We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This new hotel is tucked back off the main road; look for the (very) small signs. It's well worth finding. We stayed four days and enjoyed a very nice, comfortable, oversized room. The location is excellent - walking distance to very good restaurants such as The Spotted Dog (dinner) and Elmo's (breakfast).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dollywellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've been wanting to try this Hampton Inn & Suites in Carrboro since it opened about a year ago. We usually stay at the other Hampton Inn & Suites just off I-40, but this one is more convenient to both the original parts of UNC and to Carrboro and Franklin Street.

Overall, we were happy with it. It is definitely to the usual high standards of Hampton for quality, cleanliness and keeping the rooms fresh and in top shape. I'm a Hilton Honors Gold hopefully on my way back to Diamond status again this year, and we were upgraded to a junior suite, a room configuration that I like if it's just two of us.

The location is really hard to beat. The only better location for access to the older parts of UNC-CH is the Carolina Inn, and it is generally considerably more expensive. This Hampton has the advantage of being close to the restaurants and other haunts of hip Carrboro.

The hotel has soundproof doors but the connecting walls of at least some rooms are a little thin -- I could hear a next-door neighbor.

The included breakfast was average for Hampton Inn, which has a better breakfast than most of the other limited-service chains but isn't as good as, say, a Hilton Garden Inn or Embassy Suites.

My only real complaint about this Hampton Inn regards the parking. Parking here is on the fourth and fifth levels of an adjoining parking garage. First, there's no access to the hotel from the garage, so you have to unload at the main entrance, drive up the garage, then take an elevator back to the street level and walk back in the main entrance of the Hampton Inn. That can take 10 minutes or more (each level of the garage is actually two half floors, so driving up or down takes longer than you'd think), plus it is definitely not user-friendly for those with a physical disability.

Second, for this inconvenience the hotel charges $5, and the salt on the wound is that everyone else who wants to park in this garage, say to go to a nearby restaurant or shop, is NOT charged. The first three floors are FREE parking, according to a sign in the garage. Of course you don't know that when you check in and are asked if you have a car.

With room charge, parking and state and local tax, we paid $157, and this was for a weekday summer rate with no activities going on at the university. I would think the rate would be much higher on, say, a football weekend.

All in all, a very good Hampton Inn & Suites, though not without its small imperfections.

A plus is that Gourmet Kingdom, one of my favorite Chinese restaurants in North Carolina, and one that serves authentic Szchuan-style food, is right across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LanSluderBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were in NC for a wedding and they reserved rooms at this hotel and it was Great! The kids LOVED the pool and everyone was very friendly! The breakfast was also excellent with waffle makers, meat, eggs, fruit and much more. A great experience for our whole family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Trudy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Everything was fine here. Room was in good shape. Hotel staff were generally helpful, friendly & nice. Tough to initially find hotel, as it's new and signage isn't great. All in all, was good. Did not use pool or free breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nice room, but small location. I was expecting something better from Hampton Inn. Breakfast was good. Room was very clean, but on the small side. I liked it because it was close to the campus we were visiting, but I would try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Rachel P,

I am sorry that your stay at out hotel did not meet your expectations. Our room sizes are comprable to most hotels in the area and we even have the added option of upgrading to Studio Suites for only $20 more. Our Studio Suites offer a open floor plan with wetbar, microwave and refrigerator as well as a sofabed. Please let me know the next time you find yourself visiting this area and I will be happy to offer you a complimentary upgrade.

I hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Rooney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The room and complimentary breakfast were great!, The hallway smell was vile, almost like vomit. To make your room warmer, the smell was sucked in making it unbearable. Unfortunately I don't think I could recommend and it'a a shame since it seemed like a brand new hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Michael R,

Thank you for your most recent stay and comments. I am happy to hear that your room and our breakfast met your expectations, but wanted to apologize about the hallway smell. Our AC unit that controls the hallway and elevator went down for a few days and we had to wait on the part to get the unit back up and running. It has since been rectified and the hallways are back to normal.

Again thank you for your comments and for your stay and I hope you will give us another chance at the Hampton Inn & Suites Carrboro/Chapel Hill.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Rooney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is my new happy place. I came for a couple of days of yoga at Carr Mill, and will absolutely stay again. Staff and facilities are darn near perfect, and a short walk to market, restaurants, and Carrboro Yoga Co.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrboro
0.7 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,352 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
657 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
478 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro

Address: 370 E Main St, Carrboro, NC 27510-1852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carrboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrboro
Price Range: £105 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing