We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We love the cottage cause we can buy a few groceries and make lunch and breakfast, the weather was wonderful for walking on the beach. We are older folk and just enjoy doing our own thing and the cottages give us that experience. The view out the bedroom and kitchen windows is very peaceful and there were flowers still blooming. Very friendly and competent staff , will continue to pick this B and B for our beach vacations. They shared some of their excellent coffee with us.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the inn and loved the whirlpool Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The weather wasn't what we hoped for on our trip but this B&B was worth the ride. Very nice innkeepers, very comfortable bed! Great coffee was available as soon as I left my room and breakfast was shortly after. Another comment mentioned there is no view of the ocean however on the second floor balcony there are two rocking chairs placed strategically so you CAN see the ocean. Technically speaking.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shauna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We enjoy B&Bs and were delighted to find this gem right across the street from beach access. Heather was very friendly and accommodating, and Mike's cooking was wonderful! They also have some fun, interesting life stories to share. Breakfast (complete with gourmet coffee options) was served in a sunny room with individual tables, allowing for socialization with a little privacy. The big front porch was perfect for reading and relaxing after a day in the sun. Our room (Spring Garden) was a little small, but nicely decorated and comfortable. The common area offered TV and a little more room to spread out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We went back again just for 1 night this weekend and stayed in the Travelers Room. Had a great time, had drinks on the front porch with the others guests and the owners, everyone was so nice and welcoming! The owners Mike & Heather are great & so much fun! We will definitely be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldengirl0322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I cannot speak highly enough about this place and it's owners. I loved every part of my stay. I was in town for a wedding and stayed 4 days at this little delight. I do frequent B&B whenever budget and circumstance allows me. So glad I did this time. Sure, there are cheaper places near by but none that you can call HOME.
One of the first things I noticed was my towels smelled like fabric softener. Not bleach, but that fresh out of the dryer smell. I stayed on the first floor in a pink country-side decorated room. It was spacious and warm. I spent my mornings drinking coffee on the front porch and my afternoons having some wine with my new B&B friends.
If you're a late sleeper then request a room upstairs because the morning kitchen activities might wake you up. I didn't mind because, like HOME, it was the smell of coffee and morning banter that gets you out of bed.
This place is a great place to stay. New-ish owners are a fun and personal couple that treat everyone like family. I've stayed in B&B before where I never saw the owners other than them serving me toast. Not the case here. With an open floor plan you interact with the crew and the other guest as you await the most amazing breakfast of your life. That's right, THE MOST AMAZING BREAKFAST OF YOUR LIFE. Cook & Owner Mike is a huge Food Channel fan and everyday he makes for you all those recipes you wish you had the time & energy to prepare. It's like everyday is Mother's Day or your birthday.
I could go on but here are some facts: Place was very clean. Not a touch of mildew in the joint. Good, considering the humidity of NC. I imagine a few things are outdated thru out the rooms. It is an old boarding house (1940s I think) but the new owners are slowly making their touches when they can. There is plenty of seating on the bottom & top verandas for reading and chilling.
There are small refrigerators on each floor for guest to use and coffee starts brewing at 7am. If Mike is in a baking mood then there is also some fresh morsel laid out for you to pick on thru out the day. I had Banana bread. Yum.
There is no ocean view. The beach is across the street but thanks to all the new condo/ rental units that bought up the shore line, you can't see it. A beach access path is just 30' away.
There is parking but I imagine it can get full during peak season. The boardwalk with shops is about 1mile walk down the street.
I would recommend this place to everyone I meet. Ha! As you can tell I loved my stay. I loved Mike & Heather and I am sure you will too.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank kimberlina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconHouseInnkeeper, Owner at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words Kim. It was great meeting you and very glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we do love our food around here. Cooking is one of our passions and we look forward to developing more breakfast dishes for your next visit. We enjoy socializing with all of our guests and glad we got a change to visit with you and share some wine on the front porch. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our family of three stayed at Cottage 2 at the Beacon House Inn. We stayed for a long weekend and it was wonderful! The cottage is quaint, cozy, equipped and VERY clean. We brought our dog along "Buster" and it was great having him with us. Heather and Mike (owners) are very helpful and so pleasant. Overall it was a great trip and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ingrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Beacon House for a long weekend following a business trip in Wilmington. We had a great time. The room was great, the breakfasts even better and the hospitality was over the top.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.4 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#3 of 19 in Carolina Beach
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carolina Beach Inn
Carolina Beach Inn
#1 of 3 in Carolina Beach
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 715 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-6018
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carolina Beach
Price Range: £117 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the street from the beach, this vintage 1950's boarding house has been converted into a distinctively casual bed and breakfast that specializes in warm hospitality, unique accommodations and artisan breakfasts served with gourmet coffee. The décor features tongue-in-groove original pine board walls, vintage photographs and memorabilia blended with modern amenities. The Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast also features an on-site massage therapy room and packages that range from romance to spa and yoga. Seasonal specials are also available. Traveling with your furry friend or small children? Two cozy two-bedroom vacation cottages are available for visitors with pets and/or children and are located directly behind the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon House Hotel Carolina Beach
Beacon House Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing