We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take me back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reedville, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Take me back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Beacon House during Azalea Festival. We wanted a cozy, unique place on the beach. Beacon House was just that. We slept well and enjoyed the beach and yummy breakfast. Mike and Heather were so accommodating. I just wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike T, Owner at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you Lydia. It was great meeting you and glad you found us. Please comeback soon and yes, make it a longer visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    47
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
151
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The weekend before our wedding, my husband and I just needed to get away and reconnect. BHI was a wonderful place to go, even though it was only for one night, we felt rejuvenated and relaxed. We went in late September, and loved it! Delicious breakfast. Great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hookstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a wonderful off season stay. The weather outside didn't cooperate (rainy and cold) But the warm hospitality more than made up for it. Mike and Heather were very helpful and very interesting to talk with! They had great suggestions and recommendations for local attractions. The breakfasts were delicious. The room was spotless and very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike T, Owner at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you Mary for the great review. It was nice meeting you and Mark and I'm glad you enjoyed your time on the island. I enjoyed swapping teaching stories with you and hopefully we can do it again much sooner than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Good location with great management. Mike and Heather are what B&B owners should project. Our stay was very excellent and the breakfast that was provided was just a superior experience in all aspects. The innkeepers really tried to accommodate our every need. The inn was also a "10" in cleanliness. There was no TV in our room and we did not find that we needed one. It is just across the street to the beach and it was very convenient. Ample adjacent parking was provided. Wi-Fi worked flawlessly. It is close to several good restaurants.

Room Tip: Downstairs room might be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nantahala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We really enjoyed our time in this historic boarding house - best beach trip ever! Mike and Heather were great and the food was outstanding! The breakfast atmosphere is very congenial - you can choose to sit at a community table or have a sweet table to yourself. While we chose a table apart, we noted that many guests had made new friends at breakfast. Also, the hosts provide a small guest refrigerator for each floor and we were able to keep drinks cold for the beach! We loved the location - even in August the beach near Beacon House wasn't very crowded, and it was much quieter than down the road towards the boardwalk. The decor is charming and it feels a bit like you've stepped back in time. While it's true that you don't have a direct view of the ocean, you only have to cross the little street and you're on the beach! I would recommend this place to anyone. Your cares will melt away at the Beacon House!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in a suite. The temperature was very cool upstairs, but a little too cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleMarieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Make a reservation, preferably off-season and mid-week, if you really want to get the true Beacon House Inn experience. Upon arrival, get greeted by Mike and hugged by Heather.* Find your room and smile. Go for a walk/ run on the beach. Catch a happy hour somewhere and treat yourself to some oysters. Hang out and socialize in the main room or settle in your own room. If you get the munchies later, sneak down to the kitchen and grab a cookie or two. If you’re lucky, Heather will be there and offer you a drink and a story. Sleep the best you’ve slept in a long time. Wake up when you smell the coffee (literally). Take a cup out onto the porch and enjoy the view. Return to the kitchen to enjoy your gourmet breakfast lovingly prepared by Mike. Start eating and wait for Heather to arrive with more stories. Spend the day at the beach. Rinse and repeat for as many days as necessary to feel recharged. Refills: Unlimited *Only available to repeat customers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconHouseInnkeeper, Owner at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for spending New Years with us Christina. Always good to see you. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We only stayed one night but found the Beacon House to be a very pleasant place to stay. The hosts were friendly and it felt like we were staying at a friends house. Comfortable clean rooms and close proximity to the beach. Our favorite thing was the delicious breakfast! Definitely recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: FYI, no fitness center (I accidentally selected it and can't get it to remove my rating).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.6 mi away
Carolina Beach Inn
Carolina Beach Inn
#2 of 3 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 715 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the street from the beach, this vintage 1950's boarding house has been converted into a distinctively casual bed and breakfast that specializes in warm hospitality, unique accommodations and artisan breakfasts served with gourmet coffee. The décor features tongue-in-groove original pine board walls, vintage photographs and memorabilia blended with modern amenities. The Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast also features an on-site massage therapy room and packages that range from romance to spa and yoga. Seasonal specials are also available. Traveling with your furry friend or small children? Two cozy two-bedroom vacation cottages are available for visitors with pets and/or children and are located directly behind the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon House Inn b&b
Beacon House Hotel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing