We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is a really nice hotel. Definitely the best in central NC, but is not what I expected.
Here is what we found:
Facilities: Top Notch. Rooms are great and lobby area is over the top.
Food: Very good
Service/Staff: Good, but not great. One of my kids commented that the staff was "snooty" and I laughed and agreed. Is it asking too much to have friendly people in positions dealing with guests?
Location: Great

In summary, we had high hopes for this property. Being the only "5 star" hotel in North Carolina, the bar was set pretty high. Does it deserve 5 stars? Not based on our visit, but it is still a very nice hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cashclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to learn of your positive experience with our facilities, food and beverage and décor. I regret that your interactions did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on having warm and gracious hospitality. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you a warm welcome on a return visit.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    90
    31
    22
    11
See reviews for
99
298
38
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We frequent the Umstead either as part of a special dinner or a nice snack in the bar. The location is beautiful, the rooms and hotel service are 5 star. Unfortunately the bar/dining room menu needs an update and the restaurant and bar service a brush up in coordinating their service.

The bar menu has changed minimally in the 4+ years we've frequented the Umstead. I understand the benefit of not changing signature dishes but truffled shrimp on croissants- not so much. We ended up going lowbudget at Burger Fi across the street. Breakfast was okay and service was disorganized but always friendly. One wait staff introduced herself as our primary person who would take care of us and I'm not sure we ever saw her again-we were asked a few times by different people what we wanted to drink.

Also what were they thinking when they suggest that their guests use the Embassy Suites indoor pool? That's like staying at the Ritz and being sent to the Golden Corral for the breakfast buffet.

Absolutely gorgeous hotel but please bring Ann Goodnight back to completely rethink the menus (consider more healthy choices) and retool the waitstaff procedures. ( This was a problem this summer as well).
(One more thing- its time to retire the bath amenities in the rooms)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times now over the past 5 years. It is the best of the best (really nothing else like it) for the Triangle area. For a relaxing time away, this is the place to go. The food, drinks and service are always at excellent. For a unique food experience, have dinner at Herons. The three course menu option gives you just the right amount of flavor and food. Don't worry about the price it's worth the experience. The wine pairing is nice as well.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ask2000ncsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your compliments of the property, food, beverage and service. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Spur of the moment relaxation trip. Was only going to stay one night, but liked it so much, stayed a second night. ABSOLUTELY loved the room - had a Lake View Balcony Room. Beds super comfortable, and I'm already researching installing a lighting system like theirs at my home - had SO much fun turning the lights on and off! Housekeeping, I'm not really sure about. There were 3 of us, and getting additional toiletries was not easy. Wine glasses in the room were used the first night, but not replaced for the second night. Toiletries not refilled.

A little more information from reception would have been helpful. Didn't understand that parts of the spa are available without treatment - glad we discovered this early enough to take advantage! I agree with other reviews, the pretentiousness of some of the staff is WAY above what I find acceptable. The spa reception - "those facilities are only available to hotel guests"... didn't ask first if we were guests. The bar - asked for a pen, to charge to my room - "oh, you are hotel guests?"... this happened both nights, different waitresses.

I am in and out of the hotel a lot, felt a little silly having ALL 4 doors being opened for me. Dining options are too limited for us, and the menu not to our liking, but obviously that's a personal thing. For the area this hotel is in, I think it's a bit overpriced, but if the situation is right, we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleskatersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have stayed at the Umstead a few times not and I would have to say its one of my favorite hotels I have ever stayed in. The service is amazing, the rooms are well decorated and comfortable. We brought our 2 young kids last time and they were not frowned upon which really bothers me about some nice places. Its like rich people don't have and don't like kids?? The Umstead was nothing like that. Ours kids were brought crayons and special treats and everyone was so freindly to them. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest! We are glad you and your children felt at home with us. That is our goal each and every time and it brings me great pleasure to know we achieved that with your family. We look forward to your return!

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Heron's restaurant is good if you like inflated menu prices for quail.
Too I was having dinner at the bar and there were two staff members-just talking because there weren't any patrons.
And the hotel staff that are there act obsequiously and with an affected air.

But on the positive side, the beds were excellent and the room was spot on.
And the Umstead is only 9 minutes from RDU.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobes303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad you enjoyed an excellent overnight stay and found our location to be convenient for you. I regret that you were less than satisfied with your food and beverage experiences. Please accept my sincerest apologies and know that we'd welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

I read good things about this hotel prior to coming and must say it exceeded my expectations. This hotel is on par with Four Seasons it is that good. Not a detail missed, service was excellent and the touch screen remote that controls all of the lighting etc was great. Will definitely stay here again when in Raleigh next, no brainer.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Your glowing review is humbling. Thank you for your feedback of our property and for being our guest. I am glad you enjoyed our EVOLVE system and that you would plan to return should your travels bring you to Raleigh again.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cary
3.2 mi away
The Mayton Inn
The Mayton Inn
#6 of 22 in Cary
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,320 reviews
15.3 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
7.1 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Umstead Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Property: The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Address: 100 Woodland Pond Dr, Cary, NC 27513-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cary
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#1 Family Hotel in Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Umstead Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled lakeside on 12 acres of beautiful grounds in Cary, N.C., The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a calming retreat and luxury destination. The Umstead features 150 oversized guest rooms, elegant furnishings and signature amenities. The Umstead welcomes and inspires guests to find comfort, tranquility and indulgence in the meticulously landscaped property, as well as the plush Umstead Spa and contemporary American cuisine of Executive Chef Steven Greene at its signature Forbes Five Star restaurant, Herons. Independently owned and operated, The Umstead Hotel and Spa is North Carolina's first full-service hotel to receive the coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and is a Forbes Five Star rated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Umstead Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Umstead Hotel Cary
Umstead Hotel Cary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing