We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Chapel Hill/ Carrboro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Excellent hotel. Traveled with a business group. We all had very nice rooms ( Plenty of room), very nice breakfasts, and also the front desk had snacks and drinks available. Would positivly stay here on a return trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel is new, so very clean and fresh. I prefer Hampton Inn's that are completely smoke free as this one is, so that was what sold me on it. Upon arrival GPS indicated that the hotel was on the left, but no visible sign. Maybe a city ordinance prevents an adequate sign? We passed it twice. And coming from our direction there is no place to turn in. The lobby does not face the road, so you are really unsure it is a hotel. Front desk folks were great! They did not explain well how to get to our room from the parking garage. It took a few tries to get them to explain that well. We were given a ticket to put on our dash and told to park on the 4th or 5th floor of the parking garage. NO ONE mentioned a $5.00 a day fee for this. Until we left and saw it on our bill. For that price we should be able to park on the ground level. So to explain, you go up the elevator to your room and then if you need something from your car, you come down the elevator, out the lobby exit, to the parking garage, up the elevator to your car (garage elevator was under repair several times while we were there, meaning a 5 story walk) then repeat in reverse back to your room. Location is great for walking to restaurants, ice cream and shopping. But if you have valuables you don't wish to leave in the room, since there is no safe, you must go through this process to put items in your car. I really didn't want to carry around my camera and I-pad, so we had to do this several times. A safe added to the room would be a great addition. There also is no refrigerator or microwave in the room. For a room at that price and not being able to bring leftovers back to the room, it made the trip a bit more costly. It reveals it self more as Hilton than a Hampton Inn. Upon arriving home I realized my confirmation said free parking. It took a bit of contacting a few people, but the manager, Kevin, was kind enough to refund parking. I am giving the hotel a 4 because I rate cleanliness and a true nonsmoking hotel very high on my list. But adding a safe and frig to the rooms, and negotiating a parking contract, giving guests free parking would be a huge plus considering the cost of the room.

Room Tip: Considering the walk to the car, I would choose a ground floor room at this hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Went to Chapel Hill for a football game. Found this hotel that had just opened and was close enough to the stadium. The price was a little high, but I figured since it was walking distance and had breakfast it was worth it. A few hiccups in checking in probably due to the hotel being new I excused, but when we asked them for directions to the restaurant and they sent us in the opposite directions, I got a little peeved. The air circulation in the room though was horrible. Our room went from hot to cold. When the system wasn't on the room also got super stuffy. It was as if the system was from the 80s, even though it was brand new. Hopefully they get the kinks fixed, but if not won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank littleras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Karen R,

Thank you for your most recent stay at our hotel. I appreciate you bringing the issues you had to our attention which will allow us the opportunity to correct going forward. The AC system we use in our rooms is a energy efficient system. I apologize the system didn't recognize you occupying the room so it could remain at the setting you were comfortable with. I will be certain to pass this along to my maintenance staff so we can correct the issue going forward.

Again thank you for staying with us and I do apologize for the issues you experienced. I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Rooney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hotel is new construction with parking garage. Lobby clean and well lit, well decorated. Rooms smell new, beds are new, bathrooms are modern. We had a king size bed, and the mattress had a pillow top that made it very comfortable. Staff is friendly and were aware that we are HHonors silver members, and treated us very nicely. Bathroom in the room was very clean and appeared like new with modern ammenities. Overall a very favorable stay and we will stay here again as we frequently travel to Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Karen Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We lucked into this new Hampton Inn. Everything about it was excellent, from the UNC senior management/english student who checked us in to the exceptional woman (Marie) who ran the complimentary breakfast. Our room was very comfortable, parking garage close at hand, location handy in the burgeoning Carrboro/Chapel Hill intersection area. The weight room, by the way, was expansive by motel/hotel standards. Nice customer service touches like a phone call from the front desk after we checked in and a courtesy visit from a housekeeping supervisor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

There is plenty of parking, and the front desk people are friendly and competent. There is coffee and tea available in the lobby, and often cookies and apples. This is a brand new hotel, built to be be functional - it is. We were there for a wedding and the hotwel was full. Yet the breakfast (included) was fine, and the workers there very friendly and they hustle. The rooms are large and modern with lots of amenities. We stayed for three nights and cannot think of anything that was not up to par.

Aside from being a new hotel, the workers, too, are new. They are well-trained and enthusiastic, so someone in the management is doing something right.

The hotel is a nice, fairly short, walk to UNC, restaurants, etc. All told: a great choice for Chapel Hill/Carrboro.

Room Tip: We were overlooking the pool--good choice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennsylvaniab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our experience at this hotel was excellent. From the friendly and helpful front desk personnel, to the cleanliness of the hotel; the good food and excellent people managing the breakfast- our visit was the best. The restaurant manager led us to a site that we wanted to visit. Our friend is handicapped and the staff made a special effort to make sure the wheelchair was always available,helped her get settled and packed and tended to her needs that required assistance. The members of our party were so pleased with everything that was offered. My grandchildren loved the pool , shower and warm towels. We used the health club and when we had a problem with one of the machines, a member of the maintenance staff was there quickly. They always called to make sure that our requests were met to our satisfaction. All of the guests that stayed at the hotel for our event had positive comments and are willing to come and stay there again. It is in a great location and within walking distance of two cities and their shopping area and restaurants.

Room Tip: Suites are roomy and have a refrigerator, microwave and storage area for food. Just bring your paper...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lefty117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrboro
0.7 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,351 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
657 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
478 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro

Address: 370 E Main St, Carrboro, NC 27510-1852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carrboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrboro
Price Range: £105 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing