We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend getaway”
Review of Golden Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Sands
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Loved this hotel! Very clean & great family staff at check-in. Ocean front rooms with indoor/outdoor pool. The Ocean Grill has the best Mahi tacos with Onsite Tiki bar on pier. Couldn't ask for a more relaxing weekend!

Room Tip: Regular rooms have a microwave & refrigerator. They do have suites with a full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TammyW5011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

I just want to say this is the most amazing place to stay. All rooms are beach front and its just a few short steps to the beach, so if you need to make a quick trip inside for a snack you can. They have a restroom in the lobby so you don't have to go all the way up to your room if the kids have to take a potty break. The staff is awesome, we arrived before check in time, they were very thoughtful gave us a key to get to the bathrooms, pool and beach, and then took our number and called us when it was ready. We were there during Arthur and it meant a lot that the owner and his son in law came to change our broken AC. They communicated a lot with guest on what to expect during that time and what the different colored life guard flags meant. Cant wait till our next stay.

Room Tip: The view each morning was breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you so much for your stay and kind words we try no matter what the circumstances is to take care of our customers asap and we always like to keep our customers informed on any safety info we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My friend & I had previously stayed for three nights over the Memorial Weekend in a deluxe room with two queen beds, sofa & a microwave in May 2014. At that time we found it very comfortable, clean with a beautiful view of the ocean. In July, we decided to go back to Carolina Beach & naturally chose Golden Sands. But, this time we reserved a room with a kichenette. This was the best decison ever!! We were on the top floor (#719) overlooking the ocean while in a great room with two queen size beds & a refrigerator, range top, pots & pans & dishes for four. As soon as we walked in the room, we could not wipe the smiles off our faces! It was perfect for us as we brought food, drinks, etc. We had reservations from July 3 to July 7, BUT we were having such a good time, we were able to extend our stay for one more night!! The staff at the front desk were so sweet & helpful. We had to move down one floor for the extra night (#617)...but that was no problem. An added bonus, the restaurant serves great food!! Highly Recommended!!

Room Tip: Ice Machines are on the 2nd, 4th & 6th in the High Rise Portion of the Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carole788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you so much for your stay and kind words.Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This establishment is fine for a quick family stop over in Carolina Beach. The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. We upgraded to a deluxe room so we had 2 queen beds separated and a sofa bed.
The view was great and we had a scenic drink at the Tiki Bar. The beach was beautiful and very accessible. The pool was too crowded and small for the size of the motel.
Overall average but fine for our quick stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dollface23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

By far the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in and I've traveled a lot! I don't think a speck of sand stays on the floor long here. I am currently here. Staying in room 419 for our last night and will definitely be back. Our room is perfect. Newly renovated, great location. I would highly recommend the 4th floor in the north building. The view is perfect. Maid service is emaculate. They sneak in and out and you never see or hear them. Very quiet hotel with a nice Tiki Bar. We've weathered Hurricaine Arthur here. Rode our bikes to numerous places. GREAT vacation. GREAT service and staff. Highly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank dldt37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We thank you so much for your stay and your kind words we try very hard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay and had a fabulous view of the ocean from our room, right on the beach and next to the dock. The tiki bar, behind the hotel, off the dock is a fun place to eat, sitting outside under their colorful umbrellas. Our room had a fresh decor and was clean. We had a kitchenette which was really handy and came with a full size refrigerator. Central to everything on Carolina Beach, we had an easy walk to the boardwalk and local restaurants.
Our cards to get in the building and room had to be replaced twice but the staff were attentive and efficient so that it was not a real issue.
Our one complaint was that the WiFi was impossible. If we got a connection at all, it would only last for a few moments at best. We are business owners and the WiFi was very important to us.

Room Tip: Get an efficiency for a small additional charge and save big by being able to eat in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NanTheVelvetBranch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We thank you very much for your stay and we are very sorry you had problems with the wifi.
We are putting in some new radios and hope you will come back to see us and it will be better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We liked our stay there. Only complaint is the WiFi would not stay connected if it connected at all. Other than that we had a great stay. Nice staff and great location. We also thought the tiki bar and the food connected to the hotel was great. Awesome food and great service

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2oothguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#3 of 19 in Carolina Beach
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#13 of 19 in Carolina Beach
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands

Address: 1211 Lake Park Blvd S, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carolina Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range: £75 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing