We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel just okay but right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hotel just okay but right on the beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Pluses: All units are ocean front. Fairly soundproof--could not hear above or next to me. Free Internet .

Cons: The room had dust and the sliding glass door and windows were filthy when I went into the room. Had to get them to clean the window--why wouldn't I see the ocean when I'm in an oceanfront room? Indoor pool and hot tub appeared dirty. Saw no one clean the outdoor pool while I was there. They have events here such as conference and weddings so the parking lot fills up.

I expected more for a Marriott.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    261
    122
    61
    40
See reviews for
292
290
27
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Eighth floor ... all rooms are ocean front ... the higher the better view. Very courteous and helpful staff. Tyler gives excellent dining recomendations and Steve is a superb bartender/starbucks server. Jogging on the beach is wonderful, check the sunrise & moonrise times ... excellent! Good surf fishing, view of dolphins frollicing in the waves, etc. To be honest, there is not high class quisine on the island ... but what is here is fun. If you want the best ... drive 25 minutes north and there are a host of offerings ... top notch. We were here NOV 2011 for Veterans Day weekend and there were two weddings at the hotel. Given the maxed out occupancy, management should have arranged to have plussed up the staff at the starbucks facility. They were overwhelmed in spite of each of these people being excellent. I fault the hotel management for that lack of foresight ... but I still am very positive in my accolades for this hotel. It is an excellent location ... rooms are all in good order ... and, typical of Marriott Courtyard & Residence Inn class locations ... a good deal for the money. I want to emphasize the top quality of the personnel that a typical guest will encounter ... that is where you will gain a lasting imprerssion of your stay. Here they are all what one would want ... I just hope management learns to listen to jumior staff observations. Take that advice in strong account. You'll go from very good to top-notch in short order.

Room Tip: stay away from elevator doors ... the "beep" is too loud and can be heard plainly in nearb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I stayed in a beach front room which was dirty! Had stained carpets, dirt and dead bugs all over the room. If you want to stay here check your room on arrival before committing to it.

Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank LZmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachy005, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns in regards to your recent stay with us. I am very concerned about the items that you mentioned as cleanliness is our top priority. Additionally, our rooms are professionally exterminated on a regular basis in order to stop any kind of pest issues before they arise. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further regarding this matter as I want to make sure that all potential issues of this nature are corrected going forward. Thank you again and I hope we can speak soon!

Will Lear
Assistant General Manager
(910) 458-2030
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

My best friend was getting married in Carolina Beach. And if you don't know a lot about this area - there really are not many hotels to stay at, and a lot of the nicer ones are quite pricey - especially in the summer. Most people rent houses. Besides the price, I cannot complain about this hotel. The plus for this hotel is: right on the beach, the suite is a large room, walking distance to restaurants and bars, and overall a very clean hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I can't rate the hotel on its rooms, cleanliness, restaurant, or even the view since they claimed they didn't have my reservation. Even though I'm a platinum Marriott Rewards member, the desk clerk couldn't get me a room, or suggest another hotel, or call a cab, or even apologize. Instead, I went to the Holiday Inn in Wilmington, where I have no status, but the desk clerk there clearly understands the concept of service (read my review for more info).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LayniMSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachy005, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give your comments regarding your recent visit to Carolina Beach. I would like to take a moment to appologize for the service that you experienced while trying to check in. Your event is certainly not a standard occurance as we take customer service very seriously. I wanted to also let you know that we received the letter that you sent to the hotel and our Director of Sales has sent you a response in return. If you have not already received this, please be on the lookout for it. Again, I'm very sorry for the inconvienience that you experienced and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

OK ... I'm not sure what a Courtyard is doing here on Carolina Beach, but it's nice. It's right on the beach and I enjoyed my stay.

The staff here is great. I'm a Plantinum Premier with Marriott and truthfully, this hotel treated me better than most full service Marriotts. That was impressive.

The rooms are nice and and pretty large. Every room has a view of ocean and a balcony. There is a large pool and a restaurant with a pretty good breakfast. You won't find the amenities of a Marriott resort (like towels, poolside bar, etc), but the hotel and rooms are pretty close.

The bed is good and the air conditioning works well. The hotel and the rooms were clean.

I would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure if you're in the Carolina Beach area (and depending on where your business is in Wilmington, it might be a good evening escape for a Wilmington business trip).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoungeOnTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

What an awesome experience. I stayed here mainly for business reasons, but was able to sneak in some personal pleasure as well. As a Marriott Gold Member, my husband and I were upgraded to a corner oceanfront 2 bedroom suite. The two rooms were huge and well appointed with furniture and amenities like a refrigerator, coffeemaker and microwave. The free Wi-Fi was fast. The desk was a large workable surface with plenty of light. The TVs were large flat screens in both the living and sleeping area. The bedroom was separated from the living area by a divided bathroom. The sink area had a door to the bedroom and then the shower and toilet area had another door. This allowed for my husband to sleep in because he could not hear me getting ready in the morning. There was a closet in the living area, as well as in the bedroom which also allowed for less noise in the morning. The lobby was newly renovated -- very modern & chic. Free coffee is offered from 6-10 AM, as well as a variety of free newspapers. It was fantastic to have a Starbucks in the hotel as well. The beach is very close and really nice-- the views were fantastic. The hotel is right next to the Boardwalk (which was a disappointment because everything was closed during the week after Labor Day). There are several great restaurants within walking distance (Deck House & Havana were our favorites). Parking is free and convenient. My only complaints were that the entrance is hard to find – it is a little street next to a yellow house (there are no street signs) and the beach towels are very small.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carolina Beach Inn
Carolina Beach Inn
#2 of 3 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Address: 100 Charlotte Ave, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5119 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Carolina Beach Hotel Carolina Beach
Courtyard Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach Courtyard
Carolina Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing