We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family took a last minute trip to Carolina Beach and found a room via the internet before we left. The staff at the registration desk was very helpful. The room was clean and had plenty of space for my wife, son and me. We had a room on the 2nd floor and right by the elevator. The room's balcony was right over the pool. I was worried about the noise from the pool and elevator but the room was surprisingly quiet.
The outdoor pool was very nice and clean. The indoor pool was small but serviceable. There was a hot tub that was very hot. The hotel is right on the ocean and was a very short walk to the beach. The beach is clean and has plenty of room to spread out. There is public parking near the hotel that makes the area directly in front of the hotel more popular.
The location of the hotel is great. Park your car and forget it. There are a lot of restaurants and things to do within a short walk of the hotel. The carnival rides next door made the night fun with the lights and movement. The boardwalk area is fun to walk through. Don't miss Britt's donuts or the New Orleans snow balls. Both are worth the wait.
Have fun at Carolina Beach with a stay at the Courtyard.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RabyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Other than condos and timeshares, the Courtyard is really the only major hotel in town and the only one on the beach. It is perfectly nestled right next to the boardwalk. We've stayed in a number of hotels with the same design. All the rooms have ocean front views and have a balcony. Since Carolina Beach does fireworks off the boardwalk every Thursday night, a room on the northern end of the building will give you eye level viewing of the show. The one drawback with this hotel design is that there is no service elevator so getting up and downstairs is slow. The pool at this specific hotel was small and not as clean. Unlike other Courtyards, the hotel did not have an outside bar, but did offer wait staff by the pool. The staff at the Carolina Beach Courtyard was very friendly and offered a lot of great tips on dining and things to do other than the beach. They were also quick to fix any issues in the room.

Room Tip: North side of the building offers better view of the fireworks during the summer, but they are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awfountain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Cons: We stayed at the hotel in July and were disappointed to find the vacant lot next to the hotel (and several other nearby lots) filled with carnival rides. They are literally a few feet from the hotel and could be seen and heard from our balcony, and from the hotel pool (see photos already posted). There is a lot of trash, especially cigarette butts, in the areas surrounding the hotel. The hotel itself is nice, but doesn't meet what we've come to expect at a Courtyard. The carpets in the lobby are stained and the carpet in our room was badly stained. The chairs on the balcony are small, plastic, café style chairs more appropriate for sitting at a table vs. lounging on a balcony. And while they have small coffee pots in the room (w/powdered creamer), no free morning coffee in the lobby, just an expensive Starbucks. The elastic on the fitted sheet on my bed was worn out and came off repeatedly during the night; it was replaced, but only after I left notes twice. Pros: Ocean front on a beautiful beach, very nice attentive staff, clean rooms (excluding stained carpet), beach chair rentals in lobby, and next to a great surfing school. If you're looking for peaceful evenings sitting on your oceanfront balcony (we were), this is not the hotel for you. If you look at the official hotel website, the carnival is in the vacant lot next to the hotel and we understand it is there all summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will L, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

MelG,
Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review of your experience! We certainly understand that the carnival on the boardwalk is not something that everyone enjoys, however many of our guests, especially those with children, love the family oriented nature of Carolina Beach. The carnival is featured on the boardwalk in the summer months from Memorial Day until Labor Day. In the future, if you wish to be in a room away from the carnival please don't hesitate to ask. We try hard to satisfy special requests anytime that we can. It sounds like you had a great vacation in other aspects and we hope that you will visit us again in the future. Thank you for your business and please don't hesitate to ask should you need anything!
Best Regards,
Will Lear
Asst General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I visit Carolina Beach at least twice a year. This was our first time staying at this Courtyard Marriott. We loved it. It is in a prime location, so we were able to walk to eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and the cleaning staff did such a great job with supplying us towels and toiletries. The two pools were very clean even on a busy 4th of July weekend. Even though the hotel was completely full we did not hear any noise from the rooms next door or rooms above us. Although the balcony was not as big as I would of liked it was still nice to sit out side and look at the beautiful beach!!!! Thank you Courtyard for a relaxing trip to my favorite beach of all time!!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will L, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review of your recent experience. Also, I appreciate your comments towards our front desk and housekeeping staffs. I will be passing on the positive comments as they love seeing how their hard work pays off. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a great first experience while staying with us and look forward to hosting you again in the near future!
Best Regards,
Will Lear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a great place. The room was clean and wonderful and had a shower to die for!!! Staff were extremely nice and helpful. This place has got it together. Easy access to beach and could not have asked for a better weekend. We will return!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have stayed at this hotel at least once a year over the past few years. Not much has changed. The location is great-we park the car when we check in and walk most evenings to restaurants. The Deck House, two blocks across the street, is good with seafood, steaks and other fare-get there before 6 PM to avoid the lines. At the hotel, we always reserve an umbrella and chair through the contractor at the hotel. They set them up promptly and it is worth the price for a good location on the beach with a little shade. As far as rooms go, you will want to stay on the side away from the carnival..our room was 515 and it was very quiet. On the down side, the carpets in the room are really showing some wear and, we could not find parking on the one night we drove to Wilmington for dinner. The air conditioner was very loud. But, the staff is terrific, and we can tolerate the negatives because the positives far outweigh these minor concerns.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors around 515 are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NC-travel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I travel extensively for business - this was one of my best stays in a hotel! Compliments to the management for assembling and motivating a super team. Everyone on the hotel staff was great: the smiling reception at the front desk, pool attendants, maids, beach umbrella & chair vendor. Even the other guests were fun! Already looking foward to my next trip.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carolina Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville ...
#2 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#13 of 19 in Carolina Beach
247 reviews
13.0 mi away
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach

Address: 100 Charlotte Ave, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5119 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range: £79 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SAS Ticati.COM, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Carolina Beach Hotel Carolina Beach
Courtyard Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach Courtyard
Carolina Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing