We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop the train”
Review of Southern Rail

Southern Rail
Ranked #48 of 76 Restaurants in Carrboro
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stop the train”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Do not go.
For weeks I had wanted to try out this intriguing restaurant built from two railway train cars. Today I had the opportunity to try it out with my daughter and husband. I had the fried chicken BLT, my daughter had the caesar salad, my husband had the benson burger. No one left happy. The fried chicken was tasteless. The caesar salad was drenched in salad dressing. The benson burger, well, my husband never turns down a good burger and half of his entree remained on the plate when we left. Was it the brunch menu? Is there lunch menu better? Maybe. All I know is that the service was spotty and we left very unhappy. Do not go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anchala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    25
    14
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A nice lunch”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stopped in for lunch before heading the airport. Cool looking place with the train cars.
Food and serve was good, not great. Asked our server some questions about the area and just got "I'm new here" and didnt try to find answers for us.

Seems like it would be a cool place for an evening cocktail as the outdoor dining area in front looked pretty cool.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tasports02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere with good food”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I really enjoyed my experience at the Southern Rail. We brought my family here to thank them for helping us move into our apartment and lathough we each got a sandwich, all six of us were very pleased with our food. The sandwiches are fantastic (especially the fried chicken sandwich) and fries were delicious. The atmosphere is nice and the building is really very cool. Parking was a bit of an issue but there are public parking lots throughout Carrboro that are free and easy to park in. I would definitley recommend the Southern Rail for a fairly inexpensive sit-down meal in Carrboro!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OurDogLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cool place for simple food”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Ate at this combination of converted rail car and outside porch while visiting Carrboro, a very cool progressive town. Had the Steak Frites special--fries were nice and crisp, hanger steak juicy. Great selections of beer. Very accommodating service since we ate with two rambunctious kids. Would come back in a heartbeat. Simple food prepared well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jslaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cool setup”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Good food and great drinks each time we have come for dinner. Service is a tad slow, but very friendly and it's nothing that would keep us from coming back again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MillerTime5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Rail also viewed

 

Been to Southern Rail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing