We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Hampton Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Laurelwood Inn(Cashiers)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highlands Inn(Highlands)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Edwards Inn and Spa(Highlands)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
200 Main(Highlands)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
132
52
18
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
52
18
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursethe main lodgethe wait staffrock mountaindress codebuffet stylehiking trailseach mealcoat and tieyear after yearair conditioningevery summerpaddle boatsget awayfamily gatheringextended familyold school
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I literally looked from the mountains to the coast for the perfect destination wedding location, and am so excited to have found High Hampton Inn! Of everyone we met with, Caroline was so incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. From a planning standpoint, she outlined every option available to us and kept us on track and on budget to plan our dream wedding! They are the best!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCressw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Ccressw1,
Thank you for your note and the time you took to write. I am so very pleased to hear that we did what you needed to happen in order for you to plan and budget your wedding within your needs. Rest assured Caroline was pleased to read your comments and it is comments like this that keep us going strong. Thank you so very much!
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Since my first review of the High Hampton Inn, I had the amazing experience of getting married there surrounded by friends and family. In one word, it was perfection! While I may be slightly biased, we've heard the same feedback from so many of the guests. From the rooms to the food to the overall experience, we heard nothing but positive, wonderful compliments from guests that traveled from around the world to attend our big day.

We had the great pleasure of working with Caroline, the events director at the Inn. From day 1 she made the seemingly stressful planning process so easy and enjoyable. Whenever me or my mom had a question, she went out of her way to provide helpful, honest feedback. We relied heavily on her and her previous experience and couldn't have been more pleased with the outcome. I'm confident our wedding was as wonderful as it was due in large part to Caroline and her attention to each detail to ensure our special weekend went off without a single hitch!

I think it's safe to say our guests found the High Hampton Inn as special and wonderful as we do. We received several notes from guests during the holidays that were eager to tell us they'd just hung their HHI ornaments on their trees and loved reliving all of the great memories from their experience there.

I can't recommend the High Hampton Inn enough -- whether it's for a weekend away, a family gathering or a wedding, it's truly a wonderful place! We look forward to returning for many years to come!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineSCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Catherine,
Thank you so very much for your glowing review. We are grateful that we could play such an important role in one of the most exciting day of your young life. Weddings are just one of the elements we feel we do well and Caroline is a symbol of our dedication to that goal. She immerses herself into each and every event and we thank you for the recognition you shared and experienced. Two families coming together could not be more important to us. We look forward to your anniversary and will be here with open arms. Thank you again!
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

First off, I'd like to say how amazing the property is and how stunning the setting is. If only their policies and customer service were as good. My fiancé and I were looking for a place to get married in North Carolina. We stumbled upon the High Hampton Inn. After a few email exchanges that included a reasonable rate sheet, we decided to come to visit the High Hampton Inn to explore the grounds and see the grounds in person. Living in Los Angeles we decided to make a trip out of it and visit several places in North Carolina with the plan of ending our trip at the High Hampton Inn. The wedding coordinator/event planner, Caroline, made special arrangements to meet my fiancé and I during the week we were in town even though the High Hampton was closed for the week. Upon meeting Caroline, she was very nice and of course the property was stunning. We discussed what we were hoping to accomplish for our wedding and she explained exactly what the High Hampton offers and what is normally done. All seemed well.

After thinking over where we wanted to hold our wedding for a week, we decided on the High Hampton Inn. We emailed Caroline and informed her that we would like to hold our wedding there and would like to move forward with an outline of how we saw the weekend. I asked for a proposal based on our outline and what we got back was different rates that were sent to us. Seeing that Caroline had increased the facility charges $700 from what was quoted I had asked for a discount to the price we were sent. We were informed that the rate sheet that was sent to us was from 2012 and that the rates for 2013 were increased and that was non negotiable. Whats strange to us is that when we asked for the rates originally it was discussed that our wedding would take place in June 2013. The High Hampton Inn had an opportunity then to say the rates would increase in 2013 and that these rates are 2012 rates but they did not. In addition, my fiancé and I made a special trip to North Carolina to visit locations and while we were at the High Hampton Inn, Caroline should had mentioned that the rates we were quoted were incorrect and then tell us the new rates, she never once mentioned it. It wasn't until after we decided to move forward with the High Hampton inn were we informed and Caroline made it seem like she was doing us a favor by at least honoring the 30 room minimum we were quoted rather than the new 40 person minimum that took effect for 2013. Of course the new minimum and the new rates were never shared with us until we tried to book the Inn so having her "meet us in middle" by honoring the 30 rooms compared to 40 rooms seemed far from the right way to handle the business. In the end, we decided to not go to the High Hampton Inn because of the way they handled communications and that they could not see the benefit in honoring prices that were quoted . Surely $700 to an establishment means nothing to their bottom line when they are already making several thousand dollars in profit. Since we were paying for the wedding ourselves the increase meant we would have to invite less people and it also showed us that the High Hampton Inn valued money over their guests having a great time and recommending them to others.

I'm sure the High Hampton inn has already booked up the weekend we wanted without a problem but to us the way they handled the start of the process is a sign of how they would have handled the actual event and in the end I'm glad we chose another venue that is not only thrilled to be hosting our wedding, they are working with us to make decisions that fit within our budget.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Thank you for the time you took to write. We are sorry that you were not able to come to terms with our pricing for your upcoming wedding. Your inquiry started August 1st 2012 and at that time our 2013 rates had not been established. Candidly, the “Bait and Switch” catchy title is far afield from who and what we represent. Hosting over eighty (80) weddings the past four years we have never been accused of that and the testimonials from such events are quite the opposite.

For clarification and a meaningful perspective, all of our pricing was the same as 2012 with the exception of our facility fees. This included our room rates, food & beverage costs and set-up/breakdown fees (labor) as well as our agreement to meet the minimum room nights occupied as per our 2012 pricing. One could consider these charges as the lion’s share of the costs associated with a wedding. Also, upon a signed agreement is when rates and pricing are locked in place for that event whenever it may occur.

Our facility fee did in fact go up due to the upgrades purchased or done for the specific venues in 2012 which added value to those facilities well into the coming years. For example, historically wedding couples had to rent nice chiavari chairs for their events which we did not own. We purchased them this year saving all of our clients a considerable amount in rental fees. We installed a comprehensive sound system both inside and out once again saving clients from renting a PA system. We could go on about the improvements made on the gardens next to the actual wedding venue however it would be a mute point. Suffice it to say, costs in every category of our business has risen significantly and we were only seeking modest increases of our venue arenas.

We are sorry that we could not host your wedding and are grateful that you found a location to your liking. We wish you well and thank you for the opportunity to clarify some missing details in your initial letter.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in room 40 of the Lodge. It has a wonderful balcony and overlooks the lake with the mountain just behind it. Our family was having a reunion and the Inn was just right. We sat together for meals and spent time visiting and playing games in the evening. We had enough to keep the days busy just with the hotels amenities. It is an old Inn but special because it brings back a slower time when we actually spoke to one another and didn't watch TV or read e-mail.

Room Tip: Room 40 has the best view at the Hotel
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momofone98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you and yes room 40 has a spectacular view. Being able to reconnect with family and friends is exactly what we hope is the outcome of all our visiting guests. Please, Keep returning and we will be here for you.
Thank you again
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed at the High Hampton for a wedding with my bf and two close friends. The four of us split a double bed/two bed cabin. The cabin was over looking the lake and had an enclosed porch. The stay made me feel like I was one with nature. At least while I was in nature. Unfortunately, it rained making it hard to hike or canoe. You can take boating gear out on the lake if you like. Big Bonus. I would support anyone who wants to make this their site for a wedding or party... The staff was nice and seemed very eager to make your stay comfortable. The bathrooms had a slight mold condition, but I reasoned that they are very damp due to the lake. You can form your own opinions. Ashville is a little over an hour away as is the Anderson Cooper mansion. That is how people generally refer to it, is it not?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rollic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Thank you and yes you are right it rained! Weddings are so special here even when the weather may not be optimal. We did get it in though! Thank you again and hope that you return to enjoy the lakes and trails.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews