We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC INN”
Review of Laurelwood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cashiers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurelwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My family and I stayed at this inn last week and had a wonderful time. The manager (Eric) was very helpful and the staff was great. The rooms are big and the the grounds are beautiful and spotless. Fantastic location and within walking distance of resturant, shopping and some of the best hiking trials. Looking forward to going back next year and seeing all the new additions to the Inn.

Thanks for a wonderful week!!!!
Debbie - Mt. Pleasant, SC

Room Tip: Room #301 has a private porch and king size bed and it was very quite at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catwoman122258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiseD, Owner at Laurelwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thanks for your great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were on a home buying trip and Laurelwood Inn was recommended to us. It was perfectly situated for our needs. We enjoyed a clean and comfortable room, cool mountain air and gracious innkeepers. The grounds are beautiful, and many guests sat under gazebos to conduct business or visit with friends and family. We think it's the perfect spot for visiting the Sapphire Valley.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway to optimize the open window experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed on a Sunday night, in Room 211, which is upstairs above the lobby. That room was nice, since there was only one neighbor, and we had lots of windows we opened to let in that fresh cool mountain air. The downside was that the room faced the road, so not a stellar view. However it was large and spacious, with 2 queen beds, a couch, coffee table, 2 seater dining table and separate little counter area. The property was beautiful. My kids loved the playground and the gazebos. It was pretty quiet being a Sunday night, and the area is lovely. My only real complaint, and it is a big one, is that their pack and play is disgusting. I brought my own sheets from home, but I didn't even want to let my daughter sleep in that thing. It was stained up so bad and smelled so musty and gross. They must not have guests with little ones very often or else that thing would have been replaced by now! Otherwise, we really enjoyed the hotel and room, and would stay there again if we were in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Larie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiseD, Owner at Laurelwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay and I want to thank you for your helpful suggestion. We have already purchased a brand new pack n play crib for our guests to use! Looking forward to your family coming back to stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Room selection ranges from small, basic rooms to 2-bedroom apartment-type units and family cabins. We have stayed in a king room and recently in the apartment with loft. It was great for preparing meals and enjoying a small balcony off the upstairs bedroom. The jetted tub added a touch of luxury, along with rocking chairs on the shared front porch that faces a beautiful waterfall. Don't forget to feed the fish in the little pond and to stroll on the walking trail. There is a gorgeous public park nearby and Cashiers sponsors a Concert series that make this motel the perfect place to stay for many activities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SandAngel13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed there in between two hikes at gorgeous Gorges State Park. Grounds are very attractive with the Cashiers walking trail taking us to nearby Buck's Coffee house which happened to have a free chamber music concert that night. Beds were okay. Shower was large. Place was neat and clean. Had noisy neighbors gone to bed earlier, I would have had a better sleep. My 3 traveling companions all said they'd gladly return. Oh, the young woman holding down the fort at the front desk said she didn't realize the restaurants we intended to frequent were not open on Tuesday nights or Wednesday mornings. We ended up getting delicious bar-b-q at the Farmers' Market.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thirdsister70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 101, which was at the end of the building. Our stay was during the week and there were few other guests staying at the inn, so it was nice and peaceful.

Our room was on the small side with a double and a twin bed, but it was clean and quaint. Beds were fairly comfortable. The weather was cool enough that we were quite comfortable just having the windows open, so never tried the AC unit.

The only complaints we had about the room were the constantly leaking bathroom faucet and shower head. And also the very loud humming noise the refrigerator made continually (this noise drove me crazy, although it didn't bother my husband as much). Since the Inn was almost completely empty we could've requested a different room, but since we only planned a two night stay, we didn't bother.

Overall, we would probably stay here again, but would definitely request a different room.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cruizlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The Laurelwood Inn doesn't have the polish of a corporate chain. The hair dryer didn't work in my room (upsetting to discover 15 minutes before a wedding). The "breakfast" of coffee and apples isn't exactly what I'd hoped for. But the room had knotty pine paneling. Eric recommended good hikes and showed the trail heads on a map. I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiseD, Owner at Laurelwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Love to hear you had a great weekend! Thanks for taking the time to review our place! I just wanted to clarify 2 things so there is no confusion for future guests. One, we checked the hairdryer and it works, but there is a button on the hair dryer called a GFCI. I guess these are standard on all dryers now. It's a safety type thing....anyway...that needed to be pushed in. But, we also do keep spare hairdryers in our laundry room just in case one ever breaks. So please be sure to ask us if you ever have any issue. And second, we don't serve breakfast and do not advertise that we do. As a matter of fact, my husband has a funny saying when people ask if we are a B & B. He says, "No, we are just a B"! Meaning just a bed but no breakfast! ha ha The fruit in the bowl in the lobby is really just as a courtesy for our guests that might be going on a hike and want to take one with them. We also keep complementary bottles of water in the refrigerator for the same purpose. So glad you stayed with us and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashiers
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
225 reviews
6.8 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
7.3 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurelwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurelwood Inn

Address: 58 Highway 107 N, P.O. Box 196, Cashiers, NC 28717-5502 (Formerly Laurelwood Mountain Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Cashiers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Price Range: £52 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurelwood Inn has been family owned and operated since 1995. We offer the appeal of a quiet stay at an affordable price. We are located on four privately owned wooded acres in the heart of Cashiers, NC. The Inn has twenty charming rooms, suites and cabins. This soothing retreat, just a short drive from Highlands, NC, captures the hearts of vacationers looking for a quiet spot to kick back and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurelwood Mountain Hotel Cashiers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing