We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, but rooms need a facelift.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cashiers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Hampton Inn & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Macon, GA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, but rooms need a facelift.”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

High Hampton is blessed with a picture perfect setting. Our family loved not having computers, TV's and media everywhere. We also liked the tradition of dressing for dinner. Our only complaint is that the rooms need to be cleaned more thoroughly and are in dire need of redecorating and lighting.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for your review and comments. We are glad that you appreciate the tranquility of this property. You might also appreciate that we are indeed looking into the rooms lighting needs. Over the years guests have moved lights for their particular needs causing darkness in other areas. A complete lighting review is underway. Thank you again and we hope that you visit soon.

Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    43
    16
    13
    13
See reviews for
100
48
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Retro, rustic, and relaxing in a country paced atmosphere. We have been here several times in the past. The beds are comfortable, the cottages are great, with fireplaces. We stayed in Hampton, a two bedroom with a joint living room cottage. The Inn was built in the the early 1920's, has no phones (some spotty cel reception), air conditioning or TV's in the rooms-on purpose. Shockingly there is wi-fi in the lodge lobby. Meals buffet style are on the American Plan, afternoon tea, and milk and cookies after supper. Our favorite was prime rib and mango shrimp. The inn is surrounded by a golf course, a few tennis courts, 10-15 cabins, a honeymoon suite and two floors of rooms in the inn. There is a good bar, deli at the pro shop, a lake, hiking trails on a 1400 acre estate. It has a family atmosphere. If you want to unplug and recharge check website.

Room Tip: We have stayed in H
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlantaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for your excellent description of our resort. We hope that you return often and take advantage of this rare gem in this heavenly location.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I had to write after reading some of the very unfair reviews posted. If you want all the electronic amenities in the mountains, go to aHilton in Asheville.
We come here because our cells don't work, we leave our computers at home and our kids can't watch cartoons in room.

They run, they make friends, they jump in lake
We read, meet new people
As a family, we sit down to dinner together. We dress up as required for dinner and we appreciate that

MY complaint is that there is Wifi in lobby and now people are sitting in there on their IPads.....and the tv in lobby

Leave it in the bar for the football addicts

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonameavaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for your review and input. We do take pride that we offer a product/experience where time is spent in a wholesome environment and “recharging” is the order of the day. That is what we have done for 90 years and the tradition and values will continue.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plains, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We had our wedding reception at High Hampton Inn on August 11, 2012, and it was nothing short of perfeciont!! It was a destination wedding so the planning was done from states away, and the staff were so helpful with helping block and book rooms and made sure we all had exactly what we needed. The receptionists were so sweet and helpful as well. We couldn't have asked for more kind and generous people to help guide us through this experience. Caroline was amazing and made the whole thing run smoothly. The lake was a perfect place to visit and let all of the kids (and adults) play. The food was wonderful at the reception and at breakfast. We couldn't have asked for a more polite staff, and they made us all feel so welcome and special! The fact that there was no AC was NO PROBLEM AT ALL even for the hot natured people in the group....all of the guests were pleasantly surprised! Many are planning on coming back next year!! I know that trip advisor can seem confusing with contrasting reports about the same place the same weekend...but I would disregard any negative comments about this place. It really is amazing the feeling of family that is there. Thank you thank you thank you for such a wonderful weekend!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AWest811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
We appreciate your words and certainly remember that beautiful event you had here. Caroline was thrilled to be able to ensure your celebration was the very best it could possibly be and the rest of the staff wanted your arrival and entire stay to go very smoothly. Yes, traditions start and continue here at High Hampton Inn.

We also would like agree with your comments regarding Trip Advisor sometimes being confusing. Be that as it may, the important thing is your day/weekend with family and friends will be remembered fondly for a lifetime. We appreciate the time you took to write and share your experience. Thank YOU so very much.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

First and foremost- young girl (receptionist) was VERY disrespectful and outright RUDE!! We brought along our puppy and while walking up to the room, we were told pets were not aloud in the lodge. I questioned this bc the website and the 2nd party who booked the room told us this place was pet friendly... she rudely stated that she was not aloud in the lodge where our room was located and for us to take her outside immediately. I was upset but we decided to let her stay with a friend at a different location then without our pet we re-entered the lodge. The receptionsit met us before we went to leave the lodge and accused us of "sneaking" in our pet, called us a liar and informed us that she made her manager aware of the situation, I was baffled!!!! POOR customer service!! There is even more to the situation that is too long to explain via review- but it got WORSE! We will never go back & another couple who were outside asked me if we had an issue w/ our pet & said they had been mislead also and cancled their reservation! There is no a/c & it is WARM so if you are hot natured- be prepared to sweat... the rooms and bthrms are small and plain- no tv, no phone service, no wifi! Not what you would expect for the price! Scenery was pretty, and the gardens thats about it...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toottaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
How does management respond politely to a situation that has occurred and is so drastically distorted? We think the best approach is to stay with only the facts.

Yes, we are pet-friendly. Many of our cabins are set up to accommodate our guest’s pets. However, we do not allow them in the Main Inn wherein the lobby and dining room are located. Health codes do not permit pets within these restricted areas (service dogs excluded).

The receptionist that was referenced was helping a guest at the time of this exchange, and when she saw the dog, she politely went over to explain the policy regarding pets. She additionally extended an invitation to have them see our kennels and offered those as a choice. The guest exited the lobby to return several moments later. The receptionist on a second occasion asked her if she wanted to have someone take them to see the kennels. That apparently was not what the guest wanted to hear. Profanity was hurled at the receptionist and overheard and witnessed by a coworker and guests checking in. No one was called a liar, no one was rude and actually the receptionist handled the situation as best as one can when they are being verbally accosted.

We are sorry for the incident, the guest’s impression of our resort and our accused receptionist who was simply following our policies.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

If you need to have cell service and internet and email ALL the time, then this is not the place for you. But if you enjoy nature and being in a truly quite, natural environment then High Hampton is the place for you. My family and I have been coming here for over 17 years. We always stay in the same cabin (by the lake). The dinning room has improved wonderfully over the years. The food is not quite wonderful. The front desk staff is always helpful. The lake is great for going swimming (if its warm enough) or canoeing.

Room Tip: If you want a more rustic experience choose a cabin. The best cabins are the ones that overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyOtto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you for the time you took to write, your 17 years of loyalty and your ability to encapsulate what High Hampton Inn means to so many guests. Yes, we are grateful to you and many guests just like you.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the High Hampton Inn. We had a great time. It is a wonderful place for families, our kids met new friends and loved swimming and playing volleyball. As a family we went hiking, played golf, viewed some beautiful waterfalls nearby, played ping pong, went fishing, and used the peddle-boat. There are no TV's in the rooms, but we enjoyed watching the Olympics with other guests in the lobby. The evening activities of bingo and horse racing are fun and we enjoyed the tavern and the beautiful scenic view it affords. It was like family camp with good food and a comfortable bed. The wi-fi in the lobby worked fine and I enjoyed dressing for dinner each night. If you are looking for marble vanities and chic decor, this is not the place for you. But if you'd like to "un-plug from your lap-top" and enjoy some time outdoors and meet other nice families - You will like the High Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HF99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you for the accurate description of a couple of days at High Hampton Inn. Many “joys” of life are simple things that bond families and friends. Your description of your stay is our prescription to providing those special “joys” and we are grateful you took advantage of your available time and those activities. Thank you so very much!
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashiers
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.4 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
7.6 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
7.3 mi away
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
#1 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
7.4 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Hampton Inn & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Hampton Inn & Country Club

Property: High Hampton Inn & Country Club
Address: 1525 Highway 107 S, Cashiers, NC 28717-4518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Cashiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A southern version of the famous Great Camps of the Adirondacks, historic High Hampton Inn is located on a 1,400-acre estate in Cashiers, NC. This full-service resort has a focus on the great outdoors and takes advantage of the natural setting. A sumptuous Spa, 18-hole George W. Cobb-designed golf course, miles of hiking trails and a 35-acre lake for canoeing, kayaking, swimming and fishing make it easy to take in all that this scenic area offers. The historic inn exudes a rustic mountain atmosphere with cedar shingles, stone fireplaces and handmade twig and mountain-crafted furnishings. Meals are events in themselves with three bountiful buffets served daily featuring high-country favorites like Fried Chicken, Mountain Trout and local produce. A choice of lodge rooms, cottages, and cabins (all with private bath) make High Hampton the perfect place for individuals or groups of friends and family to gather. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
High Hampton Inn And Country Club
High Hampton Inn & Country Club Hotel Cashiers
Hampton Inn Cashiers
Cashiers Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing