We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too Bad!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Reviewed 10 August 2009

My stepdad is pretty frugal; he booked this motel for a weekend get-away for my mom, my sister and me. I was really nervous after reading the reviews about staying here. It wasn't as bad as some people say. The rooms were ok. Not spectacular. The beds were uncomfortable. The bathroom was small but functional. The air conditioner was great. The pool was clean and really nice when we wanted a break from the beach. You can't beat the location. A couple steps to the beach and a block or so from the boardwalk. Everyone was really nice. It was pretty reasonable for the price considering the location! Over all I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2009

I don't care what anyone says, I thought Surfside was just fine. Now I didn't say it was a five star hotel, but it wasn't a roach motel either. The experience was fun, the price was low and I could see and hear the beach from the balcony. Me and my boyfriend went on Valentines Day and it was so beautiful. I would go again!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keshiasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Well our stay was not what we expected. the room smelled like mildew and it was not clean. we tried to get our money back, put they wouldn't give it back,they said no refunds!!!! So we stayed away from the room as much as possible and went fishing... also it suppose to be a family astomphere, well they were people banging on our door and window at 3 am in the morin drunk!!!! needless to say we will not stay here anymore...

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommaofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

This lodge is the worst place my family and I have ever stayed! The rooms are DISCUSTING!!!! The bathroom was very nasty. I did not let my kids walk around in the rooms without their shoes.The rooms are not worth the money. We will never stay there again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

I don't see why people are saying this is such a bad hotel. When my mother and I stayed here, the service was great. We arrived on a Tuesday morning and booked one night. I believe we had poolside room 11. We didn't have much of a view, but we were on a budget and couldn't afford the upper rooms. The pool was empty most of the time, except for two or three families. It was just a few steps to the beach, and that was good. Sure, there was no telephone but we had cell phones. The bathroom was small, but worked. There wasn't much water pressure in the showers, but it wasn't much better than what you would have gotten at another hotel. Surfside is within walking distance of the boardwalk shops and concerts. In all, i think this was a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amdog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2008

Me and my mom took my 5 year old son for one night, so we wanted somewhere cheap to stay, well we got it. We had planned on sleeping in the SUV and we wished we would have. We all only got 2 hours of sleep cause the bed was like sleeping on 2 by 4 boards and there was dust everywhere. No telephone or alarm clock. The small balcony door was held shut by a wooden stick. The pool had loud vulgar mouthed teenagers drinking and smoking something other than cigarettes. Not a place to have my son and I'm usually not very picky at all. I hate that we spent our money on this so we could have a shower and access to the beach and pool.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sethsmamabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

If you are sitting at home, contemplating a romantic, spontaneous trip to the beach, do NOT book a room here. Heck, if you are planning a quick, cheap trip with the boys, do NOT book a room. In fact, if you relate best to Pigpen of Charlie Brown lore, even YOU do NOT want to stay here. This was the most despicable motel I have ever seen (in my United States motel stays). It is overpriced for a smelly, unclean, un-inspiring "beachfront" motel. The "beachfront" view includes a parking lot and no private balcony. We actually left at 6am in the morning to get the heck out of there. In general, don't go to Carolina Beach. There are more beautiful, clean beaches. We will never return unless we are celebrating the closing of the Surfside Motel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mhayes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.1 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#3 of 19 in Carolina Beach
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#13 of 19 in Carolina Beach
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Lodge Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Lodge Oceanfront

Address: 234 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-6111 (Formerly Surfside Motor Lodge)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range: £64 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Lodge Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Surfside Lodge Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Motor Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Motel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing