We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Wife and I spent the weekend at The Instead and enjoyed every minute of it! Conveniently located to all parts of the Triangle, this is probably the only full service 5 Star facility in the region. Dinner at Herons was amazing. Wife enjoyed getting pampered with a pedicure and manicure. Was late scheduling an appointment and missed getting a massage.... but we'll plan ahead for the next visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad we had the opportunity to pamper you and your wife during your weekend visit. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your every minute of your stay including dinner at Herons. We hope that you all have a chance to return soon and book that luxurious massage in our Spa!

With best regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    87
    29
    22
    11
See reviews for
98
286
37
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
442 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I get to North Carolina often and this is the only place to stay if you can.

The attention to detail, service and excellence in this hotel is unmatched in my opinion at just about any other hotel I have ever stayed in. The restaurant [Heron's} has amazing breakfasts and the service is polite and yet not pushy.

Highly recommend. If there were 6 stars, I would give it a 6/6.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the lake is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidtravelerfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow, thank you for your glowing review and gracious 6 stars! We sincerely appreciate being your choice destination when visiting North Carolina and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

the rooms were lovely. the gym was good. the grounds are worth a walk. unfortunately it was too cold to swim when we were there, but the pool looked inviting. Lastly, the staff was quite accommodating. I would definitely go back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you were able to explore the property on your recent visit. Hopefully you'll come back this summer when dipping in our salt water pool is most refreshing! We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
249 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I recently stayed at The Umstead Hotel and Spa for a week-long business trip and had a wonderful stay. My room was huge, comfortable, and spotlessly clean, with twice-daily maid service and turn down service at night. The bed and linens were so comfortable and I really enjoyed the separate shower and soaking tub. The in-room Keurig and tablet-based room controls were also a nice touch. The service was absolutely top notch - everyone knew me by name and were extremely helpful. Room service food was delicious as were the food and drinks in the hotel bar (loved the little complementary dishes of spiced nuts, corn nuts, and pickled okra!). My business meetings were in the hotel as well and all of the catered meals and snacks we had were top notch. The ground of The Umstead are lovely as is the pool - it was a bit cool to go swimming but we enjoyed sitting around the pool and enjoying the lovely spring weather. There are walking trails and an exercise room to help you keep up with fitness while you're away from home, and the spa is lovely. Definitely stay here if you need a spot in the Raleigh-Durham area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am happy to learn of your positive experience, from our rooms, food and beverage services, spa, grounds and most importantly, our service. We take great pride in providing excellent personalized service and I am delighted we exceeded your expectations during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully during the summer for a dip in the salt water pool!

With best regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
169 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have been staying at the Umstead for past 2 years, usually on business. This is a top notch professionally run hotel The entrance and casual bar area is great for small casual meeting with a good range of menu and bar drink. The room itself is humongous and well maintained. This is a world class proper and always look forward for staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabhu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for making The Umstead Hotel and Spa your preferred destination when staying in the Raleigh/Durham area. We look forward to providing excellent service to you on your next business or pleasure visit!

With best regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel and spa were great! I enjoyed a vitamin C facial and a steam at the spa and it was fabulous....very, very nice spa! The rooms were very spacious and nicely appointed with a great soaking tub and rain shower. We dined at Heron's twice and the food and service were great. We attended a wedding on the lawn overlooking the lake, had cocktails on the lanai and and excellent dinner reception in the ballroom. The setting is really beautiful and very relaxing. We didn't have a chance to get out to the pool, but it looked great. It was a wonderful staycation and we will definitely be back again when we need a nearby vacay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oehler_melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your staycation with us at The Umstead Hotel and Spa. I am delighted that you were able to take advantage of most of the property during your stay. We enjoy showing our local guests how much we have to offer and we look forward to surprising and delighting you on your next stay!

With best regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Wow, this hotel is as good as any hotel I have stayed at anywhere in the world, made for the perfect getaway, from the staff to the setting to the amazing rooms..everything is world class--Even the Spa made for a perfect getaway

Room Tip: face south seems pretty lush
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled that you were able to enjoy your stay with us! We hope that we can provide another perfect getaway visit for you in the future.

With best regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cary
3.2 mi away
The Mayton Inn
The Mayton Inn
#6 of 22 in Cary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Umstead Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Property: The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Address: 100 Woodland Pond Dr, Cary, NC 27513-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cary
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#1 Business Hotel in Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Umstead Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled lakeside on 12 acres of beautiful grounds in Cary, N.C., The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a calming retreat and luxury destination. The Umstead features 150 oversized guest rooms, elegant furnishings and signature amenities. The Umstead welcomes and inspires guests to find comfort, tranquility and indulgence in the meticulously landscaped property, as well as the plush Umstead Spa and contemporary American cuisine of Executive Chef Steven Greene at its signature Forbes Five Star restaurant, Herons. Independently owned and operated, The Umstead Hotel and Spa is North Carolina's first full-service hotel to receive the coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and is a Forbes Five Star rated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Umstead Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Umstead Hotel Cary
Umstead Hotel Cary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing