We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst place I ever stayed!”
Review of Drydock Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Drydock Motel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst place I ever stayed!”
Reviewed 30 July 2006

I booked this motel, along with other family members for a weekend getaway. When we spoke to the owner he told us that the hotel was recently remodeled and was a nice place. It was a total dump! The room that we had (#14) only had one knob lock and no chain lock. In addition, the room was dark and musty. The bed was uncomfortable and squeaky and the comforter looked dirty. The bathroom was far worse! The tile was cracked and missing on the floor and there were big holes behind the toilet. The vanity looked like it soaked in waters from previous hurricanes and the base had a huge hole in it. The shower/tub had paint or some plumbing repair stuff hanging from it. The worse thing was that the ceiling over the tub dripped continuously on your head while you showered. We could only hope it wasn't from the above toilet!
There were some red flags that we should have noticed, like a huge NO REFUNDS signs in the lobby. When we checked out, I informed the front office about what a dump the place was. She just laughed and said, "yeah, we get that a lot." The worst thing is that this hotel, with its numerous religious messages on the marquees and everywhere in the office, pawned itself off as a family friendly religious place. In the end, they are using Jesus as a way to rip people off!! So, the Dry Dock family should remember that the Bible says, "Cleanliness is next to Godliness." Do Not stay here!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank atlas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MomandPops, owners at Drydock Motel, responded to this review, 7 September 2006
Dear Trip Advisor Readers:
I am writing in response to the review titled "worst place I ever stayed." The Dry Dock family was very saddened by this review because a tremendous amount of it was erroneous and we wish to share our views and our desire to please our customers in this rebuttal.
As a small motel owner on a "mom and pop" budget it is unfortunate that sometimes we cannot do every improvement in one season that we desire. We cover the necessities first , such as good working A/C units which are guaranteed in our rooms, and will be immediately replaced if not working properly. We also guarantee a clean room and pay our help well to achieve this. We have owned this motel for five years and every year we put as much of our profits back into the business as our budget will allow to continue to constantly improve the property. We regret that we do not have the kind of budget as "The Marriot", or "The Hilton" so that we could purchase new furniture for every room at the same time, or remodel every bathroom at the same time but along those same lines we do not have the high rates of an oceanfront motel either. We strive to provide a comfortable nice room and a great alternative for hard working families on a budget that cannot afford oceanfront rates.
This Spring 2006, we purchased 54 sets of Sealy posturepedic "Celestial Plush" bed sets. This is the kind of mattress which was and is in room 14. We have recieved so many complements on these new beds that I am considering joining the guest purchase program, but as we all know, especially those of us who try to serve, we cannot please everyone. I am sorry that this traveler did not find the bed suitable.
The furniture in this room is also new, purchased in the Spring of 2006. We think it's a very attractive bedroom suit with a large captain's wheel mirror to match the dresser and the headboard/footboard with rails bed.
We did not realize that the bed squeaked because it is new (and has since been adjusted) and we hadn't had occasion to sleep in this particular bed yet as we do stay in our rooms from time to time to get the flavor and feel of a room. We wouldn't want you to stay in a room that we wouldn't want to stay in ourselves. We would stay in this room if we were on vacation and would describe it as quaint and cozy for two. We describe many of our single rooms in this way.
We have scheduled for this Fall of 2006 for some of our bathrooms to be remodeled and room 14 is on this list. It is unfortunate that we cannot immediately do some things that we wish we could do but we live in a grown-up world where we sometimes have to wait and do things as our "Mom and Pop" budget allows us to do. In the meantime our rooms are very clean and please do not confuse "clean" with something that squeaks or is in need of repair such as the leak over the bathtub which was repaired as soon as we were aware of it. There is maintenance involved in all properties.
When someone checks into our motel, if they are not satisfied with the accommodations they will be given a full refund, however we must be notified of this within 10-15 minutes of their arrival, not three DAYS later. We do welcome comments at check-out so that we may be aware of potential maintenance required, and we do wish to know in what ways we may make our customers more comfortable but at the time of check-out we do not give refunds because we feel that our services have already been rendered and you agreed to our services by STAYING.
I thank this customer for letting us know about the "no chain" on the door which was an oversight and has been replaced.
We will continue to display the words of our Lord as long as we own this property because we are told in the Bible that as believers we are the light of the world and we will share Gods' Word in hopes that some may hear and if needed come to the saving grace of Jesus Christ.
"You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven." Matthew 5: 14-16. Any glory belongs to the Father, not to us.
We invite you to come and check out our motel for yourself and please let us know how we can better serve you!
Very Sincerely,
Ronnie and Debbie Oldham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    7
    8
    7
See reviews for
26
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
0.5 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drydock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drydock Motel

Property: Drydock Motel
Address: 300 Lake Park Blvd S, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5137
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Drydock Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Drydock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drydock Hotel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing