We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Gentility”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cashiers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Hampton Inn & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The High Hampton is like a mansion belonging to a once-rich family that has lost its money and can no longer keep the place up. There is still a lot to like. The setting in the North Carolina mountains is tranquil and lovely.The grounds are green and speckled with dahlias. There's a small lake and a 1956 George Cobb golf course. The main building is a rough-shingled wooden structure with lots of fireplaces and cosy alcoves for reading. The staff members are attentive. It's a place that still requires jackets and ties in the dining hall.
My wife and I visited for a family wedding. We didn't mind that the rooms had no TV and no phones and that the only Wi-Fi service was in the main building. We did mind the fact that our cabin was so old that it seemed to be listing on the side of a steep hill. The doors were out of plumb. The furnishings were very tired; the dresser drawer kept jamming. The towels were threadbare--I get better when I go to the gym. The walls were so thin we could hear people conversing in the other rooms in our cabin. The golf course was both shaggy and soggy. It seemed that the fairways hadn't been cut in a week.
My impression was that High Hampton badly needs an investor with deep pockets to finance a renovation. It should stay rustic, but it needs to be elegant rusticity.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bloktwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you very much for your recent comments and stay. We are hopeful that the wedding you attended was joyous and seeing friends and family was a special occasion. We are sorry that your cabin experience was not to your expectations. Also, for the water logged golf course that did receive considerable rain in advance of your stay. We are family owned (as you probably know) and we continually work to try to keep the property and the buildings in good repair. Level floors and plumb doors may not be our strength however, worn towels and drawers that do not operate correctly is unacceptable to us. Our sincere apology. In the event you would like to enjoy a mountain retreat please feel free to contact the General Manager and mention this note and we will ensure that your visit is everything you’d like and what we would expect from this historic resort. Thank you again.
Respectfully, Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

I planned a surprise getaway for my husband's 75th birthday, and it was a success in every way. Instead of the full meal plan, I had asked for breakfast only, and the reservations hostess couldn't have been more accommodating. Because the website tends to be general, she was able to offer room/cottage descriptions that helped us make an excellent choice.

Our cottage was immaculate, comfortable,and well-located.
Breakfast buffet was varied, well-prepared and well-staffed so that everything was always hot/cold /fresh--delicious! The service was also excellent.
The Inn's high standard of maintenance only enhances the natural beauty that is part of the Cashiers area. Many activities are offered that will appeal to people of all ages.

We enjoyed ourselves so much we will be returning in September--to celebrate my birthday at High Hampton too.

Room Tip: Speak directly to a reservations staff member and be specific about what you want/need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belwen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

High Hampton Inn thanks you. Your celebration sounds like it was a great event and we truly look forward to your return.
Thank you so very much.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I wanted to love this place. The setting is spectacular and the rustic environment really encourages you to "get away from it all". We were disappointed with two things: all the food is served buffet-style (they refer to it as "family style" which is different from buffet where I come from). So we didn't love the food. Second, we were *extremely* disappointed with the children's program. My kids were there for an evening and they spent the whole time sitting in metal folding chairs watching a tv screen not much larger than a smartphone. The were fed chicken wings for dinner and water from the bathroom sink. I had been told that they would be making Disney-themed costumes and having chicken tenders for dinner, but the staff did nothing creative or fun with my kids while they were there. We did go on some great hikes, though, and enjoyed the lake. So overall, a mixes bag.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We spent four nights in a house through the High Hampton. It's rustic and marvelously relaxing. The view from the back of the lodge down to the mountain and lake is fabulous, and we loved post dinner cocktails outside where there is live music being played.

If doing water activities, do not rent the paddleboats (too much work). We promptly exchanged for a canoe and had a fabulous, relaxing time. Walks around the lake were scenic, cool, fun exercise. Our 4 and 6 year olds had a ball.

Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gobige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed the vacation home which some may not even know we provide. We look forward to your return and hope that your children have many years of a “mountain experience”.
Respectfully
Clifford Meads
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Wife and I stay at High Hampton every summer. We love it. Wonderful place to relax and forget about the stresses of daily life. Rustic cabins, great food, and fantastic people.
We recommend at least a five night stay. They also have a very fun golf course.

A wonderful mountain retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

We are appreciative of your loyalty. For us, it is important that you were able to unplug and enjoy some of the finer and important things in life. Hope to have you back often.
Thank you!
Clifford Meads
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and I have spent a long weekend the last two Octobers at this resort. We love the simple, rustic accommodations. We love the fact that there is no TV in our room. We love the fantastic hiking trails, the clay tennis courts, the lakeside setting, the evening entertainment and the bfast/lunch/dinner buffets. And we love meeting the other guests.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowdy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Thank you for your recent note regarding High Hampton Inn. We look forward to your visit in October which should be beautiful. October is a special time of year with fall colors, Oktoberfest and many other family activities.
Thank you again
Respectfully
Clifford Meads
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Last week, we returned to High Hampton for our second visit. Travelling with my wife and I were our two children - seven and five.

We had a truly wonderful 5 days.

I used the Inn as a fitness "bootcamp" : I signed up for 1:1 fitness lessons with the trainer at the health club plus with Marianna the tennis pro. They were excellent.

My children begged to be enrolled in Noah's Ark which is the kids Club.

My wife worked on the Inn's front porch.

We spent our afternoon's together as a family --the kids Club closes at 2:00 pm --relaxing at the Lake.

So many positives, most of all the friendly staff especially at the restaurant.

Truly a wonderful place.

That said, it is woth setting expectations: The rooms are adequate and charming. They are not luxorious and I hope will never be.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeandeMontebello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

We want to thank you for your review and the fact that you used so many facets of the property. We truly believe we have a lot of activity choices for families that have a variety of needs. You certainly have seemed to capture the essence of whom and what we are. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to providing your family with memories for years to come.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashiers
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.4 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
226 reviews
21 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#5 of 7 in Highlands
179 reviews
7.6 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Hampton Inn & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Hampton Inn & Country Club

Address: 1525 Highway 107 S, Cashiers, NC 28717-4518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Cashiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Price Range: £71 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A southern version of the famous Great Camps of the Adirondacks, historic High Hampton Inn is located on a 1,400-acre estate in Cashiers, NC. This full-service resort has a focus on the great outdoors and takes advantage of the natural setting. A sumptuous Spa, 18-hole George W. Cobb-designed golf course, miles of hiking trails and a 35-acre lake for canoeing, kayaking, swimming and fishing make it easy to take in all that this scenic area offers. The historic inn exudes a rustic mountain atmosphere with cedar shingles, stone fireplaces and handmade twig and mountain-crafted furnishings. Meals are events in themselves with three bountiful buffets served daily featuring high-country favorites like Fried Chicken, Mountain Trout and local produce. A choice of lodge rooms, cottages, and cabins (all with private bath) make High Hampton the perfect place for individuals or groups of friends and family to gather. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
High Hampton Inn And Country Club
High Hampton Inn & Country Club Hotel Cashiers
Hampton Inn Cashiers
Cashiers Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing