We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Ranch Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carolina Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Ranch Motel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
sanford nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

After endless searching and reading reviews on other places to stay at Carolina Beach, My husband & I decided on the Sea Ranch Motel. WOW...What a great place to stay,It is not the Ritz, but for the price & location it was perfect for us. We have not had a vacation in six years & I promise we will be back to stay there soon. The staff was super friendly & we even got to check in early. Looking forward to our next getaway.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyzib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    37
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
53
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

Upon check in we were charged more for extra guest. The only problem was that I made the reservation for 4 guest and confirmed it, however they only had us down for 2. Lady at front desk was nice enough to give some money back, however we still paid more than quoted originally. Room was oceanfront, however you could not see the ocean. I would not pay extra unless you get 2nd or 3rd floor room. Rooms were clean but we probably will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlover1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

Just returned from our 3rd annual trip to Carolina Beach and it was the best ever. The Sea Ranch upgraded all the rooms with new beds and furniture. We love the quaint (wood paneling in the rooms), full kitchen, and family feel of the Sea Ranch. Just walk out your room, enjoy the view, and listen to live music from the Tiki Bar down the beach at sunset. We made our reservations for 2011, since they are a sell out. Oh and the swimming pools are awesome.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayknitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

My husband and I have been thinking about moving to Wilmington, NC and decided to go visit again just to be sure. We figured we might as well stay on the water in Carolina Beach since it is only a few mins away. I saw that Sea Ranch was rated #1 on Trip Advisor and just had to check it out. We had the Ocean Front 2nd floor room and it was amazing. The view was spectacular and the pool and hot tub were very relaxing. The room was a great value. It isn't top notch amenities, but it was clean and well kept. Who wants to pay for an overpriced room anyway? You can get your monies worth here. It worked for us!! The staff and all the tenants were very friendly and welcoming. We are hoping the next time we come back it will be for good, but we would definitely hit the Sea Ranch Motel again for an ocean front getaway.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlshipp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this motel. I have to admit, our expectations were not high given the low cost per night, but we were pleasantly surprised! The staff members were extremely friendly and helpful and the room, though definitely 'no frills', was exceptionally clean. We had an oceanfront room on the second floor and the view could not be beat....add to it the rocking chairs and it was perfect. The motel was also close to many eating places. We will definitely be staying there again on future trips and would refer this motel to anyone looking for a great place to stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12Travel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China Grove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

We have been staying at the Sea Ranch Motel since my son was a toddler 23 years ago. Since that time we have stayed there every year with our Parents and children. Our Parents now are unable to go and miss the trip. My children are grown but my daughter now goes with her friends, continuing the tradition. If you are looking for the hustle and bustle of larger beaches, you will not find it here. The Sea Ranch is a quiet, simple haven for those wanting peace and quiet with great ocean views. The rooms are simple but adequate. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. If you want something very fancy, don't go. As for our family we will continue to make our yearly vacation stay there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyfulChinaGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

My husband and I took our one-year-old to the beach for the first time. I chose Sea Ranch because of Sandy, the kind voice who answered the phone, and the pools. I was not disappointed. We arrived late, and were greeted with an open door to a third-floor spacious room with two queen beds, a pack-and-play, a full-sized fridge, a new microwave, toaster, coffee pot, efficiency range, clean dishes, pots and pans, and BEAUTIFUL view of the ocean. The room was spotlessly clean, the shower had great pressure and hot water, and the bed was very comfortable. Upon check-in, Sandy was so gracious, and she gave us all the information we needed to have a wonderful, relaxing few days on the beach. The pools were open, and the heated pool was warm enough for my baby to play in. The location was fantastic, walking distance to a nice restaurant and ice cream parlor, one mile from the boardwalk, and three miles from the aquarium.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliep79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
1.1 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
1.0 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#11 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Motel

Property: Sea Ranch Motel
Address: PO Box 176, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-0176
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carolina Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Carolina Beach
Sea Hotel Carolina Beach
Sea Motel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing