We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning hotel with terrace over looking a lake.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Washoe City, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel with terrace over looking a lake.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The rooms are big and very well appointed. Have a cocktail on the terrace over looking the lake. One exit away from airport but inside a heavily wooded park. No transfer to the airport is disappointing. Don't eat at Heron's the restaurant it is overpriced and the food mediocre. The wine list needs an update to include California Wines which are in Vogue.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the lake, the front gardens means the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    87
    29
    22
    11
See reviews for
98
284
37
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Absolutely flawless!
Never have I experienced staying at a Hotel where absolutely everything is as close to perfection as can be.
Everyone smiles, every meal scrumptious, the rooms impeccable...
It is not a cheap hotel, but neither is it expensive.
Privately owned.
I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Every room is good. Facing the pool are even nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington D.C
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here a weekend in February to get away and it was a wonderful experience. The room was perfect, herons has a wonderful brunch menu, and we had free access to some of the spa amenities (indoor/outdoor hot tubs, sauna, steam room). It was a wonderful get away and would love to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagles0931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hotel is beautiful and in a park like setting, yet, close to the airport. The reason it doesn't rate an excellent is no airport shuttle, yet just 5 miles away, no paper delivered as requested, overpriced, and, part of the reason for our stay was to try Heron's Restaurant (see my review), which was not impressive.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the gardens at the back. Our room was represented as overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

First: This place is very nice. The service is a little over the top, but that's not bad. The rooms are great, the restaurant is great (but VERY high end...), nice central location... All good. And I'm sure it's a great spa, although I didn't do the spa thing.

But... After a couple days, I was bored to tears. My kids were bored of being bored. There is absolutely nothing to do here on property... Even the pool and bar are "I'm at a spa and relaxing and you should never speak above a whisper" pretentious.

So, if you're looking for a place that gives you a "I'm relaxing... I'm at a spa" feel, they this place is a great place to go. (But just so you know: The "lake" is a tiny man-made pond with office buildings on the other side... They've tried to add a "nature preserve" walk with indigenous wildlife/plantlife guides, but there is no wildlife here. Well, there was a duck. And a Cardinal.)

If you have kids (who speak above a whisper) or want other on-site options that are a little more fun or casual, then you'll want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveD36red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Our famiky travels alot and The Umstead stands out as one of the most exquisite hotels and spas that we have visited. The rooms are elegant and offer beautiful views to the lake below. We enjoy running the quarter mile loop around the lake and then relaxing at the pool. Every detail of the hotel n spa exceeded our expectations for a five star hotel. It is a special place to visit.....a must for travelers looking for that special relaxing experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PattiM46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This past week we stayed at the Umstead for the first time and was very surprise at what we found. This hotel is beautiful on the inside and out. Very modern but not overly done with crazy architecture. Staff very friendly and everyone used our names during our stay. Used Spa and loved it and ate in Resturant for breakfast and dinner. Dinner was expensive and very gourmet but a must for special occasions. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to also take advantage of both our restaurant and Spa. We sincerely appreciate your recognition of our facility as well as our service. We hope that your first visit will certainly not be your last!

With best regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cary
3.2 mi away
The Mayton Inn
The Mayton Inn
#6 of 22 in Cary
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Umstead Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Property: The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Address: 100 Woodland Pond Dr, Cary, NC 27513-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#1 Business Hotel in Cary
#1 Family Hotel in Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Umstead Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled lakeside on 12 acres of beautiful grounds in Cary, N.C., The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a calming retreat and luxury destination. The Umstead features 150 oversized guest rooms, elegant furnishings and signature amenities. The Umstead welcomes and inspires guests to find comfort, tranquility and indulgence in the meticulously landscaped property, as well as the plush Umstead Spa and contemporary American cuisine of Executive Chef Steven Greene at its signature Forbes Five Star restaurant, Herons. Independently owned and operated, The Umstead Hotel and Spa is North Carolina's first full-service hotel to receive the coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and is a Forbes Five Star rated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Umstead Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Umstead Hotel Cary
Umstead Hotel Cary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing