We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite hotel when visiting Chapel Hill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having lived in Chapel Hill 10+ years ago, I was initially nonplussed about staying in this area and this particular hotel chain. The area has been well developed and this hotel exceeded all of my expectations. The staff were incredibly welcoming and always happy to provide answers to questions or help with a little something extra we needed. The room accommodations were stylish and featured beautiful local photography. The bed had quality, comfortable linens and the bathroom was especially nice with spaces to store toiletries and other items. The workout facility was clean and well stocked with water bottles. The extra benefit was the outdoor pool with cabana furniture and a fire pit for colder nights. Nearby the hotel are several bars and restaurants, including our family favorite, Elmo's. We will absolutely stay here again and happily recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorkingMomontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

I had a wonderful experience at this hotel. It was clean, modern, comfortable and really first-rate. The bed was heavenly, the internet was free, the rooms were clean, quiet and well appointed. The whole place still feels brand new. The staff was very friendly and helpful and it was a total pleasure to spend 4 days there. Normally I'd expect this kind of experience only at a higher end hotel. Great value! I wish I could do more to convince people to stay here. It was awesome!!

Room Tip: Everything was quiet. Only area that might lead to noise issues are lower floors with windows near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truerjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The bed and linens are the most comfortable I've ever experienced at a hotel. I made my husband a believer on our recent trip to UNC. The breakfast in the am was well stocked and coffee was replenished often. Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Close to the center of Chapel Hill, easy stroll to Franklin Street restaurants and bars. Friendly staff. Decent free breakfast. Quick access onto freeways. $5 for parking. Free internet, but extra charge if you want hi-speed (eg for Netflix).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This new hotel is tucked back off the main road; look for the (very) small signs. It's well worth finding. We stayed four days and enjoyed a very nice, comfortable, oversized room. The location is excellent - walking distance to very good restaurants such as The Spotted Dog (dinner) and Elmo's (breakfast).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dollywellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've been wanting to try this Hampton Inn & Suites in Carrboro since it opened about a year ago. We usually stay at the other Hampton Inn & Suites just off I-40, but this one is more convenient to both the original parts of UNC and to Carrboro and Franklin Street.

Overall, we were happy with it. It is definitely to the usual high standards of Hampton for quality, cleanliness and keeping the rooms fresh and in top shape. I'm a Hilton Honors Gold hopefully on my way back to Diamond status again this year, and we were upgraded to a junior suite, a room configuration that I like if it's just two of us.

The location is really hard to beat. The only better location for access to the older parts of UNC-CH is the Carolina Inn, and it is generally considerably more expensive. This Hampton has the advantage of being close to the restaurants and other haunts of hip Carrboro.

The hotel has soundproof doors but the connecting walls of at least some rooms are a little thin -- I could hear a next-door neighbor.

The included breakfast was average for Hampton Inn, which has a better breakfast than most of the other limited-service chains but isn't as good as, say, a Hilton Garden Inn or Embassy Suites.

My only real complaint about this Hampton Inn regards the parking. Parking here is on the fourth and fifth levels of an adjoining parking garage. First, there's no access to the hotel from the garage, so you have to unload at the main entrance, drive up the garage, then take an elevator back to the street level and walk back in the main entrance of the Hampton Inn. That can take 10 minutes or more (each level of the garage is actually two half floors, so driving up or down takes longer than you'd think), plus it is definitely not user-friendly for those with a physical disability.

Second, for this inconvenience the hotel charges $5, and the salt on the wound is that everyone else who wants to park in this garage, say to go to a nearby restaurant or shop, is NOT charged. The first three floors are FREE parking, according to a sign in the garage. Of course you don't know that when you check in and are asked if you have a car.

With room charge, parking and state and local tax, we paid $157, and this was for a weekday summer rate with no activities going on at the university. I would think the rate would be much higher on, say, a football weekend.

All in all, a very good Hampton Inn & Suites, though not without its small imperfections.

A plus is that Gourmet Kingdom, one of my favorite Chinese restaurants in North Carolina, and one that serves authentic Szchuan-style food, is right across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LanSluderBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were in NC for a wedding and they reserved rooms at this hotel and it was Great! The kids LOVED the pool and everyone was very friendly! The breakfast was also excellent with waffle makers, meat, eggs, fruit and much more. A great experience for our whole family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Trudy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrboro
0.7 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,375 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
662 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
3.5 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
488 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro

Address: 370 E Main St, Carrboro, NC 27510-1852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carrboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrboro
Price Range: £108 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing