We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and great food”
Review of Deck House

Deck House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We serve some of the most delicious and fresh seafood and handcut steaks around. Come in to try one of our great wines or cocktails and if you are unsure of what to get a friend or family for a gift, our Gift Certificates will always make people happy! We do not accept reservations, however we do have a spacious full service bar for you to wait in if a table is not available right away.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had the crab cakes with lobster sauce last time. All I can say is YUMMY. Mike with the great side burns (kinda an Elvis look alike and just as sweet as he can be) the bartender is great. Friendly, fast and always ready with a recommendation. You might have to wait a little but it is worth it

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    137
    48
    23
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carlolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First Time Visit Was a Good One”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I have been going to Carolina Beach for the last 15 years and for some reason had never been to the Deck House. This year we wanted to change it up a little so we walked over from the hotel and were very pleased. I had the ribeye and chowder and my wife had the ribs. We both felt like our meals were outstanding and priced fairly. Also, our server was tending a table of about 20 guests, yet he was extremely attentive and took very good care of us. The Deck House is definitely on our list from here on out when visiting the beach.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DutchFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a bad thing on the menu”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Want variety for a menu..then the DeckHouse is your answer. Everything to GREAT...service is good and the drinks rock...can't go wrong.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mkhalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The best food on Carolina Beach. Beautiful atmosphere, great people. The almond grouper and prime rib are excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank beach g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
beach g, Thank you very much for you're review. It's our pleasure to take care of our guests. We do our best to get everything right for them. We do hope you will come back again and visit, we would love to have you! Thank you and enjoy the rest of your summer! Victoria B., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food was ok but way overpriced!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We ate there last summer and for 3 of us our bill was almost $150! Food is only ok but it is WAY overpriced....service was ok. Seems like it's worse now! We will definitely not go back when we visit next month.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tammyshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
tammyshaw, Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Deck House. I am very sad to hear that you felt your service was not up to our standards, I always like to know what we can improve on. We encourage you ask for a Manager if there is ever a problem or you feel you are not being well taken care of. We want you to have a great experience here, and if I can be a part of making that happen, I would love to.
As for our menu, it is exactly the same as it was last summer, and all of our dishes are on average around $23, with some as low as $17 and with one item being $39. $150 for three people gets everyone on average a $23 entree, a few beverages, maybe a bottle of wine and an appetizer. Every entree, except for three, includes a homemade chowder or salad and a side Item. Most of our competitors in this area offer you a side item, but the chowder or salad is an extra cost. All of our grouper and flounder are delivered fresh daily and our whole maine lobster comes live several times a week. According to our area and our cost of goods, our pricing is at or slightly below our competitors. Anyone may see for themselves the cost of our menu, as it can be found online at www.deckhousecasualdining.com
Thank you again for your feedback and have a great summer! Victoria B., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deck House also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Deck House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing