We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SchoolHouse Cottage does not rock” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Hampton Inn & Country Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cashiers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Hampton Inn & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“SchoolHouse Cottage does not rock”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

We recently stayed at the High Hampton Inn at the cottage called SchoolHouse. It is not worth the money. For a $250 a night stay at a "upscale" resort, this schoolhouse cottage was poorly equipted-inadequate lighting in all the rooms, non functioning TV, two small coffee mugs for 6 people and a rude matre'de at breakfast. The resort property is beautiful and the tennis courts, golf, trees and shrubs are enjoyable, but it doesn't make up for the high price tag and poor accomodations. We had trouble with wasps taking up residence with us both nights and my husband stepped on a wasp and it bit his foot. We did not report the problem to the front desk ---no phones in the rooms. Using your cell phone gets you to the 1-800 numbers so not much action there. Anyways, if you like staying at pricey places with "tradition" then go for this place, but I would avoid the Schoolhouse cottage and stay at the lodge or close to the main building.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveler308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 1 September 2010
We thank you for the time you took to share a portion of your experience at our resort. I was pleased that you enjoyed our grounds and our vast amenities. Disappointingly, if we had known you had visiting wasps we would have certainly gotten them to relocate as well as add to your in-room lighting and coffee requirements. We are rustic by nature but by no means does that imply anyone should be uncomfortable. I would like to think we would have handled your requests in a very swift manner. At High Hampton, we do believe that $250 for resort accommodations, living room, fireplace, wood and six meals a day (for two guests) has value in today’s economic environment. Apparently we came up short in your estimation but we would like for you to consider us again where we may be able to place you in a location of your choice. Hopefully you’ll consider this invitation. Thank you again.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    43
    15
    13
    13
See reviews for
100
48
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
asheville, north carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

We went to High Hampton to celebrate an anniversary. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable break. The Inn is clear that it is not for everyone: no AC, no TV, pretty rustic accommodations (but comfortable beds and cute rooms). The food is all buffet, and ranged from good to very good; the service was fine. The hotel makes rather a big deal of its dress code -- then send a description with the reservation confirmation which is rather convoluted (e.g., after dinner, gentlemen can take off their ties, but not their coats, in the bar; tennis whites are preferred; shirts in the main building should have collars, etc). In fact, this seemed pretty much to mean coats and ties for dinner. The juxtaposition of a fairly formal dress code and an all-buffet dining facility seemed curious, but actually fun.

The setting of the hotel, and the hiking options nearby can't be beat.

I was a little put off by the $14.00 daily fee for the fitness center.

Overall, we had a great time, and would recommend this to folks who are flexible, and want a quiet, simple get-away in the mountains.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Average food, substandard accomodations and disinterested staff. Such a shame since the property is stunning, with an ideal setting in the Blue Ridge. Rustic is one thing, but with screens rotting off of buildings, poorly maintained golf course, average food and a staff that seems to be just going through the motions, the high price was just not justified. Someone needs to spend some money on maintainance, both of the property and the staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hereandthere30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 August 2010
We were quite disappointed to read of your experience. Positive daily comments regarding our caring staff is one area where we excel according to our guests comments. Clearly, that did not appear to be your experience and for that we were surprised and disappointed. In regards to maintenance, we are 88 years in age which we know presents some challenges. We recognize there will always be areas with which to focus when you have a 1,400 acre estate and we strive to address all guest comments and long term projects. Elevated temperatures this summer adversely affected our mountain blue grass in sporadic areas of the golf course but this was viewed as a short term set-back with which we could only be reactive until such temperatures dropped to grass living levels. We invite you to call the property and discuss your experience with me so I can appropriately respond in the manner according to High Hampton’s historical standards of excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

The staff were very nice and helpful and the food was good for buffet style. It is a nice place for a camp like environment for families with young children under age 12. There is no water skiing or power boats only paddle boats and canoes. The rooms are clean and attractive though a bit dark. Cell phones will not work and there is no TV, or AC. So, if you want to get away from it all and just sit and read, you will be happy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelawayFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach Shores, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

This hotel is immaculately clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are great, and the breakfast buffet is plentiful, with hot items varied every day. It is normally not cheap, but I managed to find a good deal on an online travel site.
The hotel is convenient to the attractions of Sapphire Valley, and is located about 4 miles from the town of Cashiers and about 12 miles to the beautiful town of Highlands.
The indoor pool and jacuzzi are a welcome treat.
I cannot imagine how anyone would not enjoy their stay here. I sure hope they keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scuba71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

How often do 17 and 21 year old boys get excited about a family vacation? Ours did over the prospect of a few days at High Hampton with our good friends. The scenery always takes our breath away, we love the dining room, the meals, the fellowship, the rugged outdoors activities, yes, even Bingo. The rooms are rustic and spare but the beds are comfortable. In recent years many attractive upgrades have been made to the grounds and the interiors. If you need all the technology, modern luxuries, and are not outdoorsy, this is not the place for you, but if you want lasting family memories seared into your heart against a breathtaking scenic backdrop, please make time to go to High Hampton.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rightofcenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

This was our first trip to High Hamption Inn. My husband and 9 year old daugher spent 4 nights at this beautiful spot. We enjoyed the lake, the tennis courts, the driving range and the wonderful waterfalls (which are within 10 miles of the resort). I absolutely loved being disconnected from the TV and internet and could really relax and play together as a family. The food was OUTSTANDING!!! We really had to pace ourselves at each meal so as not to gain too much weight. I really enjoyed going to the lodge for meals and the entertainment in the evenings (simple but fun like bingo, games, etc.). The perfect vacation for us and only 2.5 hours from Atlanta. We are definitely planning to visit again next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashiers
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.3 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
7.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
#1 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
7.3 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Hampton Inn & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Hampton Inn & Country Club

Property: High Hampton Inn & Country Club
Address: 1525 Highway 107 S, Cashiers, NC 28717-4518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Cashiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
High Hampton Inn And Country Club
High Hampton Inn & Country Club Hotel Cashiers
Hampton Inn Cashiers
Cashiers Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing