We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“None Better”
Review of Britt's Donut Shop

Britt's Donut Shop
Ranked #2 of 9 Dessert in Carolina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“None Better”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Better than Krispy Kreme with the hot sign on....seriously the best donut you will ever eat. And don't get them and eat them 2 hours later, eat them right away.

It's hard to do 10 different things and do them all well. Britt's does 1 thing and does it extremely well. I'm a local and highly highly reccommend Britt's....even if you have to wait in line for an hour, it's worth it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,089
    150
    68
    12
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hot and Fresh”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It is hard to beat a freshly fried doughnut. This is a tiny place right on the boardwalk. Walk up service and cash only. The lines can get long during in-season. So yum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NanTheVelvetBranch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“O-M-G”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stood in line at 10pm on a Saturday night on our first ever trip to Britt's. These donuts were off the chart. Piping hot, right out of the grease. I think we ate 7 between us before we made it back to our hotel in Wilmington. I know why this place received all of the great reviews. This is a MUST when visiting the Wilmington / Carolina Beach area.

Helpful?
Thank BigMP44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hand's down the best donuts ever!!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We are big Krispy Creme fans, however, Britt's has them beat. We just wish we could get them in the Mountains of Tennessee!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank teapots_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Keep 'em cooking”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Only one reason I couldn't go 5 stars... It wasn't packed as usual so the doughnuts came from the warmer not the grease as usual. Definitely affects the taste. Next time I'll pass till they are cooking them and serving them hot!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwelch6301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Britt's Donut Shop also viewed

 

Been to Britt's Donut Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing