We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag”
Review of Golden Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Sands
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Stedman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

First the PROS: Clean, the Tiki bar was awesome and convenient, beach views are amazing!

The CONS: Loud, no weather stripping around the doors so you can hear every noise from the hotel corridor AND we were trapped in one of the elevators this past Friday! We had to use the emergency phone and call 9-1-1. I did not think that the hotel handled this properly - Not even I am so sorry. No nothing but $20 for drinks... Any other hotel would have showed some concern.

We won't be back with all the other choices Carolina Beach has.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdCarolinaBeachNc, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are truly sorry for your instanced with the elevator as in with anything we cannot prevent some things from happening and when.We do have service contracts with Ottis and they are constantly inspecting the operation of the elevators and believe me I'm very concern about anybody getting stuck in a elevator as myself am very nervous about that happening.You ask for compensation of a drink at the Tiki Bar so he gave you that in the $20.00 he gave you.We
only hope you come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    153
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
157
156
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bailey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice rooms, friendly staff, but not much peace and quiet. Seemed to be the "party place". Our 5th floor walls were shaking at 2am. Objects thrown from upper balconies. Beautiful place, just not the place for me.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cbenton27807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdCarolinaBeachNc, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are so sorry for the problems with your stay.We do not normally have any problems like that
but occasionally someone does get out of hand like any where else.It is the beach and people do come to relax and have a good time and sometimes they can go a little far.We try as hard as we can to keep a eye and ear open at all times with someone in the office 24 hours and walking the grounds all night.We really hate that one room made your decision to not come back and we understand that each and everyone's vacation time is precious and expensive but we really hope you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. They have a restaurant right there beside it. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. Location was great and the security is exceptional because you need a key card to even get into the hotel and the pools or to get access out to the beach. Made me feel very safe. I would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGoode2646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdCarolinaBeachNc, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was our first time visiting Carolina beach. We loved it! Golden Sands is a great place to stay. The ocean front rooms are awesome. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and well kept. The food and the service at the restaurant was very good. We had a kitchenette and it was a great asset. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: The north building was quiet and the view from the 7th floor was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurinda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I first came here on a school trip in 8th grade and I've stayed here ever since. Its by far the cleanest hotel. Friendly staff and just an over all great experience. Its close proximity to really everything on the island. My only complaint is being a little pricey, wifi, and the "heated" pool. It wasn't much warmer than the outside pool. Since it has been rainy and cold the heated pool sounded nice but wasnt much difference than the outside. But I will continue to stay here. It is a great atmosphere

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdCarolinaBeachNc, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We deeply appreciate your business and hope you will continue to come back.We were having some problems with the temp in the outdoor pool and have got someone out and they are ordering a piece to fix the problem so it will be heating up.Thank you for your time to comment such kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My sister and I went down to Carolina beach for two nights and three days. Saw there website and that all there rooms were ocean front with balcony. It was even better than we hoped for. Very clean, great pillow top mattresses, refrigerator, coffee maker, and did I mention each room has its own balcony. Staff was very friendly and check in and out was a breeze. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank obxgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdCarolinaBeachNc, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words and please come back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our first time staying at Golden Sands and we loved it. Clean room and building which is very important. Great room service. Tiki Bar on the pier. Great place to stay. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We always request an upper floor. The larger building/tower was VERY NICE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdCarolinaBeachNc, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are so glad you stayed with us and hope to see you back again real soon.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carolina Beach Inn
Carolina Beach Inn
#2 of 3 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands

Property: Golden Sands
Address: 1211 Lake Park Blvd S, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carolina Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing