We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in the US..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
134 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in the US..”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I've stayed here overnight a couple of times before, but haven't had much time to really experience the hotel. Just came back from a two-night stay, and I have to say I think this is one of the top hotels in the US, comparable to and perhaps exceeding the best Four Seasons. Staff are friendly while unobtrusive, the food is great, rooms are huge and well-equipped, and the spa and fitness center are top-notch. I think the hotel and grounds are beautiful, and the whole experience just hangs together. While the Umstead has mostly a local/regional reputation because of its connection to SAS, its really one of the best places I've stayed anywhere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear you were able to return to spend a longer stay with us! Your review is generous and truly appreciated by the entire team. We value you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    90
    30
    22
    11
See reviews for
99
294
38
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I travel often to the Raleigh Durham area have stayed at meny different hotels but have never found one that I would call excellent until this week.
The Umstead passed all expectations for value, service and overall experience. The Ritz could take a few lessons from the management team at the Umstead.
The normal room that I stayed in was 1st class with a very good bed, excellent lighting and nice batroom. The drapes actually kept all the light out which was a first in a hotel room.
My only recommendation for the room was that the air vent blew onto the desk where I was working.
The food and bar were excellent with good food and reasonable prices. I did not feel violated when presented with the check. definately something the Ritz could learn from.
If you stay at the Umstead, there is no need to leave to eat elsewhere. This is also a first for me when staying at a hotel for business.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the thoughtfulness of your recent review. We are grateful to have you as our guest and are honored that you had such a positive experience with our property and our wonderful associates. We look forward to welcoming you back.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The environment and setting is gorgeous. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, I felt like a VIP. They were able to rectify any problem without question. I would also suggest checking out the Company Mill Trail. You can walk there from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you were able to enjoy Umstead State Park during your visit - a huge asset to our guests! We look forward to providing you with VIP service upon your return!

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were looking for,something a class nicer than a normal business hotel and found the umstead searching on line. This is a ferric hotel, every bit as nice and well run as a ritz carleton, for much less money. The people could not have been nicer. Be sure to ask,about the aaa discount.

Room Tip: Upgraded one level. Room was great.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Uncle1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am delighted you found us and we appreciate your business.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The Umstead is the best Hotel in North Carolina! It is relaxing, luxurious, elegant, and the stunning winner in all categories. The rooms are elegant, extremely spacious, and offer the peace and tranquillity of a fine home. Artwork floods every area. They even offer a guide to the Art. Heron's is a gourmet mecca with its own 'garden' for the freshest vegetables. In season,, the infinity pool offers a most relaxing space. This relatively small hotel has it all. Set in a wooded area, there is a special leisurely walk/path around the private lake. Serene and gorgeous! After many visits, we still are blown away by the quality, and beauty that is everywhere at this hotel. Five stars is not enough!

Room Tip: Lake-view King. Studio King is immense. The menu in the Bar has the same quality food as Heron's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your glowing review and thank you for your time spent. It sounds like you had the opportunity to appreciate much of what The Umstead offers and I'm delighted to hear how pleased you were with your experience. We hope your travels bring you back to The Umstead soon!

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a hidden gem in Cary, North Carolina. This hotel has beautiful rooms with state-of-the-art technology. The lights, climate, etc were all controlled by a tablet in the room. The turndown service was like an old school high end hotel. I stayed here for a work event but I would definitely come back personally. Jessica, a concierge, was incredibly helpful with printing directions to several locations for me. She also recommended restaurants and what to order. She was lovely!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracitravel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recent review of your stay with us. I am glad you appreciated our EVOLVE energy managment system in our guest rooms as well as the personalized touches by our staff. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I knew this was a 5 star hotel the moment I made my reservation. When I got there the setting was explicit. Like a getaway tucked away in the city. The amenities, the courtesy, the friendliness set the Umstead apart from any luxury hotel I ever stayed at. The other guests I spoke with were return customers and recommended so many things to me. There is a shopping plaza less than half a mile away, close to the airport yet you would never realize that at the hotel and spa. Room was fantastic! Control EVERYTHING in your room with a touchpad. Business center is complete. In room dining was awesome and just as great as the fine restaurants downstairs. Truly a great value and an experience I will never forget.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LarryMP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Your review is truly appreciated. You really understand The Umstead and its benefits and I'm delighted your experience was so positive. I am glad you were able to experience so much of the property during your stay. Thank you for being our guest.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cary
3.2 mi away
The Mayton Inn
The Mayton Inn
#6 of 22 in Cary
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Umstead Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Property: The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Address: 100 Woodland Pond Dr, Cary, NC 27513-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#1 Business Hotel in Cary
#1 Family Hotel in Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Umstead Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled lakeside on 12 acres of beautiful grounds in Cary, N.C., The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a calming retreat and luxury destination. The Umstead features 150 oversized guest rooms, elegant furnishings and signature amenities. The Umstead welcomes and inspires guests to find comfort, tranquility and indulgence in the meticulously landscaped property, as well as the plush Umstead Spa and contemporary American cuisine of Executive Chef Steven Greene at its signature Forbes Five Star restaurant, Herons. Independently owned and operated, The Umstead Hotel and Spa is North Carolina's first full-service hotel to receive the coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and is a Forbes Five Star rated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Umstead Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Umstead Hotel Cary
Umstead Hotel Cary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing