel was nice we stayed in room 7 nice small room small queen im 6'3" lil short but ok if your looking for mom grand don't don't stay at a "motel" this place was perfect location perfect to the beach and everything

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearrp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Bad Service! Bad Food!
Met friends here for lunch on July 4. We sat in the bar area, and waited, and waited, and waited. Finaly a wait person came by to get our drink order. We told him we were going to eat and needed menu s. We waited, and waited. got our menu s, then waited, and waited and finaly got our drinks.Our drinks were long gone before the wait person came back to take our order. We waited and waited.Our second round of drinks came with our food. Our food, well, the hot food was cold. No flat ware was given. We had to eat with our fingers. Asked three times for flat ware then one of our party went and got it from the bartender. Took forever to get our check and get out of there. Before I got up from the table I was feeling sick.I had real issue for the next few day s. I was the only one that got sick and I was the only one to have fish & chips.
I could excuse bad service when their busy, but this place had maybe 25% occupancy. I can never excuse being served bad food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

The Sea Witch - and most of Carolina Beach, truthfully - are what I like to refer to as a "vintage" beach experience. Staying here was much like how I remembered beach trips from my childhood - a quaint, clean, no-frills family-owned motel where you can comfortably wash the sand off and lay your head for the nigh. The location is fantastic, and once you park, you won't need your car to get to the best dining and nightlife spots. The rooms aren't huge, but they are very clean; a good location for couples, small families and, especially in my case, the single traveller. I will stay at the Sea Witch again, and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Carolina Beach.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
0.1 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#11 of 19 in Carolina Beach
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaWitch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaWitch Motel

Property: SeaWitch Motel
Address: 224 N Carolina Ave, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5539
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SeaWitch Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint 16 room oceanfront hotel with swimming pool. All rooms are non smoking and no pets allowed. Our buildings run perpendicular to the beach but our top floor rooms have a great view of the ocean from the balcony's. We also have a private beach access on site. Close to the boardwalk, convenient stores, restaurant, and the carnival when it is in town. Great location to watch the Thursday night fireworks. Located across the street from the SeaWitch Cafe & Tiki Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your SeaWitch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seawitch Hotel Carolina Beach
Seawitch Hotel And Cafe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing