We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Ranch Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carolina Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Ranch Motel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Please!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

How can these owners sleep at night knowing they're robbing their patrons! How dare they charge such exorbitant prices for an outdated, run-down motel! The mattresses were so uncomfortable, we hardly slept the whole time we'd contracted to stay there. The carpet was filthy, one morning we had no hot water, and the bathroom/shower was too small to accommodate any one of us comfortably. One day we were not given enough linens to take showers. I'll never stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    38
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
53
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
smhnc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

We decided to save some money by going to a cute little motel. Here are the pros and cons of our stay:

Pros:
1. Location! This is the main reason why we chose the Sea Ranch. It has a great oceanfront location. It is also next to the Grand Sands hotel which has a nice tiki bar and restaurant. We wanted to be within walking distance of a bar so we didn't have to drive and the restaurant is very good.

2. The room was very clean. It was small and simple- perfect for a no-fuss weekend visit to the beach.

3. It has two pools and a huge hot tub and they all seemed very well maintained.

4. The shower has great water pressure. It blasts all that sand off.

5. Rocking chairs outside each room.. very relaxing!

6. The AC works great.. you definitely won't get too hot in your room.

Cons:
1. I was very unhappy that the bed was so uncomfortable. Even though the place is relatively cheap I still expect to wake up without a backache. Neither of us slept well the entire weekend. If you're one of those people who can sleep on anything (like my sister) this won't be a problem for you.

2. The shower is VERY small.. but it's fine for a weekend at the beach.

Overall this is a nice place to stay if you're looking for a no-frills beachfront location. I probably won't be going back because of the bed, but if you can handle that I definitely recommend the Sea Ranch.

  • Liked — Beachfront, pool, near a bar
  • Disliked — the bed! =(
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smhnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny265
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

We stayed at the Sea ranch in July 2007 with our crawling 7 month old and our 3 year old. Overall, our experience was pleasant. The rooms were older and the showers are definitely small, but that didn't really bother us. The things that did bother us were the extremely dirty carpet that blackened our crawler's legs and hands, and our feet. Our solution for that was asking for a few extra blankets to lay on the floor for him to crawl on--which they delivered very quickly! We basically covered the whole floor with them. There was also a stain down the side of one mattress which grossed me out.
But overall the experience was pleasant. One morning the maid forgot to clean our room so I went to tell the person at the front desk. She was so apolegetic--and came to clean the room herself immediately. Now that's service!
The pools were great and never crowded, the beach was clean and beautiful. There wasn't too much noise, and we appreciated the rockers on the balcony. They also gave great dining recomendations and were very friendly. Knowing that we had children, they even came to find us to let us know that there would be fireworks that night. I have just never found this kind of service in a chain or large hotel.
Obviously for us, the small things we didn't like were very outweighed by the service and friendliness of the motel--and we are getting ready to book there for our family vacation next month!

  • Liked — the great service and friendly staff
  • Disliked — dirty carpet
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2008

Our family of 15 (6 rooms) stayed here in June, 2007 for our daughter's beach wedding. This is a wonderful family-owned ocean front motel. Our daughter was married on the beach of the property. Our room was an ocean view with full kitchen. They have 2 pools and a great deck/patio for hanging out. The owner/manager Greg was so accommodating with every request. The staff was very friendly and efficient. We could not have chosen a more perfect place for our daughter's special day. This is a great location for a family reunion or large group. The rates are very reasonable. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Friendliness of motel staff.
  • Disliked — Furniture could be updated.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthie0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester County, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2008

My family and I stayed at the Sea Ranch Motel in September 2007. We stayed there in September 2006, and enjoyed ourselves so much, we came back for an entire week in 2007. We love everything about this motel. We booked an oceanfront efficiency. It was the same room we booked in 2006. We could not wait to come back. We are coming back this September and are bringing more of the family. If you come to Sea Ranch, you will not be disappointed. Everyone is freindly and ready to help if you need any assistance. The rooms are spacious, and have everything you need to make your stay comfortable. My mom came with me on this trip, and she doesn't really like the beach (so she says). She enjoyed herself so much, she wanted to stay another day. She's coming back with us this year. We can't wait to see you in September.

  • Liked — we had everything we needed. we had all the ammenities we needed to feel like we were at home.
  • Disliked — I can't thing of anything
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ronjakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2007

We went for a four day family vacation to take our two smaller children to the beach for the first time. The Sea Ranch was by far an excellent choice for us. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was exceptionally clean. The heated pool was perfect for a swim with the kids. The jacuzzi is excellent for a sore back or just for relaxing from a hard day! The view from our balcony was breath taking. We felt like we had our own "private beach!"I agree, the showers are somewhat small, but I didn't go for the shower, I went for a vacation, so that wasn't much of a problem! Over all the place was an excellent choice money wise and vacation wise.

We plan on going again next year for a week and getting the effeciency room!

  • Liked — The view from the balcony!
  • Disliked — The small shower.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yournctoylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hope mills
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2007

Once again we stayed at the sea ranch and had a wonderful time. After reading some of the other comments i decided to just add a little foot note. yes its true the showers are terribly small, and difficult to wash in, the water leaves you feeling some what soapy, but for the price, location, ammenties , and exceptional friendly service from the WHOLE FAMILY. you cant beat it. If i wanted to go to a hotel to spend tons of money ,i would go to a hilton, but im going to the beach for swiming, fishing and quality family time, not to look at four walls and a tv. I can do that at home. the sea ranch as a overall hotel is just the place to bring your family to have a nice quiet relaxing stay and enjoy what you came for. I will not stay anywhere other than the Sea Ranch, cost, location and excellent service, is what makes the sea ranch the best choice for your ocean visit.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — showers
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawdawg006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
1.1 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Motel

Property: Sea Ranch Motel
Address: PO Box 176, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-0176
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Carolina Beach
Sea Hotel Carolina Beach
Sea Motel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing