We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room WAY TOO Small for Price Paid”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cashiers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Hampton Inn & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Room WAY TOO Small for Price Paid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

Traveled to High Hampton Inn with a large group. While we know that we booked our room later than most in our group, the room we were given was WAY TOO small compared to the rooms the others in our group received for the same price..... Not only that but the walls between the rooms were paper thin. We could hear the conversation of the couples in each room next to us as well as snoring during the night. Our room was located directly under a set of stairs (Harry Potter, anyone?) and I was awoken at 3:30 AM two mornings from someone using the stairs. I will say the setting is gorgeous and the food was good but I would not go out of my way to stay here again. One last comment, we also had some strange happenings in our room on one night. My eyeglasses fell off the nightstand in the middle of the night and my husband's cell phone disappeared only to be found under the bed (near the middle of the bed underneath) the next morning. May have been a mischievious ghost, perhaps?

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qikvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    43
    15
    13
    13
See reviews for
100
48
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

I’ll open with saying that you have to be into the sparse rooms to get into the High Hampton (no TV, no clock). It’s not a frilly kind of place; however it is so beautiful, the staff is so nice and personal, and the setting is just perfect for a quiet getaway. We loved the hiking trails and the golf course and the ambiance is so romantic. We’re going back in about six weeks for a four-day weekend, and I’m very excited.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBE_in_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Book, ALabama
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We went to High Hampton for our anniversary. We had been there before and stayed in an awesome rental home. I have to admit I was worried about staying in one of the cottages at the inn after reading negative responses-however, I was pleasantly surprised to see our room. It was called the Fox Hole and was charming and quaint with it's own balcony overlooking the lake. Reminded me of old beach houses of my youth with pine walls and ceilings- just laid back and cozy. Bed was very comfortable. I love the Inn- reminds me of the Grand Hotel in Point Clear- oh and it smells good in there-guess it's the wood walls. I think part of the fun of going to the mountains in the first place is to enjoy a more rustic environment- it's like an adventure. For us, it's a place for hiking and enjoying the outdoors, relaxing and having cocktails while enjoying the beautiful scenery. And no, the toiletries are not fancy, but it's kind of nice not to care about that for a couple of days. We watched a beautiful bride get married in front of the majestic rock face of a mountain. The hiking trails that are right there on the property are challenging and awesome. We ate a few of our meals in the dining room- typical country club/sorority house buffet but it was actually pretty good. We went to a great restaurant in town the other night. The High Hampton Inn is like a bit like Miss Daisy- old, genteel, proud - but humble and doesn't "put on airs". Like the grandmother that wears old sweaters and drives a buick but could buy and sell you four times. Definately not for everyone, but we had a wonderful time away from life and kids for a couple of days enjoying the simple pleasures. I woke up today missing being there- but I did bring a bit of it home with me- a dahlia from the garden!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novacancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 1 September 2010
Thank you for your kind words and more importantly, your ability to enjoy High Hampton Inn for what it provides guests. Simplistic joys such as mountain air, fresh perspectives and a wholesome experience that very few places nowadays offer. Hope to see you again soon. Respectfully, Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

We went for a family event and had 15 rooms.

Pros:
Beautiful location
Lots to do: golf, lake, good spa, hiking trails, fishing, children’s activities, many shops in the area

Cons:
Poor value, at their prices would expect many things to be better than they are
Seems to be cutting their costs at every opportunity
All meals are buffets, and the food is mediocre
Small rooms with uncomfortable beds
Mice in one of the rooms
Bathrooms are tiny with poor water pressure and cheap towels and bath products (Dial soap and Breck shampoo)
A few good staff but many lacking knowledge

Neither pro nor con but important to know depending on what you want:
No air conditioning, though this was not an issue as it is cool at night, and there are fans in the rooms
Cell service is poor
No televisions
Not easy to get to, surrounding roads are steep and winding

Overall, not worth what it costs

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

We recently stayed at the High Hampton Inn at the cottage called SchoolHouse. It is not worth the money. For a $250 a night stay at a "upscale" resort, this schoolhouse cottage was poorly equipted-inadequate lighting in all the rooms, non functioning TV, two small coffee mugs for 6 people and a rude matre'de at breakfast. The resort property is beautiful and the tennis courts, golf, trees and shrubs are enjoyable, but it doesn't make up for the high price tag and poor accomodations. We had trouble with wasps taking up residence with us both nights and my husband stepped on a wasp and it bit his foot. We did not report the problem to the front desk ---no phones in the rooms. Using your cell phone gets you to the 1-800 numbers so not much action there. Anyways, if you like staying at pricey places with "tradition" then go for this place, but I would avoid the Schoolhouse cottage and stay at the lodge or close to the main building.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveler308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 1 September 2010
We thank you for the time you took to share a portion of your experience at our resort. I was pleased that you enjoyed our grounds and our vast amenities. Disappointingly, if we had known you had visiting wasps we would have certainly gotten them to relocate as well as add to your in-room lighting and coffee requirements. We are rustic by nature but by no means does that imply anyone should be uncomfortable. I would like to think we would have handled your requests in a very swift manner. At High Hampton, we do believe that $250 for resort accommodations, living room, fireplace, wood and six meals a day (for two guests) has value in today’s economic environment. Apparently we came up short in your estimation but we would like for you to consider us again where we may be able to place you in a location of your choice. Hopefully you’ll consider this invitation. Thank you again.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheville, north carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

We went to High Hampton to celebrate an anniversary. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable break. The Inn is clear that it is not for everyone: no AC, no TV, pretty rustic accommodations (but comfortable beds and cute rooms). The food is all buffet, and ranged from good to very good; the service was fine. The hotel makes rather a big deal of its dress code -- then send a description with the reservation confirmation which is rather convoluted (e.g., after dinner, gentlemen can take off their ties, but not their coats, in the bar; tennis whites are preferred; shirts in the main building should have collars, etc). In fact, this seemed pretty much to mean coats and ties for dinner. The juxtaposition of a fairly formal dress code and an all-buffet dining facility seemed curious, but actually fun.

The setting of the hotel, and the hiking options nearby can't be beat.

I was a little put off by the $14.00 daily fee for the fitness center.

Overall, we had a great time, and would recommend this to folks who are flexible, and want a quiet, simple get-away in the mountains.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Average food, substandard accomodations and disinterested staff. Such a shame since the property is stunning, with an ideal setting in the Blue Ridge. Rustic is one thing, but with screens rotting off of buildings, poorly maintained golf course, average food and a staff that seems to be just going through the motions, the high price was just not justified. Someone needs to spend some money on maintainance, both of the property and the staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hereandthere30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 August 2010
We were quite disappointed to read of your experience. Positive daily comments regarding our caring staff is one area where we excel according to our guests comments. Clearly, that did not appear to be your experience and for that we were surprised and disappointed. In regards to maintenance, we are 88 years in age which we know presents some challenges. We recognize there will always be areas with which to focus when you have a 1,400 acre estate and we strive to address all guest comments and long term projects. Elevated temperatures this summer adversely affected our mountain blue grass in sporadic areas of the golf course but this was viewed as a short term set-back with which we could only be reactive until such temperatures dropped to grass living levels. We invite you to call the property and discuss your experience with me so I can appropriately respond in the manner according to High Hampton’s historical standards of excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashiers
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.4 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
7.6 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
7.3 mi away
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
#1 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
7.4 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Hampton Inn & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Hampton Inn & Country Club

Property: High Hampton Inn & Country Club
Address: 1525 Highway 107 S, Cashiers, NC 28717-4518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Cashiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
High Hampton Inn And Country Club
High Hampton Inn & Country Club Hotel Cashiers
Hampton Inn Cashiers
Cashiers Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing