We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience and Food made up for Service”

The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
669 reviews
508 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Ambience and Food made up for Service”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

If I wanted service with an attitude I would have visited NYC not Cashiers. Our waitress was bossy and while efficient just hard to deal with. The food and atmosphere were both very good including the Chattoga and Almandine trout as well as the gatherers stew (vegetarian) and the pork chop. Martinis are a good value and excellent size.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    52
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our favorite for years...”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for the best mountain trout, prepared in at least 5 different variations...this is the only place. Think it might need to be a little Cashiers twist on the low country favorite, shrimp and grits, can't be beat.
Who would think the fried chicken livers tops your sweet southern grandma...they do. Lovely old cottage in a beautiful setting, excellent service owned by two really cool brothers, Chad and Todd. Consistantly on top of their game. My favorite spot in the old house or on the pattio...next to the fireplace in the evenings. They also have an awesome cottage to rent tucked back in a corner of the old orchard. Don't miss this classic spot. Need reservations!!

Helpful?
2 Thank tsw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Cashiers”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This restaurant is what everyone has in mind when in the "country". The rustic old building is a perfect compliment to lovely natural scenic town. The best part though is the well prepared, tasty food. Everyone at our table enjoyed their selection and our dishes of seafood and pasta and broiled (I think) swordfish was the best ever. Professional service topped of the evening nicely.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peripateticmensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Cashiers”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We dine at this restaurant annually during our vacation in the area. For the past eleven years we have eaten at this quality restaurant during our last night''s stay before returning home. The owners are extremely friendly and the staff is equally friendly and provide excellent service. The wine & food menu offers many choices and every meal we have had there over the years has been excellent. This is our most favorite dinner restaurant in the Cashiers area and in our top three for the entire Highlands, Cashiers & Franklin area. We love the Southern touch of the evening meals and have tried just about every item on the menu at one time or another during the past. We absolutley love this restaurant and can't wait to dine there during our next trip to the area. We highly recommend you try this fantastic restaurant if you've never dined here before.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Eating among the Apples”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I will get right to it.. Food was great.. the service was as always very relaxed. Living and eating here in this area it takes about 3 hours from start to finish. love the old house that was made into a great restaurant. The owners are always on site to make sure you are always enjoying you meal. The menu is always inviting and offers the best quality of food. We always get the Pasture and the sea... the Orchard Chicken or the Chimney Top shrimp. Comes with a great amount of sides and a salad. Will go back love to support Native people that offer a great service and that is good food and a great time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovinglifex5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn also viewed

Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing