We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here recently. It was my turn plan one of our weekly date nights. We stayed in the Lakeview Balcony King Suite. This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I got a "you are the best girlfriend ever" stamp of approval! This is a place that I chose to splurge on and boy am I happy I did. There is complimentary internet, shoe shine, and a Keurig coffee maker. We enjoyed the pool and poolbar of course, a nice relaxing walk around the lake, the 24 hr concierge services and in-room dining options that were phenomenal. Having complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby every morning was a very nice touch. Listening to the harpist at afternoon tea was an amenity we missed, but I was told it was a great part of the experience. Live entertainment at night in the lounge, what more can you ask for. Nightly turndown service, beautiful room, comfortable, nice decor, large, and very clean. We thought it was priced accordingly. No complaints at all. We were able to enjoy every minute of our stay and we are already booked to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Navychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I'm glad you were named "best girlfriend ever" with your trip to The Umstead! It's great to hear that you appreciated all of the little things we do to make our guests more comfortable. We hope to welcome you back for more special getaways in the future.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

What an incredible escape! I spent a day relaxing and soaking up the rejuvenating luxury of the Umstead Spa. I had a marvelous facial, massage and scrub. My masseur was excellent and very courteous (wanted to be sure I had adequate privacy and felt comfortable at all times). The facilities are gorgeous, and the pools are lovely. It was not crowded at all during my visit, and I really appreciated having the day to swim and sunbathe before and after my treatments. There are nice small touches, too, as one would expect from such a top-notch resort:.complimentary sunscreen, spa snacks, bottles of cold water in a tin bucket. I can't wait to return for an overnight stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cassidy144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being a guest of our Spa. We tell everyone to come during the week when they can enjoy the outdoor pool as it truly seals the deal in making it an escape! As an overnight guest you get to use the spa facilities complimentary too! We look forward to welcoming you back for an overnight trip!

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I recently spent one night at The Umstead to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary. We were delighted with the size of our room, the quality amenities, the wonderful bedding, the cleanliness, and the really wonderful service throughout the hotel. We had drinks at the bar (very stylish, but my Manhattan was not first rate), the chef's tasting menu and wine pairing dinner at Heron's (an exceptional, but very pricey experience!), and breakfast at Heron's the following morning (we had to wait quite a while to be served, even though the restaurant was far from full; the food was good, but not exceptional; the service was exceptional). The grounds are exquisite, with a large lake with fountain, expansive decking with chairs and tables, and a large swimming pool. We did not have enough time to avail ourselves with any of the spa services, but many staying here did. A wonderful stay for us!

Room Tip: Ask to have a room overlooking the lake/pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your recent 33rd wedding anniversary and thank you for spending it with us! Thank you for your constructive review. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back for many more special occasions.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Bottom Line:
The Umstead offers 5-star service and amenities. The rooms are superb and the spa experience that we had was excellent. The food served at the bar and lounge is very good but.... the pool simply can't handle the load of people.

Our stay at the Umstead bordered on being perfect. As mentioned above, the only problem that we encountered was the pool. Unless you secured a free lounger at the crack of dawn or had a team-rotation strategy to maintain one... forget about getting any access. Also, the ratio of umbrellas to loungers is about 1:3 so you'd better have good sun protection. So... we went and spent our afternoon in the small spa pool which was excellent.

Perhaps it was just a very busy weekend but the staff did nothing to remedy the situation and appeared to be more concerned with ensuring that guests ordering drinks remained undisturbed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KernT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive score and constructive review. We appreciate your concerns and I apologize for the difficult time you had at the outdoor pool. As you can imagine, we do have a high number of guests utilizing the pool on the weekends, however I regret that we were not able to service you to a satisfactory level. I hope to be given the opportunity to exceed your expectations on a return visit!

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I live local and have read about the Umstead since the Goodnights began development.
My experience is only with the bar/lounge service which was poor.
Arrived Saturday evening to have drinks with friends who were staying there. They had drinks when we arrived so my date and I decided to order a bottle of wine to share. Four trips back and 20 minutes after we ordered our wine we still didn't have our bottle of wine. Waiter didn't seem to care and was unenthusiastic about overcoming this problem. Apparently our "good" bottle of wine was stored downstairs and there was only one person who knew where it was???
Our waiter never apologized, offered an alternative, gave us a clear idea of when the bottle might arrive or any number of options that might have been ok. He stopped by periodically to see if our friends might need another drink. Finally after around 25 minutes I said forget the wine I'll have a drink instead. At this point there was still some hope that he'd recognize the problem and make at least a half-hearted attempt to do something or offer even an insincere apology. Instead, he said "Ok, what would you like?"
I have heard the restaurant and bar service is typically very slow from numerous friends and this was my experience as well. I can't imagine I'll be back anytime soon. At these prices, great service should be expected.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 779,933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Beautiful quiet hotel nestled in hilly North Carolina landscape. Luxury accommodations and good food. A few tips--there are not enough pool chairs so if you are there to relax by the pool, go down before 9 a.m. and stake out your spot. Also, unless you need valet, park the car yourself for the guest parking lot is a short walk from the lobby and the speed of the valet service is inconsistent. Other than those few items, it was an extremely pleasant and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelhound2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I'm glad you had an overall positive stay and appreciate you sharing the constructive comments. We strive to exceed guest expectations and your comments will be shared with our team.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a wonderful place to come for a weekend getaway or just to unwind. The staff could not be more helpful and courteous. They greet you by name everywhere you go in the hotel & spa and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are comfortable and spacious with plenty of room for your things and to lounge. The spa is relaxing and a wonderful place to spend time. I did the morning yoga class (offered on Sat & Sun) which was great. It was outside which I enjoyed except for the mosquitos which were fierce. We had breakfast both mornings at Herons which we strongly recommend. Overall, well worth it and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: You can valet or self-park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurie325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us! I am truly glad you were able to participate in our weekend yoga program. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cary
3.2 mi away
The Mayton Inn
The Mayton Inn
#8 of 23 in Cary
145 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
3 mi away
Hyatt Place Raleigh West
6.8 mi away
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Umstead Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Address: 100 Woodland Pond Dr, Cary, NC 27513-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#1 Business Hotel in Cary
Price Range: £259 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Umstead Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled lakeside on 12 acres of beautiful grounds in Cary, N.C., The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a calming retreat and luxury destination. The Umstead features 150 oversized guest rooms, elegant furnishings and signature amenities. The Umstead welcomes and inspires guests to find comfort, tranquility and indulgence in the meticulously landscaped property, as well as the plush Umstead Spa and contemporary American cuisine of Executive Chef Steven Greene at its signature Forbes Five Star restaurant, Herons. Independently owned and operated, The Umstead Hotel and Spa is North Carolina's first full-service hotel to receive the coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and is a Forbes Five Star rated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Umstead Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Umstead Hotel Cary
Umstead Hotel Cary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing