We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Hampton Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highlands Inn(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
200 Main(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park On Main Hotel(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highlands Inn Lodge(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laurelwood Inn(Cashiers)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
132
52
20
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
52
20
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursethe main lodgethe wait staffrock mountaindress codebuffet stylehiking trailseach mealcoat and tieyear after yearair conditioningevery summerpaddle boatsget awayfamily gatheringextended familyold school
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We recently "gotta away" for a short week-end break at High Hampton. I've been going there for
twenty years or so. It is perfect getting away from the intensity of modern life. We met a darling
couple doing exactly the same thing. The chef told me he prepared 1000 meals a day in high season.
This is my favorite food in the world. For lunch, I ate the best chocolate cake I ever tasted-EVER!
We sleep so well at HH-it is cool at night. My husband hikes and I read books. Total pleasure
for us both. Satisfaction=100%.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you very much and we will pass along your nice comments to the Chef. So glad you chose us for your brief respite. Please return often and just know we appreciate you and your husband.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I travelled there with 12 friends to do day hikes. The inn was well located for several hikes. We enjoyed the one on the property Chimney Mountain and Rock Mountain the best. Staff were always helpfully and pleasant and provided packed lunches when we were not going to be back on time. Meals were always excellent. Beautiful location. It is a family resort so expect lots of young children having fun!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles_Herbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your comments. We really enjoyed your group very much and it did appear that everyone had a joyful time. Hope you return often.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Step back in time and experience gracious, upscale mountain hospitality as it has been practiced for 100 years at High Hampton Inn. It's like staying at your grandfather's very genteel old country club. Rustic and proper at the same time. Love their traditions - no motorcycles allowed (noisy), dress for dinner, etc. Well scrubbed, polite crowd, many of whom have been coming to the High Hampton Inn for generations. Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelpro33480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Great to hear from you and thank you for your positive remarks. We intend to keep the traditions going so on your next visit you’ll know what to expect. Thank you again.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We are avid travelers and have stayed in hotels ranging from stilted tree lodges in Africa to five star hotels in Europe. We would not hesitate to book High Hampton Inn (HHI) again and recommend it to other travelers.

We had our first stay at HHI on May 10-12 and thoroughly enjoyed this step back in Southern culture. My Southern culture would be Atlanta and the surrounding Southern states. My wife’s Southern culture would be Durban, South Africa and the Drakensberg Mountains. The HHI reminded us of places we had visited as youngsters and all the good memories they provided.

The grounds were stunning, particularly as you first drive in the winding driveway. The trees, flowers and grass were in bloom and very beautiful. The lodge looked like a cross between the Walton’s house and a New England inn. The lodge was decorated in a kind of hunting/country club lodge style, very understated but very nice. Real fires were in the fireplaces.

The dining room was the main attraction in the lodge. The room was all wood, floors, walls and ceilings, very traditional looking. Tables were wooden with linen table clothes. Silverware was appropriate for eating meals in courses. A real fire was in the fireplace in the dining room too. The food was comfort food such as, fried chicken, shrimp and grits, barbecued pork. New York strip, baked turkey, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, broccoli casserole, strawberry/rhubarb cobbler, hummingbird cake, etc. The food, while not gourmet, was very good and very plentiful. We especially liked the fresh salads and homemade dressings. All meals were buffet style with different carving, omelet and stir fry stations. We thoroughly enjoyed our three meals a day. At 4:00 in the afternoon we enjoyed tea time, both hot and iced tea and cookies.

As clearly stated on the website and brochures, the rooms were rustic without air-conditioning, televisions or telephones. They were quite rustic but clean, nicely appointed and quaint. Our room was in the Lake Cottage and it was equipped with two double beds (quite comfortable), a ceiling fan, a chest of drawers and bathroom with tub and shower. The room had a hairdryer, an iron and an ironing board. The room had a very nice porch that overlooked the lake dam (great sound) and parts of the golf course.

The resort had many activities from which to choose. We played tennis, practiced putting/chipping, canoed, played shuffleboard, bocce, table tennis and golf. There were many other activities for all ages. We particularly enjoyed the tennis with the resident pro Mariona and a local minister/guide Steve. Both were great fun! The golf course was very scenic and very fun.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We were particularly impressed with our reservationist Tina. She was very friendly and informative. Additionally the maître d, Corey was very friendly and accommodating. The staff all seemed to really enjoy their jobs.

The only negatives for us: the walls were thin in the rooms and the service at the restaurant was slow. One of our servers Queenie was very good and very personable.

We look forward to returning to HHI in the near future. We liked the walk back in time and enjoy starting another tradition.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reecer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you for your glowing recap of your visit. As a first time visitor we are pleased that you captured the beauty of the resort and plan on returning. Being in business for 91 years we look forward to taking care of you in the years ahead.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We spent Mother's Day weekend here. It was our first time - but won't be our last. It is a charming setting, very rustic and very comfortable. The meals were great, the grounds are beautiful, and it is very relaxing to just sit in the lobby area and read. The Tavern has some wonderful entertainment.
Most of all the staff are simply wonderful and engaging. This will be my most enduring memory
- being treated like royalty!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djknightga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

We are so very glad you took advantage of having Mother’s Day with us. Thank you for your kind remarks and we certainly look forward to your future visits. Thank you!
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews