We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best ingredients make the best tacos.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taqueria del Sol - CLOSED

Taqueria del Sol
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
221 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“The best ingredients make the best tacos.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Taqueria del Sol is our newest find. Bright and sunny. You walk in and order from an interesting menu with daily specials. If you order chips and salsa or chips and chunky quacomole, they're there as soon as you get to your table. Tacos are two bucks and change. Enchilladas are a little more. Two of us eat there, not including drinks for less than $12. Brisket tacos are filled with lots of shredded beef and topped with fresh pico de gallo. Special this week was what they called a cheesesteak taco with tender steak, sauteed onions, jalapenos and a cheese sauce with a little heat. Last week it was fried shrimp. Everything we've tasted has been exceptional with two exceptions - rice was a little overdone and gluey, not the way we like it. And the fish tacos had wonderful fresh fried fish but there wasn't much else, not much cabbage or tarter sauce or anything. Most taco fillings are also available as enchilladas and they serve beer and wine at reasonable prices. There's also outdoor seating in nice weather.

When we told them we wished they were closer to where we live in Chapel Hill, they said they are opening another Taqueria del Sol in Durham on 9th Street soon. We'll be at one or the other regularly. We love this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yahooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Awesome simple tacos. I waited for 30 minutes for them in Atlanta, but this location hasn't been very busy the times I have been there. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Taco's!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

This place has amazing taco's. I love taco's, not the fast food kind with all the crap piled in them. Taco's like they are supposed to be, minimal. Taqueria makes some delicious combinations of taco's and I haven't had a bad one. Also their pork green chili is Amazing!!! I could eat at this place every day!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brandy1co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Quick and Tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

My wife and I wanted a quick bit to eat before seeing a movie and decided to check TdS despite only one review, which was positive. The restaurant is very bright and spacious, with mostly 4-person tables that can be pushed together for larger groups. There is also a bar for drinks as well as a small order counter. After our order we waited no more than 5 minutes for our 4 tacos to arrive via friendly server! We both had a Carnita, while I also tried the Memphis and my wife had the Chicken Verde. The Carnita was typical tender pork with a mild flavor. The Memphis Taco, because it is BBQ based (not NC BBQ), was a bit savory and sweet, but good. Our actual favorite was the Chicken Verde Taco, which was a special, because of the unique flavor of the green chile sauce. Overall, great tastes! The tacos are soft, so no problems for dental issues ;) ! The menu also had enchiladas and sides, but we were in a bit of a hurry. The price for all four tacos with 2 iced teas was about $14, which we thought was quite reasonable for quickly delivered, fresh made food. We'll be here again soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank winemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and service keeps you coming back for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Have eaten at Taqueria five or six times in the last two months. The new specials are always great and the price is very reasonable. Beef brisket enchiladas, shrimp and corn chowder, fried chicken tacos, cheeseburger tacos, shrimp tacos, shrimp and grits, BLT tacos, etc. Great American twist on Mexican food has made this restaurant my favorite in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing