We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely going back, so good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taqueria del Sol - CLOSED

Taqueria del Sol
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely going back, so good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

This place is awesome! Inexpensive, quick AND delicious if you're craving Mexican food. Like other reviewers stated, the atmosphere is very casual since you order at a counter and it really does kind of look like a school cafeteria... Nothing wrong with that, though, as the food is incredible! I got shrimp fajitas the last time I was there and it was one of those, this-is-so-good-I-don't-want-to-stop-eating-to-talk-to-you, moments. I'm definitely going back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinCamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not appropriate for a nice dinner or date”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I read all of the excellent reviews for this restaurant and decided to give it a try when my dad was in town and going to take my husband and I out to dinner. When we walked in, the vibe was instantly "school cafeteria-esque". I am sure their food is probably very good but just know for business, dates, or nice dinners that this is NOT the atmosphere you are looking for. I wish the reviews before me had said this. We walked in and walked right out. It is like a much less decorated Tijuana Flats or Moe's. I had the picture in my mind based on the descriptions and reviews that it would be a classy new age mexican joint.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenh147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Would love to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Very casual, you order at counter and get your margaritas right then!
Good variety, everything was tasty. Good place for quick and inexpensive food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“an inexpensive gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I like mexican and this was very good. The restaurant was a bit echoy but of course this is fast food we ate outside and the day was warm. The menu was limited but very good. I had the brisket enchilada and my wife had the roast chicken both were a generous portion and delicious. We both had the corn chowder which was a meal in it self. She also had a side salad which she said was large and good recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidZ267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great quick service tex mex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Our first visit was a great one with a free sample of a soup/sauce I asked about. It was awesome by the way (the pork green chili sauce/soup tastes sooo good)! They do serve alcohol (beer, wine, mixed drinks), and that is very hard to find in a quick service restaurant as well, if you are in a drinking mood. The tacos, enchiladas, soups, and pretty much everything is ala carte, which is great to make a meal your own. The Memphis taco (BBQ with western sauce and coleslaw) was a little different but I would liken it to a BBQ sandwich in a soft tortilla- very good! The chicken enchilada with pork green chili sauce was the best thing I had- very tasty!!

The ONLY negative was the fish taco, which has fried fish but NO sauce at all- my wife had to add some of my pork green chili sauce but that made it very good.

The kids weren't with us, but they do have a kids menu that should work for most kids as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bcook350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing