We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great evening!”

The Gamekeeper's Tavern
Ranked #15 of 34 Restaurants in Cashiers
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Awesome place. Manager was perfect. Try a custom wine tasting and the crab cakes. Best ever. Thanks for a great night. I don't have anything more to say, but this thing requires 100 characters. Cheers.

Helpful?
Thank Dmandmandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKTavern, Owner at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We enjoyed hosting your wine tasting and hope you enjoy your Umani Ronchi when it arrives. We thank you and hope to see you all again soon!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    56
    24
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cashiers, North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great restaurant except for .......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Really a nice restaurant except for the Mgr. He is rude and unfriendly. Food, atmosphere and service is good. Prices are high but they have a appetizer menu that offers great selections.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKTavern, Owner at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We thank you for your feedback and hope that you will join us again soon. It is never our intention to come across rude, in fact we pride ourselves on having the finest staff in the area. So please join us again and I can assure you a far different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fine dining where you would least expect it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This restaurant has it all. The rustic decor and atmosphere immediately set the tone when you enter. The menu is varied offering upscale preparations of both familiar and unique local foods. The Brasstown Pork Chop and Baby Back Ribs were very tasty. The Turtle Stew was a treat. Lastly, the wait staff is superbly trained and carry out their duties in a truly refined manner. In all respects this was a most enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pa-Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKTavern, General Manager at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We hope you come back and join us again when you are in town. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is a hidden gem. The exterior is unassuming, but the food was wonderful. Unique main courses and desserts that were tremendous. One of our party said that the sighs of delight while eating probably should be reserved for the adult TV channels!

Helpful?
Thank 19vincent57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKTavern, Owner at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We thank you for joining us and leaving us your comments. We look forward to seeing you next time and hope to keep the "sighs" coming.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncks Corner, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good but creepy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Had dinner with my family at the gamekeepers tavern while vacationing up in Cashiers. We decided to go with an early dinner. We were only the 3rd group on people in the main dining area. The food was very good and unique and the atmosphere is very relaxing but the wait staff kept staring and hovering over our table. I know their intentions were good but it made us feel uneasy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daddyfatpockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKTavern, General Manager at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback. We are sorry if you found your server "creepy" this is certainly not our intention. We pride ourselves on having the finest service in the valley and would love for you to come back and experience the true Gamekeeper's Experience....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gamekeeper's Tavern also viewed

 
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to The Gamekeeper's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing