We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean, Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Although not necessarily easy to find ( no fault of the hotel; the city of Cary will not allow them up even a small sign with an arrow to point the way to the hotel), Hawthorne suites is the gym of a residence Hotel located in Cary, a suburb of Raleigh. I was in town for a weekend event at the state fairgrounds, about a 10 minute drive from the hotel, so it was quite convenient.

I had a studio suite that I booked through Priceline, and it was extremely comfortable and perfect for my stay. Has a require handicap room, the manager was more than happy to oblige when I gave her a call prior to my arrival. The hotel is very clean, it serves a full breakfast including bacon, sausage and eggs, waffles, an assortment of cereals and really good coffee.

As with most residence hotels, it does not offer individual cleaning room cleaning services every night, but towels were plentiful, amenities were very nice, and I figured I could make my own bed… No big deal.

Each room has a microwave, full-size refrigerator, a dual burner cooktop, some pots and pans, dishes and silverware. The bed was very comfortable, and i there was a flat screen TV in the room.

They permit pets, but have a small pet charge, which was not unduly unreasonable. Old Flo not for from the road, it is a pretty quiet neighborhood. However, you may prefer to ask for a room on the slide away from the road if you need something super quiet. All in all, very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Suziewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent trip to Raleigh NC. We realize that you stayed with us over a weekend and you were not able to experience our wonderful housekeeping services that take place during the week. Hopefully your next stay will be during the week and you will be able to relax and take advantage of our light touch housekeeping service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very nice hotel; it is a bit tricky to find. It is just off Rte.40 about 1/4 mile & down a little hill. Clean rooms that are furnished with a full size refrigerator, microwave, sink & dishes. Jennifer & Barbara at the front desk were welcoming & even supplied this weary traveler with a cup of coffee!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Hawthorn Suites. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon and providing you with another great cup of coffee!! Thanks, Jen and Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have stayed in Raleigh several times and for the price and especially the decor and cleanliness I would have to say this is my favorite. I really liked the room and having a full size fridge. I ordered carry out from the Vietnamese place up the street (great food) several times and found myself in need of a fork so the kitchen came in handy. Nice property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for choosing us at the Hawthorn Suites. We are pleased that you were able to find a restaurant that you enjoy and is located so close to the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed at the Hawthorn Suites in Cary, NC which is close to Raleigh, NC.

The location is the best part of this Hawthorn. It is off the main road, which is Buck Jones Rd., by about 1/2 block and a good 1/4 mile from the highway. Like most things in this area its in the middle of the trees and very quite. It is within walking distance to one very good restaurant, several other very decent restaurants, roller skating, and ice skating.

As for the hotel, like I mentioned it is quite. Other than that the hotel is what you would expect from a Hawthorn - clean and everything works but not fancy by any means. The rooms are suites which means they have a small kitchen with a refrigerator and microwave. I found the chairs in the room to be very uncomfortable but the bed was fine.

The have a onsite small fitness room and laundry room. The vending machines are cheaper than going to the convenience store but only takes $1 and change or a credit card but not a debit card.

Breakfast was the usual over cooked eggs, breakfast meat, assorted pastry and cereal. I say over cooked eggs but all hotels where they have a breakfast included seem to be the same. Overall it was a good selection, the coffee was pretty good, food kept fresh as they can, and the area was kept clean.

The staff at the desk were sometimes hard to find but when you did they were really friendly. The staff everywhere else were as well.

Bottom-line good hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: A little hard to find since its off the street, watch for the small sign that points to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to the Raleigh area. We are glad to hear that you had the opportunity to join us for breakfast and start your day off right. We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank DavisFamilyBayboro
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jennifer P, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Easy to get food/drink delivery. Good quality nearby. Simple to/from airport - even for my first time in Raleigh. Ample parking. In room desk and free WiFi makes it easy to work in your room. You have to talk to the friendly staff. Have to!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsToArgue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us John and also thank you for the awesome review!! We enjoyed talking to you as well and can’t wait for your next visit to the Raleigh area. Hope to see you soon!! Jen and Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Wyndham traveler
Winchester, Virginia
2
Reviewed 11 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jennifer P, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cary hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cary Inn - NC State
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Raleigh Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Raleigh - Cary
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Regency Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh

Address: 1020 Buck Jones Rd, Cary, NC 27606-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cary
#6 Business Hotel in Cary
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#11 Family Hotel in Cary
Price Range: £63 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voice mail, free local calls, free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Hungry? Enjoy the convenience of local fine dining restaurants in the area. Work off some stress in our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site coin operated laundry facility. We're a pet friendly hotel(fees apply). Conveniently located with easy access to I-40 at exit 293A. Close to downtown Raleigh and Cary, North Carolina. Also near PNC Center, NC State University, Crossroads Plaza, North Carolina State Fairgrounds, and NC State University: College of Veterinary Medicine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Raleigh Cary Hotel Raleigh
Candlewood Raleigh
Raleigh Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing