We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good noms, bit pricy”
Review of Deck House

Deck House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We serve some of the most delicious and fresh seafood and handcut steaks around. Come in to try one of our great wines or cocktails and if you are unsure of what to get a friend or family for a gift, our Gift Certificates will always make people happy! We do not accept reservations, however we do have a spacious full service bar for you to wait in if a table is not available right away.
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had the surf and turf- filet mignon was very tender and the lobster was about average. The waitress recommended the chocolate cake and claimed it was the best most diners had ever had. I, being an expert on anything chocolate, took that as a challenge. I will confirm it was indeed the best chocolate cake I have ever had. The meal was rather pricy, even for the area. We enjoyed the ambiance inside.

Thank SamanthaTeal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

SamanthaTeal89, Thank you for having dinner with us, and also for leaving us a review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your filet, however, I'm sorry that you didn't find the lobster tail as fantastic. Our chocolate cake we get from a local lady in Wilmington and I can indeed agree that it is the best! We do try to begin our dishes by having quality products. As for our pricing, our prices at first glance may seem a few dollars higher than our direct competitors, but you will find that we are the only restaurant in the area that actually includes a bowl of our award-winning chowder with all but three of our entrees. At our fellow restaurants on the island, the option to add a chowder or salad is available, but is not included in the meal cost and will run you on average an extra $4. Once you add that, our pricing is on point, if not a few dollars below our other neighbor restaurants that fall in the same dining category. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you'll be back soon! Victoria B., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 331 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Husband and I went here for dinner after reading reviews on trip advisor and looking at menus of other places- we arrived at 6 pm already people eating and finishing up! So going early is good! Waited 20 minutes- very comfy couches near bar area! The server SAM was so friendly and she made recommendations, she couldn't have been much nicer and seemed so happy we were there! We had salmon and tuna. They were both amazing!! not fishy tasting and not with skin on it. Some of the best fish we have had and the portions were very big!! The next time we go to carolina beach it will be our dinner spot. Spent about $25 each but we had salads and asparagus/veggies and bread too... The great thing is you can order the meat separately if you don't want the sides, etc. Can walk here easily from most places in carolina beach.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Freedom352013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Freedom352013, We thank you very much for dining with us and also stopping by here to write about your dinner. I am so glad that you enjoyed yourself and thank you for mentioning your server, Sam. She is such a valuable team member, and has been working with us for a few years now. I will make sure to pass along your compliments and reward her somehow for her good work. Feel free to ask for her again next time you dine with us! Have a wonderful summer and I do hope we will see you again! Victoria B., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Food was best we had in Carolina Beach, we ate there 2 X. Loved the old church, excellent service. Go early for no wait.

Thank tony20fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you, tony20fan, for taking a few moments to tell us about your dinner here. We appreciate your repeat business, earning that is what we work so hard for. Thank you again for dining with us, and we do hope the next time you are in Carolina Beach, that you will stop in again (and again and again!) for dinner. It's our pleasure to take care of you! Victoria B., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The only negative of this restaurant is that there is not outdoor seating for a place called "Deck House." The menu choices are creative including a shrimp and scallop stir fry which is full of delectable seafood, veggies, and a yummy ginger sauces (you won't find elsewhere) and blackened fresh fish. The crab cakes are delicious and there is something for everyone. The service was the best we have had on Pleasure Island both at the hostess station and our male server.We had tried Jack Mackerel the night before which was also good, but this was a step up in quality and presentation.

1  Thank dreamtravelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

dreamtravelreviewer Thank you so very much for your review of our restaurant and for dining with us. We do like to hear where we need improvement, but it is also nice to know when we hit a home run in all areas. I will happily pass along your compliments to our kitchen staff, our door staff and floor staff, because it takes a whole team to create an A+ experience for our guests. Thank you again, please come dine again with us and have a wonderful summer. Victoria B., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I and my 3 girls went last night. Cute kids menu corn dog nuggets for one. Chicken tenders for one. Great. I ordered the steak for $17. Got bread, fantastic chowder and a side of mashed potatoes with bacon and cheese, yum. Oldest daughter got the grilled shrimp platter $20. With salad, potato and bread. A little pricey on adults but super nice waitress, food was awesome. Steak was perfect. Not one bite of gristle or fat. We will be back.

Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Becky H, I am so thrilled to hear that you loved your steak and that your daughters love their kids meals! We hand cut all of our steaks and trim them ourselves, and we do try to make sure that what you are getting is quality. Thank you again and please come visit us again soon! Victoria B., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deck House also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Deck House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing