We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in South East”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I have to travel regularly to Raleigh on business. The Umstead takes a boring trip and turns it into a real treat. The hotel is just perfect. The grounds are stunning and well worth making time to walk round. The bedrooms are beautiful, spacious, great condition and fully serviced. The Spa is expensive but excellent. The hotels public rooms are truly stunning. Its expensive but then perfect luxury usually is.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

I am fortunate to be a repeat guest of the Umstead and I have to say this visit is even better than the last time I was here. The room was spotless. The spa-like bathroom had the huge soaker tub that I remembered from my last visit. Toiletries from their spa still smell delicious. I slept well and I never sleep well the first night of a business trip.

The staff is gracious and extremely helpful -- for example, I used the print from your room feature and called down to see where to pick up the print outs. The front desk clerk suggested that he have the printouts brought to me instead. Within minutes there was a knock at my door and a bellman had the printouts in hand.

Dinner in the Heron restaurant was excellent. Everything was well prepared and it was well timed. We did not feel rushed at all. Our group was able to stay and chat for as long as we wanted (we sat on the patio since the weather was nice). Our waiter was very professional and helped several in our party with suggestions.

All in all, a very relaxing time considering we were here for work. Would love to come back for a weekend to enjoy the spa, the beautiful pool, another great meal, and some relaxation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jooles_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel for Mother's Day and it was outstanding. My wife took in a pedicure at the spa was pampered while I relaxed in the suite waiting for her return. The next morning we had brunch and was treated to a culinary delight! We have stayed here previously and will do so again at the 1st class resort!

Bill & Sheila N., Raleigh,NC

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Umstead Hotel & Spa offers service and amenities that are top notch. From the valet parking and front door attendants, to the registration and knowledgeable, helpful concierge staff, to housekeeping and grounds crews, to lounge and spa and gift shop staff...everyone treats you like you are royalty. Going to any floor from the ground floor in the elevator requires your room key. The rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed, quiet (except for highway traffic noise), and private. The desk we are using accommodates two people, three computers, and paperwork comfortably. Daily newspapers, comfy chairs, a flat screen TV, a decent sounding clock radio with iPod dock and MP3 connector, and an in-rom Keurig coffee maker are all nice amenities. Our room has a balcony with two chairs and a small table, and overlooks the back grounds, herb garden, pool, outdoor lounge tables and fireplace, and the natural pond with a fountain and .26-mile paved walking trail that has gardens and turtle habitats and outdoor art and seating areas along the way. High-speed Internet (wired and wireless) is available in rooms and throughout the hotel, and only requires logging in with your name and room number (and company, if here on business). Many styles of artwork are present throughout the facility, and something is sure to catch your eye. The hotel offers business meeting spaces, wedding facilities, and much more. Be sure to check out www.theumstead.com to learn more. You won't be disappointed! In addition, there are many cultural activities, shopping, and dining opportunities within a short distance of the hotel. Raleigh is a short drive away, and there you will find much to do and see. A quarter mile from the hotel is the William B. Umstead State Park, where you can walk, run, hike, bike, and picnic. The hotel provides bicycles and helmets for riding in the park or wherever you want. This is another place where all we can say is, "We'll be back!" If you go to The Umstead, we hope you enjoy your stay as much as we are enjoying our week here.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony overlooking the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilderTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We Stayed at the hotel on a Thursday night. Had work done at the house and needed to be out of the house for one night. I found a resonable rate on orbitz for this hotel considering their average rate. The hotel is elegant, luxury feel but yet simple. It was like a spa.. Very relaxing. Staff were as expected. Very professional and helpful. The room was great size, very clean and the shower is awsome. There are tons of restaurent very close by. If money is not an object and you are looking for a quiet stay, i recommend this hotel. Excellent location. Close to the highway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sousoucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Skip dinner in the bar area ...we waited more than 20 minutes and it wasn't crowded.
Spacious rooms. Patio overlooking pool was scenic, although we heard sound from interstate.
Very courteous staff. Loved the original art throughout building. Extremely comfortable bedding.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerGreensboroNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Attended a 5 star wedding at this hotel! Took a
Taxi to our hotel and was able to check out lobby and art . 2 resident artists. Piano in lounge area. Beautiful and excellent staff. Concierge arranged taxi! Really worth the beauty of this grand hotel and spa! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0311ItsaBeautifulDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cary
3.2 mi away
The Mayton Inn
The Mayton Inn
#7 of 22 in Cary
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle
6.8 mi away
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
7.1 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Umstead Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Address: 100 Woodland Pond Dr, Cary, NC 27513-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cary
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#1 Family Hotel in Cary
Price Range: £254 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Umstead Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled lakeside on 12 acres of beautiful grounds in Cary, N.C., The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a calming retreat and luxury destination. The Umstead features 150 oversized guest rooms, elegant furnishings and signature amenities. The Umstead welcomes and inspires guests to find comfort, tranquility and indulgence in the meticulously landscaped property, as well as the plush Umstead Spa and contemporary American cuisine of Executive Chef Steven Greene at its signature Forbes Five Star restaurant, Herons. Independently owned and operated, The Umstead Hotel and Spa is North Carolina's first full-service hotel to receive the coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and is a Forbes Five Star rated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Umstead Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Umstead Hotel Cary
Umstead Hotel Cary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing