We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh NC trout, trout, and more trout....plus, plus, plus”

The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh NC trout, trout, and more trout....plus, plus, plus”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Orchard Restaurant in Cashiers, NC is the best! Chad will meet you as you enter and his brother is taking care of you in the kitchen. The menu is a constant star and everything is worth trying, at least once. Its hard tho, because you get your favorites...
Specials are offered every night which just makes the decision that more difficult. Any one of the fresh NC trout dishes are always perfect, chicken livers (I know...trust me, just try them) the shrimp and grits are to die for and I've tried for years to copy them...I'm close, not there, but close. Sit inside in one of the quaint "house" rooms, on the porch in the spring-summer or on the porch near the fire in the fall...maybe too cold in the winter. Whatever you do...call for reservations. Its the most consistantly great place I know from big city to mountain get-away!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tsw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    52
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved the different trout preparations”
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

Fried green tomatoes great app, good wine selection. Everyone loved their dish. One of the owners, Chad was very helpful with some area questions.

Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Again--The Orchard has it all”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Another great meal was had at the Orchard, which made for even a greater evening. One of those special places.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rubebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Charming Home-like Atmosphere w/ Elegant Fare”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

It helped that we dined on a gorgeous summer evening. We were seated on the covered porch looking out on the sweeping hilly lawn and colorful garden. The scene was beautiful. There was a private party just beyond us on the terrace. While it looked pretty and happy with well dressed families enjoying an 80 year old's birthday party, it was very noisy. We could have asked to be moved, I suppose, but we didn't. In a perfect world, folks with reservations would not be seated right next to this. Eventually the party moved inside for dinner and we could hear ourselves think. The service was efficient and pleasant, and my dinner, which was mushroom ravioli with fresh vegetables, was one of the best dinners ever. We started with fried green tomatoes which were superb, also. The Orchard is an old home and it feels comfortable, yet the menu rises above comfortable into memorable territory.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rightofcenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What's All the Hype About”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My husband and I dined at the Orchard Restaurant on Friday, June 29th. We were told how "lucky" we were to have obtained reservations! They said they could "work us in" at 7:45 P.M. We went perhaps with expectations that were too high, but we were sorely disappointed. The restaurant wasn't at all crowded when we arrived and they gave us a choice of tables. We opted to sit inside as the weather was extremely hot on this particular weekend. The waitress was polite...we were told the specials for the evening and decided to order from the menu. I went out on a limb and ordered a scallop and shrimp dish from the menu (were it not for the salt, my dish would have had no flavor at all. The scallops were rubbery.) My husband chose the trout (decent, but very bland). We also ordered a chicken liver appetizer (if you enjoy a burned taste, you'll love them.) We don't get it. Maybe you've been in the mtns. too long.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Gay B:

Thank you for your comments. We are truly sorry that you didn't have a complete positive experience while dining at The Orchard Restaurant.

It is our goal to consistently provide the best food and service possible, in a pleasant dining atmosphere. We apparently failed in one area during your visit.

The menu items that you ordered are popular dishes that have been on our menu since we opened 12 years ago. If there was error in preparation that led to your dislike in the taste, we sincerely apologize and will review our cooking procedures with our kitchen staff.

In regards to your dinner reservation, we have never referred to anyone as being "lucky" to have been "work(ed) in" for a reservation. On the contrary, we always feel fortunate and honored to have people call ahead of time to make reservations for dinner. With that in mind, we treat all of our reservations as solid appointments, not to be "worked in".

We hope you will consider visiting us again and allow us to prove our merit.

Chad Boswell
The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn also viewed

Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 
Cashiers, Jackson County
 
Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing