We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW -- Loved It!”
Review of Laurelwood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cashiers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurelwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, FL
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“WOW -- Loved It!”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Staying at Laurelwood Mountain Inn is one of those rare occasions when you feel you have gotten MORE than your money's worth! We had a deluxe king-bed room for under $100 (plus taxes of course). I'm posting photos of the room because they show how awesome it is. The staff was welcoming and efficient. The Inn is right in town and adjacent to the town's walking trail. Cashiers is a convenient location for exploring the area, and it is MUCH more affordable than Highlands or Franklin, which still being an attractive location. We did not have to put down a deposit and rooms may be available at the last minute, so check!

Room Tip: Study the website to get a complete description of the room types. There are many variations of acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank radavis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    35
    14
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
78
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We spent one night in May, 2011, at the inn while we were visiting all the nearby waterfalls. It was a great find on the internet and AAA prior to our vacation across the southeastern states. When we eventually DID end up in the area we were pleasantly surprised that there were rooms available and at the very reasonable price which was advertised. We relaxed in the cozy room and had a very restful, quiet evening. Eric, the onsite manager, was extremely helpful in our waterfall searches and in pointing us to "The Grill" for dinner. We will DEFINITELY stay there again if we are ever in the area in the future. Thanks for the wonderful, quiet, quaint, AFFORDABLE place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waterfall2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

everything was perfect! we loved the suite, the hot tub, the master bedroom, the view, the snow, the town, the surrounding mountains. we did lots of sightseeing. we found waterfalls close by, beautiful lakes, goregous mountainsides, rock walls, antique shops, specialty mountain stores, and a fun coffee shop. what else could we need? the employees were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. we will definitely be going back to spend more time at Laurelwood Mountain Inn. it was everything we had hoped for - - - and more!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenoly2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Nice quiet little place in the middle of Cashiers, but you would never know you're so close to the middle of town. Wooded paths lead from the inn to the rest of town so you can explore. The grounds are very attractive with gazebos and ponds. The rooms are not fancy, but basic, although our room did have a refrigerator. The shower was very big and clean. We did not use the air conditioner (I'm think there was one), because the air was so fresh and nice and cool. Staff is extremely friendly. We had fun sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch and meeting new friends. Great place to use as a base to hike to waterfalls in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeachtreeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Very convenient to all of Cashiers commercial district and next door to great breakfast spot, Buck's. Our suite---two beds and two baths, was nice and clean. Decor is dated.
Cashiers crossroads and traffic light very close, so noisy during the day. Widening road up the way and the dump trucks come through that intersection, very loud. Bring your noise machine. No view.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdthatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I stayed two nights in late May for a family wedding nearby. The place is clean, quiet, and comfortable. The rooms/suites are flexible enough to accomodate singles, couples, and couples with children. The place is basic, not posh, but very good value for the money. There are no dining facilities on site, but plenty nearby. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pavoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

This was really part leisure, part business...I stayed at Laurelwood Mountain Inn so that I would be closer to work on Monday, but I also used my 2-night stay to explore/hike in the area.

This is the BEST lodging I believe I have ever experienced. Being off-season and with a special going on, I was able to get a standard room for $64 a night...can't beat that!!! The hotel room was ABSOLUTELY SPOTLESS. The interior (I stayed in Room 103, which I highly recommend, as it is in the corner with a window on two sides) was beautifully decorated with a mountainous, rustic theme to it. I had a queen bed on which I slept straight through both nights. Although I did not take advantage of the opportunity, the free wireless internet is an amazing service that they provide. I absolutely loved the bathroom with its fine wooden walls and forest animal border and shower curtain. The towels were nice too--there is a sign saying that if you like the towels, you can take them and get charged $15 a piece...I thought that was strange, but after using one, I was also tempted to do so!

The service was amazing here as well! I arrived around 6:30 Saturday evening when no one was in the office, and talked to Lise on the phone...she told me she expected I might come while she was at home making dinner for friends/family, so she had left the door to my room open with the key inside...great thinking! After hiking 12 miles earlier that day, I was definitely desiring a nice, warm shower. The water warmed up very fast, and the shower was incredibly relaxing...just the right way to start off my stay. Also, the second day, a member of housekeeping stopped by the room to see if there was anything she could do to make my stay more comfortable...fantastic service & very thoughtful! Finally, I had an excellent conversation with Eric and his wife (I apologize that I cannot remember her name) in the office Sunday afternoon after church. They were very helpful in answering the questions I had.

All in all, it was one of the most pleasant stays I have ever had, and the quality was outstanding for the price. I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone who is traveling to the area. It is also conveniently located adjacent to the 64/107 intersection in Cashiers and within walking distance of virtually everything in Cashiers. I would love to have explored Cashiers more, but a rainy Sunday prevented that. Perhaps I will visit western NC again sometime this summer and, if so, I know EXACTLY where I'm staying...LAURELWOOD MOUNTAIN INN!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNsoccer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashiers
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
208 reviews
6.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
173 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
6.9 mi away
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
#1 of 7 in Highlands
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurelwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurelwood Inn

Property: Laurelwood Inn
Address: 58 Highway 107 N, P.O. Box 196, Cashiers, NC 28717-5502 (Formerly Laurelwood Mountain Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Cashiers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurelwood Inn has been family owned and operated since 1995. We offer the appeal of a quiet stay at an affordable price. We are located on four privately owned wooded acres in the heart of Cashiers, NC. The Inn has twenty charming rooms, suites and cabins. This soothing retreat, just a short drive from Highlands, NC, captures the hearts of vacationers looking for a quiet spot to kick back and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurelwood Mountain Hotel Cashiers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing